Weekly Weigh-In and Hot 100 Update #8

I did it! Remember the 3,000 calorie dinner?  I stuck to my plan of eating reasonably.  It was hard.  So hard.  The mocha frosting.  It smells sooo good.  And I took a bite.  You know how sometimes it’s better just not to taste something because you know if you have a bite, you’ll go overboard?  That’s me and this cake.  But I didn’t take a second bite.  I usually don’t have great willpower, but I stuck to my resolution not to go too far off track just because I had ten million delicious calories within arm’s length.

So here’s my Hot 100 update:

Weight: 151.4 (-1 lb)

Vitamins/veggies: check!

Exercise: check (minus one)! I did miss a strength training session due to another cake project I’m working on (pics coming soon), but I’m still going strong with the exercise and I feel so healthy for it.

Average blood sugar: 117.  Praise God!

I had an appointment this week with my diabetes doctor and he was thrilled with my numbers: weight (down 17 lbs since last visit), blood pressure, and blood sugars were all excellent.  I will get back my A1C & cholesterol test results in about a week, which I am nervous about b/c my cholesterol was high last time and if it is still high, then I will have to start meds for it and I sooooooo don’t want to do that.  My A1C (a test that shows your average blood sugar over the last three months) might be a little high since I had so much trouble with my blood sugars last month, but that doesn’t concern me as much since the temporary flare-up has passed.

I’m feeling really good about how I’m doing health-wise overall and am planning to continue that this next week, despite the Thanksgiving holiday.  I don’t plan to eat weight-loss portions, but I don’t plan to gluttonize (as I usually would) either.  However, leading up to and directly after Thanksgiving, I want to stick with weight-loss portions b/c I would like to continue losing weight, especially since I still haven’t lost all I regained last month.

So who’s cooking your Thanksgiving dinner?  We always spend it with Dennis’ family in Abilene, so I only have to worry about a few things.  This year I’m making the pumpkin pie (you knew I’d be making a dessert!), cranberry sauce, and scalloped potatoes.  What are you making?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Health, Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekly Weigh-In and Hot 100 Update #8

  1. I agree, you can’t go to Thanksgiving and eat weight loss portions but you can make good choices! There is overeating and then there is OVEREATING! No seconds and no nibbling! :-)

  2. Karen says:

    Yahoo! Moving in the right direction:) Thanksgiving is such a big meal holiday. Sigh. I think my goal is similar to yours. My mom is hosting. I am bringing a quinoa dish that is healthy and pumpkin bread that is not. I may make a healthy pumpkin bread to take too, but am now debating since I am afraid no one will eat it and I will finish it off!

  3. biz319 says:

    So proud of your blood sugar numbers Veronica! And that’s an awesome weight loss for 3 months.

    I am sure overall your A1C will be good – I have to take medication for my cholesterol now, diet and exercise didn’t seem to be enough :(

    Have a great weekend!

    • Veronica says:

      I always think of you when I post my blood sugar numbers. You are like my diabetes Mom b/c I always want you to be proud of me for taking care of my diabetes! Ugh, I really hope I don’t have to start meds but I will b/c I’d rather do that than have a heart attack!

  4. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Well done, a good week. That cake looks divine and very dangerous :-)
    Thanksgiving must be a hard holiday to be good food wise too, fortunately here in Australia we don’t celebrate it, so I don’t need to worry!

  5. I am so proud of your numbers this week! How long was it from your last doc appt to the one before? If your cholesterol moved down, even if it is still high, I STRONGLY advise you to reconsider. The cholesterol meds basically rape you from the inside. I wouldn’t let my gma take them a few years ago, trust me.

    • Veronica says:

      It was 9 months since the last one. It had moved down the last time but was still high and I’ll find out soon whether it’s still too high. I’m hoping to be able to control it with diet/exercise.

  6. It really sounds as if your health is going the right direction! Woot! I am so proud of you!

  7. Suzie says:

    Sounds like things are going good V!! Happy for you. We go to my SIL’s for Thanksgiving. I just make a salad and dessert…easy. I wish I lived in Australia though like Andrew, Thanksgiving interfere’s with my hunting…Lol!!!! ;)

  8. Charlotte says:

    That cake looks amazing! Your willpower must be iron-clad for you to take just a bite.

    We’re going to my mom’s for Thanksgiving, and she is kindly asking me what to include for my healthy eating. I’ll probably have little servings of a few of my favorites, do without some others, and add in lots of veggies. Maybe a little sliver of pie. Just for the one meal though — Not going to let it be a free-for-all for four days.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Veronica says:

      I wish it was iron clad but unfortunately it has failed me pretty much every day since I posted this blog! arg! your plan sounds like mine, though I’m not going to be as reserved. I think I’ll have a full piece of pie. :)

Leave a Reply

