Tuesday Thanksgivings #7

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here is what I’m thankful for this week!

Wednesday: I got to go to Bible study for the first time in like a month!  Wheee!  I got my work schedule temporarily changed so I could start earlier in order to get off in time for it.  I was even more excited to be there since I was sick last Sunday and wasn’t able to attend the service then so I hadn’t seen my Church family in a week and a half.

Thursday: I took my Dad to his regular 3-month check up with his doctor and we showed her a painful lump that had arisen under his arm.  It turned out to be an abscessed cyst that she was able to take care of while he was there.  I was so thankful that this infection and his doctor appointment coincided because although he will go to his regular doctor appointments, he would never let me schedule a special one for an illness or something like this and if he’d let it go on, it could have gotten really serious.  I’m also thankful I was able to talk him into taking the prescribed antibiotics.  It can be so difficult having a father for a child!! LOL!

Friday:

I finally found a set of low-priced, good quality throw pillows for the couch.  Jessie tore a hole in one (bad girl!) and I’ve been needing to replace them for a while but the price tag on those things can be painful.  I was at Hobby Lobby shopping for cake supplies and saw that all their pillows were 65% off so I got two pillows for about $20 each, marked down from $60!  I know it looks like they don’t match, but there’s red and gold in the rug underneath the coffee table, which pulls it together with the burgundy throughout the living room.  I think they are the nicest ones I’ve ever purchased…probably the only ones that didn’t come from Walmart!

Saturday:
Happy music.  Specifically, Katy Perry’s “Firework.” I’d been listening to Nightwish (the hubster’s current fave) all day while cleaning and I’d finally had enough (I don’t hate them, but don’t love them enough to listen for 8 hours straight) and asked if I could turn on the radio.  As soon as “Firework” started playing, I dropped the laundry and started dancing through the entire house and doing the running man and jumping jacks in the kitchen,  twisting and kicking and jumping while imagining sparks were exploding out of my chest.  This song is my anthem right now:

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting through the wind
Wanting to start again

Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards
One blow from caving in

Do you ever feel already buried deep
Six feet under scream
But no one seems to hear a thing

Do you know that there’s still a chance for you
Cause there’s a spark in you

You just gotta ignite the light
And let it shine
Just own the night
Like the Fourth of July

Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on show ’em what your worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you’re a firework
Come on let your colors burst
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh!”
You’re gunna leave ’em fallin’ down-own-own

You don’t have to feel like a waste of space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Maybe you’re reason why all the doors are closed
So you can open one that leads you to the perfect road
Like a lightning bolt, your heart will blow
And when it’s time, you’ll know…

Sunday:

Rounding up 75 things to get rid of! I feel so much lighter now. :)

Monday:

God bless our mailmen and women!!  We had 6″ of snow and I thought I had it rough just driving in it, until I drove by our poor mailman on my way home.  These guys never get a snow day.  They deliver our mail in the rain and snow and with the sun baking every scrap of moisture out of the air.  They have to carry mace to ward off rabid dogs.  My Dad was a mailman for 27 years (I think he got two bad dog bites in that time–I wonder if that’s about average) and I remember how exhausted he would be after a day like today.  And some people have the nerve to complain that their mail is wet on these days, after their mailmen shivered through snowdrifts while snow was coming down on their shoulders.  I think we should all take a moment to realize what these men and women go through just so we can get our mail on time, and be thankful.

Tuesday: I purged the last big drain on my time today.  I have been baking sweet treats for all the birthdays of our Church members for the past couple years, but I let everyone know today that I was going to have to stop.  We have grown as a group and it has been taking up so much time and I’m on a mission to free some up so that things like reading the Bible and cleaning the house don’t get put on the back burner. I loved making treats for everyone, but I think it is also important to get my priorities straight.  Plus, this is the last thing I’d obligated myself to do that involves unhealthy food so without this, I won’t have to bake anything unhealthy unless I want to.  This will be good.  Thanks, Debbi, for telling me I needed to cut out the desserts. I know I told you that would never happen but I think your advice actually took root and is one of the reasons I finally have dumped all this stuff concerning baking.  So I’m thankful for you today, too. :)

So, at this exact moment, what are you thankful for?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #7

  1. Karen says:

    In this moment – hmm – the internet:) Really. Can hardly remember life without it. Great tribute to the mail carriers! I thought of them when we had our snow this week.

  2. Errign says:

    I am thankful for my friends & fellow bloggers for their words & actions of support for me lately. :)

    I love Firework :)

  3. Pop says:

    What a great idea, Veronica!

    I’m thankful for Vitamin C and tea, which seem to be helping me fend off this nasty cold.

  4. Charlotte says:

    I’m really inspired by your purging task. What a great idea — practical and inspiring. Look at that snow! While I love technology, I still love “real mail” too. So I’m thankful for the mail carriers too. Though they rarely deal with snow here, it does get cold and the summers can be super hot.

Leave a Reply

