Tuesday Thanksgivings #2

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here is what I’m thankful for this week!

Wednesday: Jessie’s limp went away!  She started limping the Saturday before and we were worried she might be getting arthritis but she stopped limping on Wednesday and hasn’t limped since. Woo-hoo! We think she must have either twisted her paw while running in the uneven backyard (thanks to her friend, Doc’s, digging) or got injured when I braked too suddenly when she was riding in the backseat and she was thrown forward against the seat.  Thank God it wasn’t serious–I don’t know how we could have paid for a vet visit!

Thursday: Our nephew Carson got out of the hospital!  He was in a serious car accident and his spleen was damaged.  They thought he would need surgery but thankfully he didn’t and he was released after five days.  Thank God he survived!  Our nephews seem to always be in and out of the hospital, mostly for sports-related injuries, but this was the most scared I’ve ever been.

Me & Lacey

Lacey's birthday party

Owen going after the good stuff

Friday: my little sister, Lacey, whose 24th birthday we celebrated (with a variety of small desserts from a bakery–we just all dug in with forks!).  The day she was born, I knew that she was something precious and wonderful and she gave me an early desire for children of my own.  Later, she helped assuage that unfulfilled desire by giving me an incredible nephew.

Me holding Lacey and a knife. Yeah, that’s not dangerous at all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Uncle Donny and Aunt Shirley

Saturday: Everlasting love.  Yes, it’s does exist and my Aunt and Uncle are proof.  We celebrated their 50th anniversary with them and it was just so lovely to see them together, so happy with one another even after fifty years.  Oh, and I was also thankful that I got the cake there in one piece!!!  I was a bit nervous though…

Nervous wedding cake deliverer

But it turned out OK!

anniversary cake3

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mini birthday cake

Sunday: my gift with cakes.  I always give treats to my Church family on their birthdays and Sunday I gave the above miniature personal-sized cake to a dear sister in Christ on this day.  With tears in her eyes and a catch in her voice she said, “I haven’t had a birthday cake in years.”  That really got me.  For me, it is such a small thing to do, but to her it meant so much.  Her reaction made me realize what a blessing God has given me in my talent with baking & decorating, to be able to bring such joy to a person this way.  I think for the first time, I’m thankful for this gift.

Another sister in Christ with her personal cake in August

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Champion Bras Sports Bra Champion Best Seller Seamless Shiny Sports Bra 2893Monday: my heavy-duty Champion sports bra!  I’m no Dolly Parton, but my chest is big enough to make running impossible without good support. I love that I can run without worrying about getting….well, saggy. :)  And while I’m at it, I’m also thankful for the two ladies who gave it to me–my friends Donna and Stephanie.  Back in 2008, I was training for a half marathon and was having serious bouncing issues so my buds got me a sports bra to help out!  Pretty funny, but so cool.  Since it got little use between the half-marathon and the last couple months, it’s still going strong and keeping me in place while I run, which I happened to be doing on this day.

Tuesday: My wedding ring fits!  Back in May when I started this blog, I was no longer wearing it because it had gotten so tight that it was giving me a callous.  Now it not only serves as a reminder of my darling husband, but how far I’ve come on my weight-loss journey.

What are you thankful for this week?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #2

  1. Nice post and great pictures! SO glad the cake made it!

  2. Fran says:

    I’m Thankful for Face Book …Had it not been for Face Book I wouldn’t have met and enjoyed reading your & everyone’s blog’s as well as all the recipes Thanks Veronica …
    But the Biggest thing What I’m Thankful for is Being able to go to Church with my Loving Husband some places they aren’t even able to own a bible ..Lucky we are to live in the USA

  3. Faith says:

    Such a sweet post, Veronica! I’m glad that Jessie and your nephew Carson are ok…it must feel like a weight was lifted off your shoulders! Love that pretty birthday cake, what a sweet thing to do!

  4. Sandy says:

    Well I got to agree with Fran.I’m thankful for facebook.I’m even thankful on losing the weight myself.And last.I’m thankful for wonderful friends and family.

  5. Suzie says:

    Glad Jessie and your nephew are okay too :) The anniversary cake is beautiful, I’m glad it made it in one piece! I bet you’ve missed your wedding ring. I took mine in to replace a diamond and I missed it for 3 weeks!

    I am thankful I was able to go to FL last weekend and see my Grandma :)

    • Veronica says:

      I’m weird. I didn’t really miss it! But I am glad that it’s back on my finger. I didn’t hear about your trip!!! Did you post some pics for us?

  6. Karen says:

    Great list. Congrats on your ring fitting:) I am thankful for getting approved for medical insurance.

  7. Oh, I love hearing suck wonderful news from you! the cakes look amazing, especially the anniversary one. did you do those roses? they are beautiful!

    As for me, I am thankful my heat finally works…brrrrrrr

  8. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #1 | Going Down

Leave a Reply

