Cleanse and Purge

Any guesses as to what that might be up there?  It’s a new, just removed from the box, mouthwash decanter that’s been laying around my house for 6 months.  It’s cool because it holds mouthwash and the stopper is also a little cup that you can pour it into. But it’s too fancy for my bathroom, I don’t have a place to put it, and it’s way too fussy for the likes of the hubs and me.

This gift from my Mother is just one of the 75 things I’ve purged from my house in the last couple days.  And no, I don’t feel the least bit guilty of finally letting go of it.  At least someone who wants it can have it when they find it at Goodwill!

I have been feeling like my life is spiraling out of control.  My house is messy 28 days out of 30, my eating is only on track maybe 12 days out of 30, I have so much on my plate that my “to do” list grows daily and the amount of things I check off diminishes daily because I feel so overwhelmed I often just ignore them until it’s nearly too late.  I’m currently battling depression.  Something has to change.

And so I did the only thing I could.  I decided to make a change and started with joining Jenna in the initiative to get rid of 111 things in 1/11.

The idea intrigued me.  My first reaction was enthusiasm, followed by the thought, “I can’t possibly have 111 things to get rid of.  I’m poor.  I can’t even afford to get a Kitchenaid or a decent camera, so how could I have 111 extraneous things laying around my house?”

Then I realized how faulty this conclusion was.  For one, I’m not poor and to consider myself so shows great ingratitude to my maker and how well He has provided for me.  Not only are all my needs met, I have enough money to buy things I do not need weekly.  And truthfully, if I didn’t indulge in those little things, I could easily save up enough money to buy the Kitchenaid that I’ve wanted for so long, or a good camera.  Both!

Secondly, I realized I probably have MORE than 111 things I need to get rid of.  I have hoarding tendencies and they can get out of control.  Turns out, I was right.

I tackled this project killing two birds with one stone, cleaning and purging at the same time.  I’m about half done with the cleansing of my house and already have purged 75 things with only 36 left to go.  Although I’m still battling depression and my eating is beyond out of control, I feel like things are starting to fall into place and I feel like the more positive steps I take like this to regain control, the easier it will be to conquer my eating demons.  Again.

In the purge: magazines, a brand new cake pan so large it doesn’t fit in my oven, old socks and undies went in the trash, lots of size large clothing (although I might regret this if I don’t stop eating the entire kitchen every day–my pants are getting tight again!), old couch pillows, a broken picture frame, 2 pairs of shoes I never wear, cooling racks, tons of hot pads (who needs 20 hot pads?!), cookies that have been hanging out in our freezer for too long (although I admit I ate quite a few before I officially tossed them, despite the dubious flavor), barbecue tofu steaks that suffered the same fate, two new Mary Kay makeup holders, all my jeans with holes in the crotch (I had a hard time letting go of these, we were happy together for so long–lol), a black bundt pan (black pans burn your baked goods–no likey), three calendars, a Perfect Brownie Pan (loved it but never used it), a pitcher and glasses (I counted grouped/paired things as one), and my ghetto messenger bag that I’ve used for over a year.

Clearly my house was in dire need of a purging.

I still have to go through the bathroom and office and I bet I’ll be over 111 things soon.  I’m also caught up on my plan to read through the Bible in a year (I got a few days behind last week) so I’m also feeling good about that.  I’m working on a wedding-cake sized anniversary cake this week which means not much free time but I’m still planning to do as much as I can to get back on top of my life.

Which leads me to the last thing I’ve purged–cakes.  I’ve decided I will no longer be doing them as a side-job and this gives me great relief, not to mention a lot of time!

I’m not sitting on top of the world but I’m clawing and kicking and struggling my way up there.  I hope you’ll be waiting for me when I get there! :)

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Life, Struggles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Cleanse and Purge

  1. I am so happy you started getting rid of stuff! Its hard to start, but easy to keep doing from what I have experienced. Have you heard of Freecycle? Its a community like Amazon, I guess, but it’s all free. Got something great? Post it and arrange to get rid of it! Most people get others to pick it up. Also, you could ask for something or wait til you see something you want, like a kitchen aide. There are different groups for different areas (mine is my county). If I see one anywhere (I look a lot for food processors) I will let you know!

    If you need to talk, you know you can message me, right? I am always here and WANT to listen!

    • Veronica says:

      Yeah, it’s kind of freeing. :) I think I heard of Freecycle in passing but didn’t know what it entailed. I’ll go check it out. I did list the baking supplies on craigslist. May as well get paid while I’m purging–lol. Thanks, Erin, I just am weird about talking about my problems. I don’t mind admitting them, but I don’t like talking about them as in like someone trying to help me with them. It’s hard for me to even ask God for help. I never ask for advice either. I’m so independent that way that it’s actually a bad thing sometimes. I think I get scared that if I can’t deal with something on my own than I’m losing control or losing my mind or something. It’s something I’m constantly working on.

  2. dina says:

    V, It’s a great feeling to get rid of things that you really don’t need, no? I always look at something and ask myself when was the last time that I used/wore that item? I’m bad about holding on to things that I don’t really need or will never use. Feel better, and try not to beat yourself up for having to much on your plate. Just slow down and breathe.

  3. Shannon @ BetterNextTime says:

    A mouthwash decanter? Seriously? The things people think of…

    Good for you for purging all that stuff *and* the cakes. It’s so hard to let go of the responsibilities that we’ve put on ourselves, but it makes it so much easier to breathe. (And so much easier to get back on top of the world!)

  4. Ashley says:

    That is neat about the purging! Although, my problem is opposite…I purge all the time and sometimes without thinking. But, we do allow ‘stuff’ to pile up and it’s nice to get rid of it!
    I know many people will be sad about you giving up your making cakes, but you are going to have so much more time. Maybe, this will give you more time to get out and do other things, which in turn will help your depression!!
    Good luck!! :)

    • Veronica says:

      maybe I should have you come over once in a while to drill sargeant me into getting rid of all the stuff I don’t need! I’m so crazy, I won’t even throw away a tablespoon of flour left in the sack. I’ll save it and use it for the next baking project. And I still have jeans that I ripped the butt out of almost ten years ago. I’m ridiculous.

      Thank you Ashley, your encouragement means so much to me.

  5. Jenna says:

    Yay–I’m so glad you joined me in the purge! This week I tackled old college papers, and oh my, it wasn’t easy. Why am I so attached to them?? Anyway . . .
    I hope your spirits are lifted soon–I’ll be praying for joy to invade your heart. =)

    • Veronica says:

      Oh mans, I couldn’t have gotten rid of the college papers. Never never never! More power to you, girl, you are much stronger than I. Thank you SO MUCH for the prayers. XOXO

  6. Faith says:

    As hard as it can be, sometimes it’s best just to let some stuff go. Purging is so freeing, isn’t it? Every spring I do the same thing with my house — go through and get rid of what we aren’t using. My one exception is my kitchen stuff…I’m a total hoarder when it comes to that. I like to tell myself it’s because I need “props” for the blog, lol!

    Hope all is well with you, Veronica! If you need a friend, I’m here. :)

    • Veronica says:

      Yes, that’s exactly the word–freeing! I totally feel you on the kitchen stuff–I rarely can part from anything there either. Thank you, Faith, you’re the best.

  7. Julie says:

    Good plans. You’ll get those ducks in a row and be happy, healthy and taking good care of yourself. It’s hard at times, very hard but you’ve got a handle on it and life will look good as you keep working on these things.
    Take care and have a blessed evening.

  8. Excellent on getting rid of the stuff! I SO need to do that!

    I hear you lady about the stress and depression. I could have written those same words. It is HARD and life is FRUSTRATING! Up until recently, I was happy with my spirituality but that was IT! My eating has come into control and I have full confidence that yours will too!

    Love the decantur but you’re right, what would you DO with it? :)

  9. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #7 | Going Down

  10. dennis Miller says:

    I need to get rid of some things but one of my new year’s resolutions is to simplify my life. If I got rid of a 100 page book and an old box of dozen eggs with one missing could I count it as 111?

  11. Pop says:

    Whenever my wife watches an episode of Hoarders, she cleans for several hours and I make a trip to the thrift store to drop stuff off.

  12. Pingback: April Fools! My Kitchen Disastrophies In Review « Recipe Rhapsody

  13. Pingback: April Fools! My Kitchen Disastrophies In Review « Veronica's Cornucopia

  14. Pingback: Thankful Thursday # 98: STUFF « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

