Tuesday Thanksgivings #20

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  I have a lot to be thankful for this week!

Wednesday: I have job security for another six months! I know that sounds funny, but it is actually good news. I have been a transitional/temporary employee with the USPS REC for 7 years now, but they keep rehiring me at the end of my contracts with them.  It is very hard, and now impossible, to get a permanent position there since The REC was established to be a temporary fix until the scanners could read all the mail and human data entry was no longer necessary.  But it is a great job that I enjoy and I count my lucky stars each time I get another “tour” with them (they use military terms sometimes, and their time is semi-military too using 24 hours but doing the minutes in 100ths instead of diving the hours into 60.  Don’t know why!), as I did today.

Thursday: I sometimes dislike going into work so late (11:45 AM) because it means I get off quite late, but I got off early today and while driving in rush-hour traffic, was thankful that at least my late schedule keeps me from dealing with it on a daily basis!  I really hate driving in heavy traffic–stresses me out.

Friday: Our friend, Donna, who keeps Jessie for us when we’re out of town.  She came and picked up Jessie tonight on her way home from work, and we had peace of mind knowing she’d be well taken care of while we were out of town.

Donna with Jessie & Doc at his birthday party (Doc is Donna's dog and Jessie's best friend).

Saturday: Having a rental car to make the 10 hour (which for us with small bladders & trouble with directions turned into 12 hours) drive to The Woodlands, TX.  My car is pretty crisp (my sister uses “crisp” as a generic derogatory term (“this music is crisp,” “I have crispy thighs.” LOL!) and it rubbed off on me over the weekend) and I know we would have been so miserable driving that far in the jalopy.

I made a short video of the things we (I) did to entertain ourselves (myself) during the drive.  See if you can hear Dani use the word “crisp” in the way I referenced.  She’s so funny!

Sunday & Monday: the opportunity to spend quality time with dear friends who moved away almost five years ago! I made a slideshow of pics I took during our visit.

On Sunday we worshiped in their home and Dennis gave a lesson on the proofs of the resurrection.  My memory ran out before he got to the bulk of the lesson, but I got a 20-minute chunk of it and you can click here to see his outline and notes.  It was his first “sermon” and I think he did really well!

While there I made apple pies, we dined at Wuensche Brothers in old town and did a little shopping in the area, went to the marsh by their house and fed turtles, visited Market Street (the closest thing I’ve ever seen to something like Rodeo Drive) and took a trolley ride around, ate amazing meals that Jax (Jaci) prepared for us, played Scategories after the kids were in bed both nights and had way too much fun with it, and went to the park and again had way too much fun (I don’t wanna grow up, I’m a Toys ‘R Us kid!).

Until this vacation, I would have said our stay at Kanopolis Lake was the best I’d ever taken.  And it still is, but this one is also the best in a completely different way.  Lake Kanopolis was isolated and peaceful and gorgeous and it was hugely relaxing to be out in nature with no schedule whatsoever.  This one was the best because I was with people I love and had the opportunity to socialize.  I keep forgetting how important this is as I have hermit tendencies and frequently convince myself that I’d prefer to spend day and night by myself without seeing or speaking to anyone else besides my dog (yes, I talk to my dog) and husband.  I’m perfectly content to do so, but when I force myself out I usually enjoy it.  In this case, I was astounded how much fun I had.  And we weren’t even doing super-exciting things.  The fun was in the banter and chit-chat.  The fun was in the time with friends and I’m so thankful we finally were able to visit them.  Although it does make me miss them more keenly now!

Tuesday: To be able to hold and pet my itty bitty sweetie, as I call her, once again.

If it weren’t for her, I don’t think I would be that happy to be home!  It’s hard leaving friends behind but I’m thankful for the time I had with them.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in God, Life, Thanksgivings, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #20

  1. jaci hutter says:

    you make-a me cry waaaahhhh! lol I am a sap but that is ok I guess. I won’t stop thinking about your visit for a while! It was a lot of fun for sure! LOVED this bloggy V!:)…tear . So happy you guys finally made it! I just made the comment to Dani a last month in passing,talking about something else (ie..”Soooo Dani..it’s been almost 5 yrs now..when you guyses gonna come on down?” via text mind you…SOOO glad she took me for serious…not that I wasn’t serious but I didn’t think y’all would be able to bc of work and all! yay God!)

    • Veronica says:

      Glad I’m not the only sap! I was so ready to cry when we were leaving. Yay God for sure, because if you and Dani hadn’t conspired together to make it happen, I really don’t think I would have. It’s too easy for me to see why it’s impossible but I knew I had to make it happen when Dani told me she was going. I’m so glad it all worked out.

  2. Congrats on the job security for a while longer:)

  3. Pingback: Pineapple & Mango Salad « Recipe Rhapsody

  4. Nice on the job! Very happy! I’ll watch the video a little later, thanks!

  5. Pingback: Thankful Thursday #103: busy-ness | Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

