Tuesday Thanksgivings #12

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  I’m running late again, but here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday: hot showers. I’m obsessed with them.  And hot baths.  I get in…and never want to leave.  At least during these colder months!

Thursday: hot coffee.  I’m not quite obsessed but it is so nice to have something hot in the morning right now, and since I finally discovered that I like it fairly weak (scant tablespoon per 8 oz water), I enjoy it so much more!  Is there any one else that finds Starbucks coffee way too strong or am I a freak?  Wait.  Don’t answer that.

Friday: TGIF! Nuff said!

Saturday: Woot diddly doot!  We got Den’s trucked towed and fixed!  Thank God our IRS tax refund came in right when we needed it!  Not that we wanted to use it to fix the truck, but without that money we would have had to dip into our emergency fund, which we’re trying to build up.  Sometimes things just work out so nicely.

Sunday:  oh, a bad day!  You know the kind, during a certain time of the month when you also happen to get into a fight with a relative and can’t make it right and you end up crying in bed all day?  That was this day.  But our friends Ben and Ashley (if you read my food blog, this is the Ashley who gave me the white chili recipe) invited us over after the evening Church service for homemade pizza and to watch the Superbowl.  Totally turned my frown upside down!  This was the best time I’ve had in the company of others for so long, I almost forgot what it was like!  I’m so socially awkward I can’t fully enjoy spending time with anyone other than Dennis, but this was incredibly relaxed and lovely.  Plus, Ben being the gourmet chef he is, made us pizza that I won’t soon forget.  He can even do the twirly thing where you throw the dough into he air to spin it out!  I wanted to get him on camera, but I forgot my memory disc so I’ll have to get pics next time for you.  Here’s a picture of this dynamic duo that Ashley let me steal from Facebook:

Monday: the slow, relaxed feeling after a workout and a hot shower. mmmmmm

Tuesday: I got a really sweet card from my friend, Cameo, consoling me over the fight with my relative on Sunday.  Her and her sisters are really good friends and they always make homemade cards with their own artwork on them for every occasion, and receiving that card was such a comfort to me.  I feel so blessed to count her and her sisters as friends.

Question of the day: when was the last time you sent a card or received one?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #12

  1. I totally stink at sending cards, I always mean to but forget. Bad, very bad.

  2. teresa says:

    this is such a nice thing you’re doing. It’s a big committment for a whole year. You really help me remember to stop and notice all the blessings in every day. thank you.
    We sent and received cards for Christmas. I think that the most recent…

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Teresa! Well, it’s completely off topic from the subject of my blog so it bothers me, but I love doing it. I’m thinking of stopping both these blogs and combining them into one blog where I can just put everything, recipes, thoughts, weight loss, thankgivings, rants, raves, etc. I’m glad you’re enjoying these. :)

  3. Joan says:

    I send cards all the time, putting one in the mail today for my friend Lori
    hang in there Veronica, Family is forever.
    Love you,Joan

  4. Faith says:

    That card is beautiful — Cameo is really talented! And so sweet…hope all is well with you, Veronica!

    • Veronica says:

      She is! All three girls are. Their oldest sister won several ribbons at the state fair for her artwork. All is well now, my cousin and I have now mended our fences. At least well enough. :)

  5. sophia says:

    Aw, this is what spiritual brothers and sisters are for…God sends them over to cheer you up right at the perfect time! Hope you’re feeling much better, dear Veronica!

  6. Suzie says:

    Funny you should ask the question at the bottom. My last card was from you when my doggy died (a couple weeks ago) and today I’m sending one to a friend because her cat died :( Kind of a pay it forward huh?! I’m glad your friends cheered you up and you had a good time. Keep smiling V!

    • Veronica says:

      That makes me feel better about myself b/c as a rule, I’m pretty terrible about sending cards. I usually only manage birthday cards, and send them late at that! I’m glad you’re paying it forward, I think it really is a wonderful thing to get a card in the mail. Thanks, Suzie. :)

  7. Karen says:

    Hmm. Christmas cards? I have Valentine’s ready to send. Love hot showers too – stand in there sooo long.

  8. Pingback: Thankful Thursdays #34: I’m a real person « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

