Tuesday Thanksgivings #17

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday: That I never got addicted to smoking.  I tried it 12 years ago, thinking that since most people who stop smoking gain weight, I might lose weight by taking it up.  Yeah, my brain is kind of weird and twisted and always trying to find shortcuts, sometimes to the detriment of my health!   I didn’t see any results and am so glad I dropped it after a month, before the pull of nicotine became something I craved.  It’s hard enough quitting sugar, I can’t imagine how hard it would be to quit smoking!

Thursday: got my shipment of SomerSweet in the mail! It really lives up to it’s claims–the best sugar substitute I’ve found!  I’ve used it in my pimiento cheese, miniature cheesecakes, homemade Miracle Whip, and it’s wonderful.  No aftertaste and it bakes just like sugar.  I’ll be putting it to the test this week, using it to make some caramel sauce.

Friday: My friend, Ken, who moved back to Japan a few years ago, was unharmed by the devastation there!  I woke up to the horrible news and the first thing I did was go to Facebook to check on him and was greatly relieved to find that he and his family was fine and his home had sustained no damage at all.  In regards to this earthquake, I’m also thankful that tragedies like this are able to bring out the best in most people and everyone unites in prayer and in giving (of money or of time) to help out.  I often feel very cynical about the human race until things like this happen, and it reminds me how much good is in so many people.  Bless you!

Saturday: lunch with my friend Stacy, who is rocking this Ghengis Grill Healthkwest competition! She has lost almost 20 pounds in just the first five weeks.  We met at Ghengis Grill for lunch, where they were promoting her on the radio that day.

Stacey being interviewed by Chris from 104.5 The Fox at Genghis Grill. He did it on his CELL PHONE! That's something I've never seen before!

Sunday: A pointed sermon on being kind & forgiving.  There was some tension in our Church after our Bible study on Wednesday which focused on smoking, and our preacher delivered a sermon that broke down all our walls and defenses.  We are a close-knit, loving bunch, but I was particularly struck by that on Sunday as I witnessed some mending of fences.  I’m so thankful for God’s word, and our preacher, for always setting me straight and making me strive to be the best I can be.

Monday: Got my computer desk (mostly) cleaned off.  Yay for having a place for my keyboard again–LOL!

Tuesday: a good read.  Today I finished listening to Room (I listen to audiobooks while I work) by Emma Donoghue, which was equally heart-wrenching and delightful.  I read a lot of books that I enjoy, but this is one of the rarities that touched my soul.

***************************

Could you do me a huge favor? Last time I asked for votes for Stacy, I gave a bad link so I’m asking again.  She is competing against people all over the US to win Healthkwest, and I’d soooo appreciate it if you could help her out by clicking here to vote for her!!  When the page loads, just scroll to the second from the bottom where you’ll see her picture.  There are two ways to vote: first, click “vote for me” beside her pic and fill out your info. You’ll get a free bowl on your birthday, so you can’t beat that!  Second, click “like” beneath her pic if you have a Facebook account.  That will be two votes and will help so much! Thank you!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #17

  1. I’m with you on the smoking. I did it in high school a couple of times when friends had me “hold their cigarettes” but never got into it. I’m so thankful for that!

  2. biz319 says:

    I smoked for 10+ years, quit when I got pregnant but then when Hannah was about 6 months old, I went out for the first time with friends to a bar, figured I’d have just one and ended up picking up the habit for three more years! But the prices weren’t anywhere near where they are now – which would have made me quit sooner – I was just at Walgreen’s – a woman asked for a carton of Marlboro’s and it was $62! I kept thinking how many groceries I could buy for that money!

    Glad your friend in Japan is okay! (let me know about that artificial sweetener – my husband can always taste it when I use splenda in baking)

    • Veronica says:

      Whoa! I didn’t know they were so expensive! I get irritated enough having to pay for my prescriptions, I would hate having to fork over that much money for something that I didn’t really need but my body demanded. I’ll let you know about the caramel experiment, but so far, even putting some straight on my tongue, there is NO aftertaste! It’s pretty cool.

  3. burpexcuzme says:

    Just voted for Stacy!! :D

    I’m so glad your friend Ken is okay…and I agree that tragedy can be beautiful in its on way when you look at all these people come together to help.

Leave a Reply

