Thankful

I have so much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.  Among the normal things (my life, my friends & family, the roof over my head, etc), I got my blood test results from the doctor today and there has been improvement!

Normal for women 11/9/2009 5/10/2010 11/17/2010
Total Cholesterol <200 220 206 196
HDL (good fat) >55 71 56 63
LDL (bad fat) <100 136 129 121
Triglycerides <150 66 107 62

Although my total cholesterol is still high, it is at least now beneath the max for being considered “normal.”

I am travelling tonight to spend the holiday with my husband’s family, but I’m carting my scale with me so I can weigh in the morning and report back to you when I return in the evening. To close, I’ll leave you with pictures of my latest birthday cake that will make you thankful that you weren’t at the party to eat this cake and ruin your diet!

Devil's food cake with chocolate frosting, chocolate ganache, and shaved dark, milk, and cookies 'n cream chocolate sprinkled on top of each tier.

"It looks kinda tilted."

I ate a small piece at the party, then took 3 large hunks (the above two included) home with me and managed to give them away without sneaking any bites. Let’s see if this willpower holds out over the holiday!
About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Daily Progress, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankful

  1. biz319 says:

    That cake looks insulin worthy for sure Veronica! Have safe travels and a wonderful Thanksgiving! :D

  2. Congratulations on the bloodwork Veronica! I am envious!

    Have an absolutely terrific Thanksgiving!

  3. Faith says:

    A huge congrats on your bloodwork results, Veronica! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! And wow, is that a gorgeous cake!

  4. Shannon @ BetterNextTime says:

    Good job on your bloodwork! And wow, what a scrumptious and beautiful cake!!

  5. I am kicking myself for being so late to read this! I am ecstatic to see your blood work! I was really worried. That cake is stunning. You are so talented!

  6. dennis Miller says:

    Wow, I forgot how much I liked that cake…. I wants some… I wwaaantttss some NOW!

Leave a Reply

