Tuesday Thanksgivings #13

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday: I was feeling so yucky, I stayed home all day and didn’t even get out of my jammies, but it gave me time to catch up on my Bible reading, which I ashamedly had gotten behind on. I’m working through the Chronological Study Bible, following the 1-year plan. So glad to be on schedule again!

Thursday: Just happy to be alive! I thank God every day that I wake up. :)

Friday:I got to try real falafel (real as in made by a pro and fried instead of baked in my own oven). I liked it…but I like mine better! I was surprised. It makes me want to try falafel at other restaurants to see if it’s better than mine. It’s hard to believe I had the best before even knowing what it was supposed to taste like.

Saturday:

I ate too many sugar-free brownie bites, which turned my stomach into a distended roiling mass of gaseous fumes that didn’t want to actually dispel. Maltitol (a sugar substitute) and I have never gotten along and I knew I couldn’t tolerate very much of it, but I still overate the brownies, so I totally brought it on myself. Since I wasn’t able to do anything but lay in bed for the pain and discomfort, it gave me three good hours of reading time so I broke out my bible again! Fittingly, the reading left me considering gratitude b/c in it, Numbers 11, the Israelites were grumbling about the manna God had provided for their food and how they missed the good foods they had back in Egypt (the land where they had been slaves and that God had delivered them out of). Since food is near and dear to my heart, I could understand their discontent, but I could also see that I’ve made the same mistake and been ungrateful for what I have because I want something better. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting to advance in life, but I do think it’s very important to also be thankful for what we have every moment, every day. That is one reason why I made this thanksgiving resolution, so it was nice to be reminded of it.

Sunday: God answered my prayers and called off the evil maltitol gases enough that I could get out of bed and go to Church without making everyone around me pass out! Woot!

Monday:

Um, hello! It was Valentine’s Day, what do you think I was thankful for?? I am a million times thankful for my husband, my soul mate, the love of my life. And that all three I are the same person. ;)

Tuesday: Ooooh, lookey loo! I forgot that I’d won BSI: yogurt with my low-fat, low-sugar chocolate chip banana bread recipe, so I was surprised and delighted to find a prize in my mailbox when I got home from work today. $10 and a reuseable shopping bag (it’s not that small, it’s folded up inside the little one) that is a lot more stylish than the beige canvas ones I usually use. Thanks, Biz! I added the $10 to my “weight loss fund.” Every week that I meet my stickK.com goal and don’t have to give $5 to my anti-charity, I’m putting the $5 in an envelope to reward myself when I finish.  I figure if I’m fighting to lose weight to keep from being punished (albeit a punishment I chose), then when I succeed I should be rewarded!  I’m thinking a new pair of really good jeans!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #13

  1. biz319 says:

    With everything going on, so sorry for the delay Veronica! Love the pictured of you and Dennis! :D

  2. Karen says:

    Falafel – yum. Love that picture!

  3. Ok, you have to share your falafel recipe! I just made it for the first time and it was good but the flavor was different than what I was expecting.

  4. sophia says:

    Aw, love this post, Veronica. That pic of you and Dennis is soo sweet!

    And you’ve got a really cool bible! I’m reading the bible on my iPhone these days…it’s awesome. :-)

    • Veronica says:

      Hm, I guess these newfangled gadgets nowadays have their merits. But I’ll stick to my old-school cell without any added features–not even a camera! No internets, no texting. I’s be keepin’ it simple.

  5. Suzie says:

    I stayed home Monday not feeling well, must be in the air ;) Congrats on winning the contest…yay! I agree with others….love the pic of you and Dennis :) I really like (and look forward to) these posts too. Trust me, it’s helping me get through certain things to read your blogs as a reminder to remain positive :) So thanks V!!

  6. you know what, I dont think I have ever had falafel out! I really need to change that to compare…..
    that pic of you and Den is the sweetest thing, ever.
    congrats on the win! it seems silly, but to an outsider, its a big deal!

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, I almost didn’t use that one b/c I thought it might be too….bedroomy. ;) Thanks, I was excited and surprised to win! It’s a fun contest–I try to participate as much as possible and have won twice so far. The other was for some crazy emu stew–do you remember that one from myspace?

Leave a Reply

