Weekly Weigh-in and Hot 100 Update #11

I was so caught up in making a time-consuming cake for my hubby’s birthday that I almost forgot to do my weekly weigh-in post.  But I have good news so I’m glad I remembered. :)

I’ve gotten serious again (why does that only seem to happen in phases??) and am down 3 pounds from last week! Woot!  Since there are only three weeks left in this year and I’m still about 5 pounds away from my goal of ending the year at 145 pounds, I’m going to have to be hard-core and ignore (most of) the holiday goodies that abound at parties.  I might not have to go to the parties if I’m working the hours promised but so far I’ve actually been working LESS hours!  It will be harder to stay on track if I am able to go to them , but I’m determined to meet my goal by January 1st so I will keep as firmly to my resolve as possible.  I might even take a few things home to freeze and enjoy slowly throughout the following weeks instead of stuffing myself with everything I “have to have” all at once.

OK, here’s the Hot 100 update.  I can’t believe there are only three more left!!!

1. My goal was to get to 145 pounds by the end of the year. I’m moving in the right direction, 3 pounds down.  I’m sitting at 149.8 right now. 4.8 pounds to go!

2.  Bring my average blood sugar down to 140 by the end of the challenge.  It was 148 this week but at least I’m not having huge highs and lows any more.

3.  No matter what else I eat, get at least four servings of fruit and vegetables in every day.  Check!

4.  Get physically active–doing at least 5 thirty minute sessions a week.  This is the first week I didn’t make this goal! I got in two cardio and two strength training.  Usually I get in 6 sessions but my Aunt and Uncle’s anniversary cake took more time than I had planned (all those roses–I’m slow with them) and I worked through a couple exercise sessions.

Things are looking up.  I seriously think I can make it to my goal of 145 by the end of the year.  I tend to do better when the odds are against me.  I’m running out of time AND I’ve gotta lose the weight during the most fattening month of the year.  Which is why I think I can do it.  I’m a procrastinator but I can usually pull through in the end.

Is there anything you are working to accomplish by the end of the year?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Weigh-in and Hot 100 Update #11

  1. I do the same thing. I go a long time with WANTING to be serious but don’t do anything and then I flip the switch and it’s GAME ON! That’s how I am now! Here’s to both of us succeeding!!

    So glad it’s looking up!

  2. Pop says:

    You can do it Veronica!

    Me? I’m waiting until January 1, 2011 :-P

  3. Jenna says:

    Oh man, you are SO close! Sometimes I work better when there’s a challenging deadline as well–resisting all the holiday temptation will only make you stronger. =)

  4. Karen says:

    Great job this week, Veronica. That goal is sooo close!

  5. Michele says:

    Found you through the Hot 100 challenge. Great job losing 3 pounds this week. Wahoo!!!!

  6. biz319 says:

    I am so happy you aren’t having the swings of high and low blood sugars – that always scares me – and to be honest, 148 average isn’t too bad!

    Hope you enjoy your Sunday!

  7. Faith says:

    Sounds like you’re doing a fantastic job, Veronica! Excellent job with your goals…keep up the good work, we’re all cheering you on! :)

  8. Charlotte says:

    145!?! That’s wonderful and you’re soooo close! Something else to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

