Tuesday Thanksgiving #18

Would you look at this!  I’m posting my thanksgivings not only on the right day, but early in the day!  This has never happened before.  You will see why I’m early (by my own standards) when you get to what I’m thankful for today.

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  This week I was pretty unhappy with myself, but finding something to be thankful for every day helped a lot.

Wednesday: that when my arms rest against the front of my hips, they (my hips) feel solid instead of squishy.  And if I press hard enough, I can almost feel my hip bones. :)

Thursday: God’s intervention when I considered eating everything in the house.  I had a McDonald’s vanilla ice cream cone, which was the first sugar I’ve had in two weeks, and it of course set off cravings for more.  I said a prayer and that was the end of my sugar consumption.  For that day.  As you all know, I succumbed Friday, Saturday, Sunday…and Monday.  If only I would have said a prayer on those days.  Moving on!

Friday: the unexpected. We had plans for the evening that didn’t pan out, so we went on to the previous plans for the evening that we had made before making those, and those didn’t pan out either.  We found ourselves by Exploration Place with nothing to do, so we took the opportunity to take a walk across the bridge to the Keeper of the Plains and enjoy the crisp, cool evening just doing nothing besides reveling in one another’s company.

Saturday: a much cleaner house!  We got our spring cleaning on and didn’t finish, but can see a lot more of the floor now. ;)

Sunday: Mint tea.  Why do I always forget how wonderful this herbal, non-caffeinated beverage is?  I bought a bunch of dried mint from a Lebanese market and forgot about it until I was organizing the cupboard so I put some in a glass measure and added hot water to steep.  It’s delicious when hot, the tingly mint sort of rejuvenating, and it’s really refreshing when chilled.  The flavor is so nice that I don’t even have to sweeten it, although I usually do.

Monday: You.  If you missed yesterday’s post, I want to tell you again that I really appreciate you reading.  I owe a lot of my success to you because I know that whatever I do, I have to report back to you and that really keeps me accountable.  Y’all are the best accountability partner I’ve ever had! :)

Tuesday: This acronym: DGT.  It means “Decline Guaranteed Time,” and when I walked into work today, I was told we could DGT.  Oh, hallelujah!  I’m using the unexpected time off to get my spring cleaning done today so that when my co-workers come over this Saturday for the final weigh-in, my head won’t explode in flames of shame.

As of today, I’m showing about a 10 pound gain since the last time I reported my weight to you, just about a week and a half ago. Craziness!  Hopefully that will go down some before the weigh-in with my co-workers, but the chances of me winning the weight loss competition is nil.  That is unfortunate, considering there is a $120 prize at stake, but I will be happy for whoever wins.  If they meet all three of their goals, they will deserve it!  I’m rooting for my husband, but my bad choices have unfortunately also affected his own and it will be a stretch if he makes his goal.  We’ll see!  I’ll report what happens on Saturday!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in ICT 3 for 3, Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgiving #18

  1. dina says:

    I’m thankful you got some time off. Girl, some of that has to be water weight…it has to be! Thanks for reminding me that I still have not started my spring cleaning, must. get. started.

    • Veronica says:

      I think a lot of it is, but I can tell that my fat tissue has increased. There is quite a lot more than there was two Fridays ago. It’s almost freakish how quickly we can put on weight when it takes so long to lose it. You get going on that cleaning, girl, it will make you feel so good!

  2. Brenda says:

    Here’s hoping some of it is water weight. And I too find that some of my choices affect my husband’s weight loss. I know some of his affect mine.

    Hang in there!

  3. jaci hutter says:

    so last time I told you about my weight I said I had lost 10lbs….well that 10lbs is back….booooo! I dunno how bc I have been eating BETTER and exercising MORE and taking my shots on time and logging my food and checking my sugars!! wthex!? 135 was where I was (which is 5 lbs more than my goal weight per my bmi) and now I am back up to 145. Even if I get down to 130 I have a lot of toning to do! Muscle is basically non existent on my body save for my arms (from carrying children and doing housework for years) and I have a bit of good muscle going in my calves now bc I have been walking and biking a few weeks. I have ZERO muscle in my tummy,butt and all the other places you should have muscle but sigh I am trying! Thanks for the post..love you beffae! (best ever friend for all eternity! lol)

    • Veronica says:

      I bet you’ve gained some muscle since you’re exercising more now, and maybe you were retaining water when you weighed yourself. I gained 10 lbs in only 4 days and I know I didn’t eat enough to gain that much fat. I probably did gain a few pounds of fat but I think it’s mostly water retention. Just keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll get healthier and it will come off! LOL @ BEFFAE–I’m so using that!

  4. Pop says:

    Such a good reminder to be thankful. I recently had a revelation from D1: I LOVE when she thanks me – it opens my heart. So rather than constantly asking God for things or how I want things changed, I’ve been telling Him how grateful I am for all that He’s given me. Thanks again for the reminder!

  5. Jenna says:

    I love that you prayed and stopped craving. I know God doesn’t always choose to remove our struggles–but he did it for you, and what a reminder of the power of prayer!

  6. biz319 says:

    I am just curious how your blood sugars have been the last couple of weeks – I just got caught up and wanted to send you big hugs today! :D

    • Veronica says:

      My blood sugars were like yours when I was Somersizing the first week–averaging 100!!! I was so excited. Then all of a sudden, out of nowhere, I suddenly needed twice as much insulin as I needed before and I was eating the same stuff! My sugars are stable again now that I’m eating normal food as I used to before Somersizing. I don’t know what that was about, it was crazy!

  7. Suzie says:

    I’ve been thankful this week to spend a lot of time with Derek before he leaves on for the Army. It’s going to be so strange not talking to him daily. Even when he lived elsewhere, we talked all the time. Starting Sunday I have 10 weeks with only snail mail to fill the void. So, I’m cherishing every moment :)

  8. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #19 | Going Down

Leave a Reply

