Tuesday Thanksgivings #9

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here is what I’m thankful for this week!

Wednesday: the internets. Seriously. Without it I would not have deepened friendships, kept in touch with old friends, or made new ones through social networks and the blogosphere.  I’m so totally in love with and thankful for it, and for you, who I wouldn’t be able to connect with right now through this blog if it wasn’t for the internet! <3

Thursday: I got two extra hours at work, which was nice because I declined my time on Tuesday so that made up for a bit of it.

Friday: Biz’s recipe for Chicken Tikka Masala!!  I’ve been wanting to try it for months and when she lightened it up by using Greek yogurt for the cream, I knew I couldn’t wait any longer.  Seriously, the best thing ever.  I’ve had this at a good Indian restaurant, and it wasn’t nearly as yumtastic as this recipe. *drool* Thanks, Biz!

Mine looks like butt cheeks compared to hers, but I'm telling you it was delish!

Saturday: I don’t get to keep my nephew often but had the chance on Saturday evening and we had a blast baking up some brownies, dancing to all the songs in The Little Mermaid (we forgot to get his “boy” cartoons when I picked him up and all I have are my old favorites, like this one, but he didn’t complain) and playing Candyland.  I may be biased, but I think Owen is the cutest and smartest 5-year-old ever!

Yeah, Jessie's chomping on the couch pillow I claimed to have purged from our house, but we turned it into a dog toy since she likes ripping the stuffing out. I think we're teaching her bad tricks!

I wonder if the brownie that he just stuffed in his mouth has something to do with all that energy? LOL!

Sunday: Seriously, a Sunday afternoon with nothing scheduled?! Bliss!!

Monday: I was just crazy happy to have a job and to be doing it on Monday.  They held me over but I was so happy to be there I didn’t care.  Yay for days when you’re happy to be working! They don’t come around too often for me–LOL!

Tuesday: Truvia! I’m quickly falling in love with this stuff because unlike most artificial sweeteners, it actually comes from something natural (the leaves of stevia plants) and not a man-made chemical concoction, so I feel don’t feel so weird about putting it in my food. I have used it in whole wheat pumpkin cornbread muffins, chocolate chip banana bread, and today made a yummy apple cake that even the husband (who is anti-“diet” food) loves. I will be posting this recipe soon!

A piece of good cake for only 140 calories? I'm so down with that!

Question of the day: how often do you use reduced fat/fat-free and/or sugar-free products?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #9

  1. That cake looks good! I use a lot of reduced fat items. If I have the choice for regular, reduced or fat free, I’ll take reduced. I like splenda products too but stay away from Aspartame. yum on Biz’s recipe too!

    I still need to get you that Kahlua recipe! Your email is still in my inbox, i’ll get it!

    • Veronica says:

      Yeah, me too! I prefer low fat to fat-free for sure. And I also try to steer clear of aspartame–that stuff scares me! I did get a recipe for Kahlua from my friend Suzie but wouldn’t object to another tried and true one! I’ll likely do my own incarnation based off them both.

  2. Heather says:

    Your nephew is a cutie! Sounds like you had a fun evening. :)

    As far as reduced/fat-free/sugar-free products go…I avoid them at all costs. :P I don’t like the flavor, and I was at my fattest when I was eating “diet” food. My warped mind would think since they were low-fat, I could get away with eating more. I do better eating regular ol’ sugar.

    • Veronica says:

      I admire your wholesome approach to dieting and eating and understand how eating diet food can make you eat too much! I’ve def done that before, but I actually tend to go more overboard on the real stuff so at least for me, cutting back with less fat and sugar by using reduced fat and sugar-free products helps.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I used to drink Diet-Pepsi ALL the time until I realized how bad it was! I gave up pop and then found Zevia Natural Diet Soda in Cola which is sweetened with Stevia. It was an acquired taste, but soon fell in love. Now when I drink diet Pepsi in restaurants, it taste gross to me. It’s expensive and I’ve been able to find at Barney’s and Dillions…and of course any health food store.

    Anyways, sometimes I use reduced fat, not because I’m on a diet, but it doesn’t taste any different to me. I try to stick to natural as possible and limit the amount.

    Always enjoy reading your blogs even though I rarely comment on them.

    • Veronica says:

      I just had some Dr. Zevia! It’s not the same but not too bad, either. But with the cost, I’d rather just cut out soda completely and have an occassional Dr. Zevia. Thanks for letting me know you’re a regular here–I appreciate you leaving a comment!

  4. Karen says:

    Love the internet!! Will be checking out that recipe.

  5. biz319 says:

    Your nephew is too cute. And The Little Mermaid was one of Hannah’s favorite movies – I think we watched it every day for two years! :D

    So happy that the tikka will be on your menu :D

    • Veronica says:

      Haha, yeah it was my favorite Disney movie for a long time. One summer I watched it twice a day every day and amazingly, no one complained. I still to this day and talk along with the characters as they speak. Crazy!

  6. Suzie says:

    I live on the internet, so I hear you, I love it too. I have also met so many great people online. (We won’t mention the pervs…lol!). Your nephew is adorable. I love the after brownie picture! Funny thing, I am happy most days b/c I have a job. It keeps my mind off other things too. I don’t use too many fat-free/reduced fat things. I don’t like the taste. Other than light Miracle Whip but, that’s about it. Occasionally, I reduced fat sour cream. Otherwise, to me, taste suffers!

    • Veronica says:

      I agree, taste suffers if you cut out fat. I used to use a lot of fat-free stuff but now I use low-fat b/c it still tastes good to me for a lot less cals. It’s great that you appreciate your job! Oh, and I’m a Miracle Whip fan too! :)

Leave a Reply

