Tuesday Thanksgivings #22

Late again.  I may as well start calling these Thursday Thanksgivings.

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I’m thankful for this week!

Wednesday: to start the Weight Watchers program again (third time’s a charm, right?)! In some sort of weird rebellious move, I wore one of my “real girls eat cake” t-shirts to the meeting.  The leader read it out loud, then added “and count the points!”  I love Marsha–she was my leader the first time and I’m glad to have her again.

Thursday: That I didn’t throw away all my fat pants!  I got rid of the biggest sizes but kept a few size 12’s, which have come in handy after regaining 15 lbs.  I hope I never have a relapse this bad again because I’m not going to keep them around after I shrink out of them this time.

Friday: I was able to report a loss on stickK.com after 5 weeks of reporting weight gains. Hallelujah! I’m running behind on my weight report but should have it posted tomorrow before I leave town for the weekend.

Saturday: I was really a toot about it, but my sister talked me into opening her shop and running it until 2 PM because she had another commitment.  I usually refuse to work on my days off and I can’t say I was gracious about helping her out, but I was quite surprised by how much I enjoyed it.  I haven’t worked in her shop since she first opened it three years ago so I was awkward with the customers at first but after a while I began chatting them up and having a really good time.  I told Danielle I wasn’t going to make smoothies, only half-joking, but when a family ordered one for everyone, I did it and I didn’t hate it.  I actually had a lot of fun joking with the Dad while I made them.  When my replacement finally came nearly an hour late, I almost didn’t want to leave.  Once again, forcing myself to be social has proven to me how important it is not to live such a secluded life.  And yet that’s all I ever want! And if you’re wondering what exactly I was thankful for out of this whole thing (there is a difference between having a good time and being thankful), it was for the money.  Yes, I totally let my sister pay me for working for her.  Am I a great sister or what? >:) devil

I took this video tour while I was there so I could show everyone that doesn’t live close what her shop is like.  It’s much more impressive (and overwhelming b/c of the sheer amount of things) in real-life but you get a general idea.

Sunday: We gained another member at our Church, which has been happening a lot lately!  We have grown from a small group that used to join in a home to 40+ members with new visitors weekly.  We have almost outgrown the small building we are in (we are actually in a strip mall) and are looking for a larger one to purchase before we bust out the seams.  What a wonderful problem to have!  It is so encouraging to see that there are so many who are thirsting for the truth found in God’s word and wish to follow Jesus.  (If you are local and would like to visit, let me know!)  I was also thankful today to spend some time with my sisters, my nephew, and my brother-in-law.  We all met up at the Renaissance Festival and I was surprised at how much fun it was!

Another video!  I put this one together from footage and photos I took at the festival.

Before: Coco-nutty truffles. Pretty but way too dry (I messed up the recipe).

Monday: I was able to salvage a cookie dough ball fail and turn it into something gift-worthy for a co-worker.  He doesn’t have to know that his coconut, almond, and chocolate chip dough balls used to look much different and sat in our fridge for a week (don’t worry, they contained nothing that goes bad quickly, mostly nuts & dates) before I deconstructed them and ground them up again and added more dates & liquid.  I am the Queen of not wasting!  The original recipe can be found here.

After: Coconut-Almond Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls that DH approved.

Tuesday: I’ve been praying to God for help with being a better employee and the help I got today was completely unexpected and caught me off guard.  My Dad’s stroke in 2008 changed something in me…the best way to describe it is that it took away some of my joy (but not my capacity to feel joy).  I stopped caring about my appearance, don’t shower every day any more, stopped decorating for the holidays or even buying gifts for my family, and started showing up late to work instead of 15 minutes early.  I’m working on recovering these things I lost because it’s ridiculous that I should still be hampered more than two years after the stroke.  (I just had a revelation, wondering if maybe I’m stunting myself because my Dad has been stunted by his stroke.  I wouldn’t put it past my weird self to do something like that unconsciously.  When he was in the hospital and the first weeks he was home, I didn’t eat sweets and cut back on my meals because it didn’t feel right to enjoy food, and I actually couldn’t enjoy it, when my Dad was suffering.)  But there’s no reason why I should still be like this since Dad is basically OK now and the care I give him is routine and I don’t consider it a hassle.

Anyway, my lateness is the one weakness I have as an employee, and it bothers me because although I’ve never gotten in trouble for being late, I don’t feel that showing up late accurately represents the way I feel about the job.  To me, it’s a sign of disrespect and gives the impression that I take the job for granted when in fact I feel incredibly lucky to have it.

So, like I was saying, the help God sent me was so not what I was expecting.  I was expecting Him to help my own urge to get to work on time grow strong enough to actually accomplish it.  Instead, a co-worker totally slapped my hands with a ruler!  Not literally, but that’s what it felt like.  I mentioned to her on Facebook that I’d been late the last two days, just after resolving to get to work on time, and instead of her giving me some sugar-coated encouragement, I got this response:

“If I can manage (daily) to drag my butt out of bed on 5-6 hours of sleep and arrive at work well before my shift starts at 7:30AM your 11:45 should be a breeze.  We’re all very lucky to have jobs, and too many people are slackers in that place on a minute-to-minute basis. Yes, I’m trying to make you feel guilty on purpose and you knoooow I’m right. Get yo act together, woman! Excuses are lame and you’re above that.”

Ouch.  And I totally deserved it because she’s right.  I’m not a slacker but just by mentioning I was late made her think I was and that is not how I want to represent myself.  I’m a good worker and I want to make sure I keep this job so I do need to make sure I’m on time every day.  Having her reply in such a non-coddling way really jolted me out of my comfort zone and I can tell you, I’ve been ON TIME Wednesday and Thursday and plan to never be late again!!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #22

  1. Suzie says:

    Last week I was thinking this should be called Thankful Thursdays…lol! ;) I would be right at home working in a shop like the Flying Pig, it’s very quaint. Glad it wasn’t too bad for you :) I enjoyed both your videos too. I have to agree with your friend on the being late part. It’s a huge pet peeve of mine that people are consistently late. To me it is disrespectful (to your place of employment and to co-workers that ARE on time)and says you don’t care if you have this job or not (which is usually not the case). If I were a boss, many people would be fired for being late on a daily basis. Luckily, for them, I’m not a boss ;)

  2. Veronica says:

    I originally wanted to do these on Thursdays b/c the “th” sounds good together “thanksgivings” and “Thursdays” but decided to do Tuesday since I used to weigh-in on Thursday and didn’t want to do two posts in one day. Now that my day to weigh in is Wednesday, I could do it but I’m not going to. I’m just going to try and be on time with these. Seems being late to work isn’t the only thing I struggle with. :)

  3. You could just do weekly thanksgiving rather than on a specific day? I like it though. It’s nice to remember the good things in our life. It’s so easy to dwell on the negative, it’s nice to hear about the positive!

  4. biz319 says:

    Interesting on how you made the analogy between your Dad’s stroke and your behaviour. Glad you have someone looking out for you to get to work on time – I freak out if I am a minute late!

    Looking forward to what you think of the new WW program – I love my leader – it makes all the difference!

  5. Pingback: Kumquat & Coconut Cookies {Grain & Sugar-Free} « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

