Weekly Weigh-In #35

I’ve decided to start weighing-in on Fridays since that is the day I signed up with stickK.com and have to report my weight to them.  Just makes things easier.  Ready for the news?

Starting weight (5/20/09): 175
Last weigh in: 151
Today: 147
Loss this week: -4 lbs
Total lost: -28 lbs

Oh yeah, oh yeah, oh, oh, oh yeah! Four pounds, baby! I’ll take it!

I only reported losing 1 pound to stickK.com because I asked them if my contract would end when I meet my goal or if I was supposed to continue losing 1 lb a week until June 10th no matter what and since I haven’t heard back yet, I’ll be reporting just one a week for fear that I would have to turn anorexic in order to keep from giving money to my anti-charity.  Maybe it’s cheating, but I’ll probably only report a pound a week so long as my weight is always at or below the goal weight for that week (like this week my goal was 150 and next week the goal will be 149, etc.).  I know that sometimes the scale just doesn’t cooperate, even if you do everything right, and I’d hate to have to give money to my anti-charity just because I didn’t lose a pound one week, even if I was beating my goal by several pounds.  Make sense?

Anyway, I’m really happy with how it’s going so far!  I know I don’t talk about HOW I go about losing weight very often, unless I’m doing something crazy, but I’m just using the simple basic weight loss formula: eating less and moving more!  I keep a food diary on sparkpeople.com and try to keep my calories between 1,200 and 1,500 a day.  I don’t put anything off-limits but try to make mostly healthy choices.  I did have two brownies this last week and two pieces of dark chocolate but those were my only indulgences.  I don’t count the dulce de leche pudding cups b/c they’re only 60 calories each.  Love those!

If you are interested in the meals I eat, I post pictures of most of them on my facebook “Diet Food Rox!” album, usually along with the recipes.

As for moving more, I’m sticking with my ICT 3 for 3 goal of exercising four times a week (2 cardio, 2 strength training, minimum of 30 minutes each).  Right now I’m doing brisk walking since I hadn’t done any cardio in several weeks, but will be ready for some higher intensity stuff this week.  I like to do Tae Bo, dance workout videos, and running is the easiest option since we go out every night to walk our dog and can just run instead.  She digs it.  I also have a gym membership that I never use (paid for by my stubborn mother that refuses to cancel it) that I might take advantage of soon since it’s so yucky outside.  My gym has a TV attatched to each machine and I love to do the elyptical or treadmill while watching Food Network.  Kind of ironic, right? :)

OK, that’s it for now–I’ll see you next week with more good news!

Do you exercise? If so, what do you like to watch, if anything, while you do?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in ICT 3 for 3, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Weekly Weigh-In #35

  1. I don’t think it’s cheating. It depends on what you wanted. If you wanted to ACTUALLY lose one lb. a week, then you would actually need to lose it, if you are doing this for 15 weeks (I can’t remember how long you’re doing it), then you would need to lose 15 lbs. over the course of 15 weeks. Women especially fluctuate a LOT so a 1 lb. gain might not REALLY be a 1 lb. gain, if you know what I mean. You could lose 3 lbs. one week and then stay the same for the next 2 weeks. SO – I don’t think you’re cheating at all. It will all balance out. Keep it up!

  2. Ashley says:

    Way to go Veronica!!! I’m proud of you :)
    Carol and I walk 3 laps at the mall most mornings! That’s my exercise, plus keeping up with Leah!! ;)

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you Ashley! Oh yeah, I forgot that’s what you did. You guys must walk really fast b/c you both are in great shape! I guess keeping up with a toddler helps too. :)

  3. dina says:

    What a great week V! I need to get on my treadmill so badly. I haven’t been doing it lately but when I do walk on it I also watch Food Network. Dave always laughs about it…

    • Veronica says:

      I just love it! It’s almost as good as eating something sinful. Maybe better, b/c instead of eating it, I’m actually burning calories!

  4. Heather says:

    Hooray!!! It sounds like you are getting back on track. I had a small gain this week, but I am blaming my monthly visitor and those horrible brownies I just *had* to make. (Omg. they are so good, thanks for the recipe!) When I exercise I can tell you what I DON’T like to watch…Fox News. It gets my blood pressure up waaaaaaay too high. I’ve had to leave the gym before finishing workouts. So I like to plug into my iPod and then I don’t care what they have on tv.

    • Veronica says:

      Sorry I helped with the gain but I know from your blog that in the end you still lost a pound for the week–you go girl! You’re doing great.

      • Heather says:

        Thanks, lady. Don’t apologize for the brownies! The hubs and I have renamed those brownies “crack brownies” because they are so good they should be illegal and you feel kind of high after eating one. I’ve got a coworker hooked on them too. Hehe

  5. Karen says:

    Woo hoo! I like to watch Biggest Loser when I exercise:)

  6. Suzie says:

    Good for you! A nice loss this week :) You deserve some good news girlfriend! When I do get on my (dusty) treadmill, I read a book. I’m always reading, then I actually don’t watch or pay attention to how long I’ve gone. It’s usually a nice surprise when I do look up :)

  7. sophia says:

    Oh wow, Veronica. I’m so proud of you….you are seriously rocking it!! 4 lbs! Wow!!! Congrats, girl!

  8. teresa says:

    Congratulations on the 4 pounds!!
    I don’t watch t.v. when I workout. If I’m alone (blissfully) then I like to talk on the phone. Only to people who don’t mind me breathing hard…
    Lately I’ve been working out with my husband, so we get to talk about things we don’t normally have time for.
    Just stuff…. it’s like dating.

    • Veronica says:

      Aw, that’s sweet! I love working out with my hubby but we don’t get to talk b/c we breathe too hard, but it’s still very nice to have him there with me. Gotta love our men who sweat with us! :)

  9. biz319 says:

    I always watch FoodTv when I do the treadmill or elliptical! Nothing wrong with that!

    Thanks for your kind words Veronica – I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

