Then and Now

New Year’s Eve 2009


New Year’s Eve 2010

Guess what??  I weighed in on New Year’s Eve and my official ending weight for 2010 comes in at 145.2, just .2 pounds higher than my goal for the year! Woot!  That made me feel pretty good.

Here’s my weight loss chart.  The red goal line starts when I started this blog.  There was lots of ups and downs but at least I ended it on target!

And this is the most exciting part:

I may be at the top end of what’s considered a healthy weight for my height, but I’ll take it! I’ve gone from “obese” to “healthy” since I started the blog. Wheeee!

I had Dennis take photos of me today so I could compare them to the photos I had him take on January 1st last year.  These are not the photos I’ve been using as my before photos on Going Down, because I actually got heavier after January 1st and had to take a second set of before photos when I started this blog, but as you can see there is quite a difference between then and now.

I noticed how I was looking down in my before pictures from the side and it makes me sad.  I likely did it on purpose to make myself look worse so I’d look even better in comparison when I took “after pictures” (yeah, I’m conniving like that), but they really do reflect how I felt about myself physically.  Losing weight has not only made me feel healthy and free, but has also restored some confidence.

Continuing in the “then and now” vein, I thought I’d go over the resolutions I set last year and lay down some for 2011.  I always set 8, because it’s my favorite number.

2010 resolutions:

1. Get 8 hours of sleep each night (!) I totally and utterly failed at this one!
2. Live a healthy lifestyle: eat low-fat, low-sugar, more plant-life, lean mean, less processed foods, whole grains. Exercise at least 5 days a week, ultimately daily, and work up to aerobic exercise (min 30 minutes).  I did pretty good with this one after I started the blog.
3. Lose at least 20 pounds, if not 30 and up to 40, by living healthy. Goal met! I will continue to work on this in 2011.
4. Pray daily. Goal met. :)
5. Continue learning and studying the bible. Goal met.
6. Keep the house cleaner. Organize a chore list and do them daily/weekly. Another complete and utter failure.
7. Try to be kind & understanding with everyone. I did well with this most of the time, but just realized I did not remember to be kind and understanding with myself.
8. Reward my accomplishments. :)  I rewarded myself, but never for particular accomplishments. Oops!

The majority is green up there so I’m pretty happy with that.  But there is always room for improvement, so….

My 2011 resolutions are:

1. I got the Chronological Study Bible for Christmas from my friend, Pamela.  It is so cool–it has pictures and time lines and history along with the scripture so you get a fuller picture of what was going on in the world, etc.  I want to use the 1-year study plan to get through it by January 1, 2012.  I have never read the Bible all the way through and I’m super excited about this!
2.  Lose ten pounds, or more, and maintain it through healthy living.  If I do this, it will be the first time I’ve been at my ideal weight since I was a teenager!
3. Get 3 months of income built up in savings for our emergency fund.  Right now we have one week of income in savings. Yikes!
4. Seriously. Make a plan to keep the house clean and do it.  This is getting ridiculous.
5. Get 8 hours of sleep each night. Veronica, do it!
6. Be as kind, understanding, and forgiving as possible with everyone, including myself.
7. Get a haircut at least every three months.  Stop scowling at me, Veronica.  You deserve it and you need it.  Do it.  And maybe you should stop talking to yourself, at least on your blog.  Cuz people are starting to wonder about you.  Who am I kidding? You guys already know I’m nuts! :)
8.  Get guttering on the house.  Are you wigging that we don’t have guttering?  It’s a long story but yes, we have no guttering any more and our house is sinking in the mud so we need to get it back on ASAP!

So how about you?  Do you make New Year’s resolutions? What’s some of yours?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Then and Now

  1. Erin S. says:

    I normally do not make New Year’s Resolutions, but this year I have decided to. I have decided it’s about time after all these years, to actually become a goal oriented person. I guess I think it’s time to grow up, lol…so, here goes:

    1. I will lose at least 30 pounds. Maybe more, but I will start with 30.
    2. I will apply for some jobs, even maybe some promotions at my current job. I have decided I cannot complain anymore, if I don’t at least try to better my station in life.
    3. I will read at least 10 books. I love books, but have gotten out of the habit of reading them. This is probably due to the internet, lol…but I’m going to read some books, for certain.
    4. I’m going to take more pictures, and cook more food. I have been feeling the need to create things lately.
    5. I will shop more for myself. I hate the thought of shopping, and spending money, but I always feel so much better when I have nice things. I seem to always deprive myself of nice things.
    6. I will try to be nicer to people. This one will be hard, as I am usually pretty selective about who I’m nice to. This is not something I choose, it’s just that I can’t hide my feeelings very well.
    7. I will work hard at loving myself, just the way I am. I will love the things about me that I absolutely cannot change…like the texture of my hair and the shape of body. Not the weight of it, but the shape of it.
    8. I will spend more time outside of my home. I am way too antisocial, and I have realized I am missing out on so much of life that way…

    This is actually the first time I have typed all these out :) Hmmm…seems a bit daunting…but I shall try!

    • Veronica says:

      Erin, thank you so much for sharing your resolutions! I love that you set them and that you said “I will or I’m going to” rather than, “I will try” or “I hope to.” I love that positive phrasing! I also love that you chose to do eight of them too. :) In regards to number 7, this is something I have been thinking about lately and I think I’m going to use it as a subject of a blog soon. So many times we think, if I just lose weight I will be happy and can love myself. But I think it’s truer that if we can’t love ourselves now, losing weight will not fix the problem. And even if we don’t love the extra fat, we can find things to love about it so that it doesn’t keep us from hating our bodies completely. Like at least we’ve got extra cleavage, right? LOL! I think you are so smart to learn to love yourself now because when we don’t, we can never be fully happy! There is no reason to wait until we are thin to love ourselves. Rock on! I totally sympathize with #8. I often think I’m happiest at home, and yet when I dare to socialize, I realize how much I’m missing out on by being a hermit. OK, girl, let’s rock 2011!!

  2. Those are some awesome pictures! You have done SO well!! Awesome goals. I haven’t really thought about specific goals. Exercise is certainly one of them. I’ve flunked that big time.

    We do daily bible reading and I think we get through the bible every 3 years. Then we have a weekly discussion at our meeting about the reading. It’s great and we’ve learned so much! Of course, we’re in Chronicles now and it’s a bit hard to get through, especially with the kids. :-)

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Debi! I understand the challenge of learning with children! I taught Sunday School for the last year (I’m taking a break now) and if the stories weren’t filled with a lot of action, it was hard to hold their attention. I tried to think of games and activities that reinforced the story and made it fun.

  3. Nicole V says:

    Veronica you look so fabulous! WTG! There is such a big difference between these before and afters. I like that you wore the same outfit, so we can see how baggy it is on you now.

    I don’t really have resolutions this year. I’d like to stop catching every sickness that is going around, though I can’t really control that. I guess pregnancy makes my immune system crap out. I also can’t say I want to lose weight, but I hope not to over gain! I hope you are able to meet all your goals or at least most of them!

  4. Karen says:

    What a great year you had! Kudos. I can only imagine how fabulous you will look in your photos next year at this time.

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you, Karen! I’m pretty stoked about this year–I’m claiming it for victory over my battle with my weight for good! Wheee!

  5. Priyanka says:

    I am new to your blog Veronica and I love it. Your progress has been awesome and its so motivating for me, since I am embarking on a journey myself. Congratulations on achieving all your 2010 resolutions!

  6. Damn girl, it looks like someone sliced off your tummy! I can really see the differnce in how you carry yourself in the before and after too. Oh, and I love the private dialogs. Its hilarious, don’t stop!

    For me, I want to work on cleaning (already did an hour both days this year), getting off the treadmill to run outside by the spring, and building a life for myself

  7. Suzie says:

    The before and after pictures are amazing! You look great. I enjoy your self-talking too, you always make me laugh…keep being yourself girlfriend! I like your goals that you’ve set. I am just as bad as you about keeping the house clean. I just had 10 days off and did not clean once…ugh! I usually do not make resolutions but, I think I will join you on that one. If I can find my keyboard, I will keep you updated! ;)

  8. Jenna says:

    Great resolutions Veronica! And congrats on your successful 2010! The before and after pictures are truly awesome. You’ve come so far. =) I think your chronological Bible study sounds especially exciting–and the 8 hours of sleep! I love my sleep, and I try to sneak in 9 hours when I can. My resolutions–to stay creative this year through blogging, cooking, photography, and music!

  9. biz319 says:

    You can totally tell the difference – especially in your middle area which gives me hope!

    I am only 5.2, so my doctor wants me to be around 125 (which is at the top range for my height) . . . which means I have 44 pounds to go!

    But you and I will continue to be rock stars, right?! :D

  10. ajh says:

    Veronica, congrats on that nice downward sloping red line on that graph! And on those before and after shots … Looking great!

    I like the fact that you have a financial goal in your list too, I think more of us should do that too!

Leave a Reply

