Tuesday Thanksgivings #8

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here is what I’m thankful for this week!

Wednesday: getting off work on time! They held us over two hours Monday and Tuesday but I was hoping and wishing and praying we could leave on time Wednesday because I absolutely HAD to get to Cake Stuff to buy butter vanilla flavor emulsion (for frosting) before they closed.  Thank God it worked out or I would have been yet another day behind on the schedule I set for myself when making tiered cakes.  Monday: Bake half the tiers and freeze them.  Tuesday: Bake the remaining tiers and freeze them.  Make the frosting (I couldn’t do this because the flavorings I was using wouldn’t give me the desired effect). Wednesday & Thursday: Frost the cakes, keeping the tiers in the fridge when not working on them.  Yes, I need two days to do this! Frosting them perfectly smooth is actually more time consuming than decorating them, at least for me. Friday: Decorate.  (This time it’s a Sunday delivery so I had a whole extra day!!! Lucky for me, because I was set back a day with the frosting making).

Oops, I kinda turned my thankful blog into a cake blog.  Back to the thanksgivings.

Thursday:

Dulce de Leche sugar-free Jello pudding cups.  I could eat a pack of these a day, but I try to spread them out so a pack lasts at least a week.  They are sooo good and soooo creamy, I could die! Also, look at my ring.  It’s facing the camera because it’s so loose it spins now.  That’s kind of a cool annoyance, way better than not being able to wear it because it’s too tight. :)

Friday:

Found the motivation I needed to get my life back on the healthy track by signing up with stickK.com.

Saturday:

The purge continues: old magazines, and old beauty products--some I've had for 15 years! Yuck!

In between decorating the cake, I was able to purge another 85 things from my house, thus bringing my total to 160–well over the 111 I was supposed to.  Do I get extra credit for purging more?  Cuz I still have a bit more to go!

Sunday:

I delivered and stacked the tiered cake without any cake-tastrophies!  What a relief! And it’s my last cake for a while–also a relief!

Monday:

I belatedly counted the money I was given for the cake order (I was really distracted when the money changed hands) and realized I was given a $60 tip!  I have never gotten that big of a tip and I was so blown away!! Do you know what this means???  After deducting what I spent of our money to pay for the cake ingredients and supplies,  I am this <-> close to getting my much longed for Kitchenaid stand mixer!! I can’t wait I can’t wait I can’t wait! Thank you, Steve!

Tuesday:

They let us decline our guaranteed time at work so I had an unexpected day off, which I spent cooking and baking up a storm and it was lovely.  And, I was home so I was able to make myself a real lunch! At work, I get no lunch hour and have to wolf down a snacky-type meal during a 10-minute break.  At home, I can have PIZZA!

At the end of this, I usually ask you what you’re thankful for and you ignore me.  So this week I’m going to ask…what is the last thing you ate? :)

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #8

  1. Ashley says:

    You deserved every bit of that money :)

    I’ve never noticed your question at the end before…sorry. I had taquitos tonight.

  2. Faith says:

    That is a beautiful cake and you definitely earned that wonderful tip! Yay for the KitchenAid that is soon to be yours!!!

  3. ajh says:

    Oh dear, the last thing I ate was chocolate and I was with a glass of wine! Did you have to ask that specific question?

    Wow, that cake is stunning, you’re very clever!

    • Veronica says:

      LOL! I caught you! ;) Sounds like a very worthy indulgence, if you ask me. Thank you for the compliment. I’ve never been called clever before! :)

  4. I LOVE those puddings! I haven’t had them in awhile though. I’ll have to look for them again!

    NICE on the cake money! I am so jealous on the purging. I so, so need to do that. Whenever I get like a few big bins of donating stuff it feels like SUCH a relief!

    Last thing I ate? My salad last night and I’m drinking water right now. I’m about to make some tea though because I am FREEZING!

    • Veronica says:

      I love hot beverages in the winter. Really warms you up! Also, I enjoy drinking broth out of a mug in the winter too. It’s oddly satisfying when you’re feeling kinda hungry and it’s only 15 calories per cup!

  5. Suzie says:

    Beautiful cake, the topper is very pretty too. Way to go on such a great tip! And moving closer to that kitchenaid :) Good job on the purging too. Something I could likely do too. Especially, since I almost got lost in a cupboard yesterday with so much clutter and stuff! ;P I did tell you things I was thankful for…maybe not on every blog though :) Last thing I ate imitation gyro sandwiches…yummy! (I’ll be posting the recipe soon). Baking the pita bread…did NOT go well though…told you I’m just not a baker :(

    • Veronica says:

      I shouldn’t have said such a broad statement b/c I know that a few (like you) usually do answer the question at the end. Thank you! :) Imitation gyro sandwiches sounds interesting. I’m trying to figure out what’s imitation about them. OMgoats, I made pita bread once and my pizza stone exploded half way through! That is one of the things I didn’t have such a great time with so don’t take it too hard that you didn’t. Can’t wait for the recipe. :)

  6. sophia says:

    Hee hee, you’re a cake-goddess to the core! :D

    I’m quite a minimalist, so if I purged anything I would be one of the hobos.

    I just had a German spice cookie from Trader Joes that pretty much SUCKS. NO wonder it was so cheap.

    • Veronica says:

      Aw, thanks Sophia. I admire you being a minimalist! I’m a crazy hoarder. Sorry the cookie sucked but I’m still jealous you have a Trader Joe’s. Me wants one!

  7. Jenna says:

    The last thing I ate was a chocolate chip cookie my husband baked the other night, which I had with my coffee here at work. Mmmm. And just to be the problem child here, I’ll also say what I’m thankful for: my foot heater. The one that sits under my desk at work and warms my toes all day long. It makes me happy inside when I turn it on in the mornings, slip off my shoes, and get toasty.
    And onto your cake: it is PERFECT and beautiful. I am so amazed by your skills.

    • Veronica says:

      Oh, you are a lucky woman! A man that can bake. Blessed indeed. :) Thanks for being a problem child, you know I love it! A foot heater does sound like quite a blessing. Thank you for the cake compliments. I’m gonna have to go deflate my ego now by burning something–you guys are so nice!

  8. biz319 says:

    The cake looks beautiful Veronica!!

    I actually made chicken apple sausages for my breakfast this morning – they turned out really good – I’ll be posting the recipe tomorrow – its almost 1 in the afternoon and I am still not hungry!

  9. teresa says:

    I’ve been following your thankful updates, but haven’t commented.. I think it’s a great idea!
    Even though you didn’t ask this week, I’ll tell you one thing I’m really thankful for… YOU! You’re such an incredible, true blue support I can’t even believe it. I really appreciate seeing your pretty face and reading your comments on ALL my blogs. Thank you.
    I love this post and the photos are such fun.
    and I really don’t wnat to talk about the last thing I ate…

  10. Karen says:

    I need to try that pudding! I eat the chocolate ones a lot. My fav is light chocolate with a darker bit in the middle; only one store here carries that one.

    Last thing I ate was the same breakfast I have every day – beans I make in the crockpot once a week, reheated with a bit of Monterrey Jack cheese on top.

    • Veronica says:

      I have that pudding too for my hubby! I like it but prefer the DDL kind. You’re a savory breakfast girl! I find what people eat fascinating. I love beans–I’ve been eating chili almost every day for a week now! Thank you for sharing. :)

  11. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #20 | Going Down

Leave a Reply

