Tuesday Thanksgivings #23

I’m kicking butt with this being on time thing.  Not only am I doing my Thanksgivings blog on the right day this week, I’ve been on time every day to work and was even one hour early today…albeit accidentally. :)

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday:  I lost 4.4 pounds my first week on Weight Watchers!

Thursday: I was able to use up the rest of my lemon curd before it went bad. (I made these for Easter.) Supposedly homemade lemon curd only lasts a few weeks in the fridge…but mine was still good after five months!

Friday: I’m always thankful for the same thing every Friday: that it’s FRIDAY! LOL!

Saturday: That my husband doesn’t mind being the designated driver when we travel.  I dislike driving, but love being a passenger so that I can write in my journal.  It’s the only time I ever do it because there’s always other things to do when I’m at home.  I’ve also started reading out loud to Dennis in the car when we’re driving for more than 15 minutes at a time, and we were able to finish Moon Over Manifest together (wow, I really highly recommend this one.  It’s a tween book but a really excellent read–it got the Newberry Medal for children’s literature) during our trip to Abilene to spend the holiday with his family.

Sunday:  Although the origins of Easter have nothing to do with Christ rising from the grave, and it seems arbitrary to acknowledge it on this day above all others when there is no Biblical precedent for it, it is also impossible to ignore the world’s focus on Christ’s resurrection on Easter and not be affected by it as well.  His sacrifice is what I remember most and try to keep in mind every day, but without His resurrection, that sacrifice would have meant nothing and my faith would not have a grounds for basis.  So today, as with most days, I’m thankful for Christ’s sacrifice and resurrection because it gives me hope of a life after this one.  I can’t wait to meet Him…but I’m also not going to rush things. LOL!  AND of course I was also so thankful to spend Easter with Dennis’ family.  I am blessed in the in-laws department, that’s for sure!

Monday: My good health!  I got a sore throat today and it reminded me how seldom I get sick.

Tuesday: My sore throat turned into a bigger sore throat, accompanied by a runny nose, fever, backache, and a general feeling of  “just kill me now.”  No, I’m not exactly thankful for that.  What I’m thankful for is that I don’t have vertigo!  I’m making an anniversary cake for my cousin and I’d much rather be sick than have vertigo, which I went through while making my first paid-for cake.  (I am so crazy I took a video during that time, which you can see here–it is the most pathetic thing you’ve ever seen and I feel even more thankful for this cold or whatever it is after watching that again.) Although I don’t feel like getting out of bed to do anything, at least my ability to make and decorate cake isn’t compromised by the feeling that I’m constantly falling.  I’d jump and give a “wahoo!” but I hope you forgive me for passing this time. :)

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #23

  1. QuynhAnh says:

    So proud of you, Veronica….making it to work on time and with your success (already!) on WW. I thought about joining again but don’t have the $. That sore- throat-and-cold-like thing must be going around, at least in the REC, cuz I’ve been battling that too! Anyways, just wanted to send a KUDOS to you!

  2. Faith says:

    I love how positive you are Veronica…even when you’re sick! And I’m happy that you have amazing in-laws. My in-laws are wonderful too, they’re really just like a second set of parents…it’s definitely a huge blessing!

  3. 4.4 – wow! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

