Tuesday Thanksgivings #21

(Yes, I realize I’m late.  Get used to it. :) )

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I’m thankful for this week!

Wednesday: Being able to sleep in.  I don’t have children and forgive me, I’m truly thankful for that sometimes.

Thursday:  I had the whole week off, so I was able to go have lunch with my husband on Thursday and Friday, which I have never been able to do before because we both work M-F and I don’t get a lunch during my shift.  It was so. nice.  Oh, and I also was able to put my cake decorating skillz to good use today, teaching a few ladies at Cero’s Candy some basic cake decorating techniques so they could decorate panoramic eggs for Easter.  Truthfully, though, I was more thankful for the chocolate I was given as payment (oh yes, I will totally work for handcrafted chocolates), than the opportunity to help them out.  Just keepin’ it real.

Friday: Had time to make a cake and cupcakes (I’m still giving free cakes to the bride whose wedding cake I destroyed) during the day so that I didn’t have to do it when Dennis got home.  We covet our Friday nights as it’s the only night we don’t sit in front of our computers like zombies and instead, sit in front of the TV.  Snuggled up, of course. :)

Saturday: Eating real food.  At home.  It has become a rarity, which is one of the reasons for my recent weight gain.

Sunday: Sister Cynthia, who always tells me I look “so pretty,” and means it.  I haven’t been feeling pretty since I’ve regained 15 pounds but I knew she still thought I was and that felt really nice.

We got this cool black one!

Monday: Remember the tip I got from my last cake that I saved toward a Kitchenaid? Well, I had to spend some of it to take our trip to Texas, and ended up spending the rest on a Wii (my brother-in-law sold us his at a discount)!  Although I still would like a Kitchenaid stand mixer, I do believe the trip and the Wii were better choices.  I’m so thankful for the opportunity to own a Wii because I’ve longed for one ever since I heard about Wii Fit, which is next on my list of purchases.  I did boxing, bowling, archery, and played a Star Wars game with Dennis and I was so sore I didn’t recover for three days! I can only imagine how much of a workout I’ll get once my entire body is involved and not just  my arms!

Tuesday: That I was able to help raise money for Japan by donating vegan Cinnabon caramel corn to an online bake sale.  The bake sale was last week but I didn’t get the winner’s shipping address until today and it gave the crummy day a silver lining to prepare the caramel corn for her and be reminded that through doing something I love ( eating caramel corn making sweet treats), I was able to help.  The winning bidder paid $75 for that caramel corn, which isn’t as impressive as the $500 someone paid for raw macaroons, but still a pretty big deal!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #21

  1. I’ve long wondered if I’d like the Wii. And I could sleep in but I seem to have some internal clock that gets me up too early all the time!

  2. Suzie says:

    Don’t short yourself….this is number #21. No, I don’t pay that much attention…lol! I was on the last blog and seen #20 before that blog and #20 on this blog :) That pineapple upside down cake looks so yummy….I may have to make one this weekend :) I love sleeping in too, tomorrow is that day…yay!! I haven’t played the Wii, I heard it’s fun but, just haven’t played. That is awesome about your caramel corn going for such a good cause. I’m sure it makes you feel good too. I love sending care packages to the troops, seeing how happy it makes them brightens my day 100 percent!! :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks for catching that! I’ll fix it now! I was kinda sad that I had to give her the pineapple upside down cake without tasting it, so I might make another one and send the rest to work with Den to keep me from plowing through it. That’s awesome that you send care packages. Are you allowed to send them now while he’s in basic? I want his address so I can too, if that’s OK with you!

  3. biz319 says:

    Great job on the $75 bid!!! I love these posts Veronica :D

    I have a couple emails out for BSI next week – we’ll just take a week off.

    Thanks! :D

Leave a Reply

