Weekly Weigh-In and Hot 100 Update #9

I adore this picture.  The big, genuine smiles.  My husband took it while my mother-in-law and I were preparing scalloped potatoes from her old recipe file that she’s had since she got married 48 years ago.

Phyllis is one thing that I’m hugely grateful for on this day of thanks.  Making scalloped potatoes with her makes me happy in such a ridiculous way that is hard to describe.  I don’t want to get into my childhood, but let’s just say that Phyllis is the kind of mother I always wanted and I’m so thankful to have her in my life now.  I’m thankful for my own mother as well, who I know loves me dearly, but it is much more difficult to find this deep-seated happiness when sharing a kitchen with her.

Our au gratin potatoes (in the red dish) turned au gratin with the addition of some Velveeta. Also pictured: sweet potatoes (two kinds), scalloped turnips and smoked turkey.

Today was a good day.  God has blessed all of us abundantly, and recognizing these blessings is something I need to do more often.  Therefore, I have decided to make a Thanksgiving resolution.  From now until Thanksgiving next year, I’m going to find something to be thankful for every day and report them each time I blog.  I won’t blog every day, but I will include these thanksgivings each time that I do.

OK, onto the weekly weigh-in and update!

Well, I weighed in this morning and the scale said…

150.8 (-.6)

…but I’m pretty sure I just gained 10 pounds with our Thanksgiving dinner!  I didn’t eat a HUGE amount of anything…but a little bit of everything.  And there was a lot to choose from.  I think I sampled five pies.  Among other desserts. Oi.  But the pecan pie that Phyllis made?  Totally worth every calorie.  I haven’t let myself have it in several years.  I was due.

The desserts I brought: eggnog pumpkin bread with cinnamon chips, fresh apple cake (the soaked in glaze makes it look dark, cake pops (in Christmas colors--they were all I had), and pumpkin pie

I’m very, very tired and about to fall asleep on my keyboard so I’ll just say that I’m doing great with my exercise, not as great with eating (I’m tracking but going over my calories by 1,000 almost every day), my blood sugar is terrible this week, which would also be improved by doing better with my food choices.  Here’s to a better week and a year filled with hope and gratitude.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Goals, Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weekly Weigh-In and Hot 100 Update #9

  1. Dennis Miller says:

    I’m thankful that Christ came to earth so that we can be reconciled with God.
    That I had parents who stood beside me and backed me in whatever I wanted to do.
    But all of these things shine a little brighter when I realize I can share them with you. :)

  2. teresa says:

    What a great photo!! I’m so glad you have that good mom energy in your life and that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving.
    The week AFTER Thanksgiving seems like the perfect time to get ourselves back into our programs!

  3. Fran says:

    Sometimes it’s hard as many know when were dieting still when Holidays roll up Just enjoy the hlidays but don’t eat as much as you want …Just send it to Kentucky what’s a Friend for if not to help a Friend who’s dieting right …I luv reading your weigh in and most anything you write about your good …

  4. Awesome pictures! Great eats, glad you had a good time.

  5. Andrew says:

    Wow, a lot of food for sure. I’d be hopeless if that was all in front of me. In a way I’m glad we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Australia, it would be two big food celebrations too close together with Christmas!

    Well done on the weight loss!

    I added you to my blog roll hope that is okay!

  6. Karen says:

    Looks yummy. You are so lucky to love your MIL:)

  7. Suzie says:

    Looks like you had a great Thanksgiving. The picture with your MIL is great, you both look very happy. I can’t believe all the food that was there…wow! You still did good on your weigh in too…good for you! I like your idea of finding things to be thankful for everyday :)

  8. Jenna says:

    I also love that picture, the big smiles, and the love just radiating from your faces! And my oh my what a Thanksgiving spread . . . wow!!
    I think your resolution to share what you’re thankful for is awesome. =)

  9. Charlotte says:

    I love that picture of you and your mother-in-law. What a blessing to have such a close bond with her. Truly something to be thankful for!

    Okay, and seriously, eggnog pumpkin bread with cinnamon chips? I’m glad that wasn’t at my holiday table, or else I would have been at its mercy for sure.

    Glad you had a nice holiday!

  10. Shannon @ BetterNextTime says:

    Oh, that recipe card pic reminds me of my grandma’s house – another woman you could always find joy in the kitchen with!

    What a yummy Thanksgiving!

  11. biz319 says:

    I love that picture of you and your MIL! It is so genuine :D I agree, everyone should be thankful for at least one thing each day – sometimes life has a way of moving on its own and we need to stop, think and have gratitude for the things we have, not what we don’t have.

    All that food looks amazing!

  12. Pingback: Belated Tuesday Thanksgivings #4 | Going Down

  13. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #6 | Going Down

  14. Pingback: Thankful « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

