Tuesday Thanksgivings #6

I’m not really feeling in the Thanksgiving spirit, but that hasn’t kept me from finding things to be thankful for this week.  In fact, going over them will probably help lift me out of the funk I’m in so here we go.

Wednesday: For the book Women Food and God.  Although I don’t agree with Geneen Roth’s take on God, her take on our relationship with food and how to stop abusing it made a lot of sense to me.  I finished the book on Wednesday and applying the principles really helped me a lot over the next three days.  I won’t say anything about the days after that. LOL!  I think I need to read it again.  Geneen would not condone me using food for comfort today.

Thursday: I about had a heart attack when I found Western Bagel Company’s Alternative Bagels (110 cals for big, soft, chewy, delicious bagels) at Dillons!  I purchased a box of them online before, but with shipping they’re too costly and I mourned the absence of them in my kitchen ever since.  Until now!  They had every flavor and I literally squealed in the bread aisle when I saw them.  People gave me sidelong glances.  I didn’t care.  I had my favorite bagels.  United again, at last!

 

These are the blueberry. I keep them in the freezer since I only eat a bagel or two a week, which is why they look frosty.

This is the onion bagel slathered with some neufchatel.

 

Friday: I was thankful to spend New Year’s Eve with our BFF’s, Danielle and Everett.

Danielle and I are always camera-ready. ;)

Saturday: I was thankful to finally catch up on some sleep!  Annnnnd, I finally got myself a really fantastic bra!  No, you don’t understand.  I’ve like never had a really fantastic bra.  Really fantastic bras are expensive.  And I’m cheap.  But I finally got fed up with my boobs popping out of my bra cups and the band always being up around my neck because it’s too loose to stay put, so I threw up my hands and went shopping.  I was tempted to get the ones on sale just because they were discounted, which is my usual MO:

 

The top two were only $15 and the hot pink one was $34 b/c it was a Wacoal bra, which I guess is a good brand.

But I fought the urge and spent $60 (*gasp*) on a Spanx bra that is like the most comfortable thing in the entire universe.  And it’s made so that you don’t get the yucky back bumps from it cutting into your fat.  LOVE!

 

 

Brallelujah! Not as fun, but I think my comfort is more important than impressing Dennis with hot pink lace. Maybe he wouldn't agree. ;)

Sunday: Having the day off so I could sleep off the exhaustion from whatever stomach virus I was hit with Saturday night.

 

Monday: for my baby girl.  I left an encounter with my father feeling angry and frustrated to the point that it took me a while to realize I was driving 70 in a 60 while musing over it on my way home.  But when I got home, Jessie greeted me at the door with enthusiasm, totally stoked to see me and to get her hugs and pets,  and all my concerns just flew out of my mind.  Having a dog is so therapeutic.

 

Jessie never begs for food vocally. Instead, she goes the noble route and lays her head in your lap. It's very effective. :) BTW, yes, I always eat 12 sticks of butter with every meal. I call it the Paula Deen diet. ;)

Tuesday: Today totally sucked.  I am listening to Oliver Twist at work, and it is slowly killing me.  Sometimes it got to the point where I couldn’t take the horror and had to pause it just to keep myself from shattering.  But it’s so terrible that I have to keep listening b/c if I never get to the happy ending, I will be scarred for life.  Why did I think reading this classic would be a good idea?! I’m too tenderhearted for it.  And then on the way home I had a deeply troubling conversation with someone I love that made me afraid for them.  But there is a silver lining!  When I got home, I found my Zappos order had come in!  In another concession to comfort, I finally gave in and spent good money on a new pair of running shoes since I was starting to get knee pain when running and realized I hadn’t replaced my sneakers in over two years!  I love these new Brooks Ravenna running shoes–good for the overpronated like me.

 

Hey, it worked! I’m feeling better now.  So how about you?  What are you thankful for today/this week?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #6

  1. Faith says:

    I’m glad you still decided to write your post, Veronica…and I’m glad it cheered you up a bit! Those bagels are definitely worthy of a little celebration, they look great…I’ll be on the lookout for them! :)

  2. I am glad you were able to start climbing out of your funk. I am the mayor of Funky Town, I know how it is. This post also reminded me a major reason I stopped wearing a bra!
    My track coach always told us to replace our training shoes ever 6 months or every 50 miles, whichever came first. I was more of a once-a-year person though, and suffered badly if i didnt.

    Many of the Real Food Bloggers I follow are very into biblical ties to their food and other religious stuff. You should check out Kitchen Stewardship and G.N.O.F.L.I.N.S.

    • Veronica says:

      You don’t wear a bra?!! Don’t you feel naked? I got fed up with putting my bra and shirt back on every time I left the dressing room to go try another size (this was like five times at least) so I started going out in just my shirt and I seriously felt soooo wrong. I wanted to hold my hands over my chest. Like that would make my bralessness less noticeable or something. :)

      • I dont NEED a bra since my pathetic excuse for breasts so I dont jiggle or anything at all. Its not like anyone can tell. I stopped wearing a bra, other then when I run, when I was 16. Never ever again!

        • Veronica says:

          Bwah! Well, I guess you’ll never have back trouble caused by huge knockers! I’m giong to be one of those old ladies that walks with her back parallel to the ground…and my boobs will be dragging it!

  3. sophia says:

    Aw, I’m so glad you’re feeling better now, Veronica. Blogging can do that to you. :-)

    Ha! Those bagels are always marked down for discount in my grocery store for 40 cents! I think you should move here, don’t you think? ;-)

    Curious: What IS Geneen Roth’s take on God?

    • Veronica says:

      OMgoats, I would be in heaven!! As for Roth, it seems so wishy-washy & convoluted that I’m not sure even she knows what her take on God is. LOL! She seems to have an Indian influence on how she thinks of God. Basically she doesn’t believe in the Bible’s God, but just a somethingness. I don’t even think she thinks her God is a being. Or that it’s powerful. I kind of glazed over when she was talking about it (I was listening to it at work) so forgive me for not being able to supply a better answer! I was mostly interested in how trusting myself could lead to a healthy relationship with food.

  4. Karen says:

    LOL – I am not a big bra wearer either. But then again, I am not even an A cup! I do wear one when things would show or when I work out – don’t worry! And those bagels… I used to eat them when I was on Weight Watchers.

  5. Suzie says:

    I haven’t heard of that brand of bagels, but the onion ones look delish! I love me some onion bagels :) Glad you spent New Year’s with good friends. I am like you with the bras…too cheap to buy good ones. When I worked at Marshall Field’s though, we got a discount and I bought some nice bras. There is a big difference! I kinda’ buy the mid-range ones now, an in between compromise…lol! My doggies are my therapy too…gotta’ love them! For me, I am thankful for good friends this week. They’ve helped me out alot! :)

  6. Jenna says:

    Haha–I love your ‘brallelujah!’ I also splurged (around Thanksgiving) and went to VS (Victoria’s Secret). My sisters guided me through what could have been a very frightening experience, and to a successful purchase!

  7. biz319 says:

    OMG, I would jump up and down too if I found those bagels too – the shipping was $$ so I never ordered them. I’ll have to look for them again in my neck of the woods.

    Brallelujah! Love it! Thanks for all your recipe links and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

