Weekly Weigh-In and Hot 100 Update #7

I know my posts have been pretty downtrodden lately, so I’m happy to report my mood (and actions) has finally shifted and I’m feeling fabulous!  I have so much good news this week.

Weight: I lost 2.4 pounds.  I’m now at 152.4, which is 7.4 pounds away from my Hot 100 goal weight of 145 pounds.

Vitamins and veggies: I’ve blocked out everything that happened before Sunday (it wasn’t pretty), but as of Sunday morning I’ve taken my vitamin every day and gotten in even more than my goal of 4 servings of fruits & veggies a day. Woot!

Activity: I’m so sore!  I’ve changed up my routine because my body had grown accustomed to it and it no longer challenged me very much so the hubs and I started doing Tae Bo again.  Love Tae Bo.  Well, I hate it.  But it’s a really good work out.  I just imagine I’m kicking and punching Billy Blanks in the face and it keeps me going. Screaming at him helps too.  ;)  I also changed up my strength training routine by picking one with dumbbells from the Sparkpeople website.  Owiiiiiie!

Blood sugar: I’m absolutely thrilled to report that my average blood sugar this week is 129, which is 11 points lower than my goal of 140 for the Hot 100 challenge.  I would like to get my average even closer to 100, but I’m feeling much more in control now.

We invited friends over for dinner on Saturday and the meal I’m planning is going to be seriously evil.  Like 3,000 calories a plate evil.  I plan to eat small portions of the evil stuff, big portions of the healthy stuff, and skip dessert.  I’m making a mocha crunch cake, which is my favorite, but it doesn’t sound that great to me after I made myself sick on leftover mocha frosting and toffee bits from the last one I made.

So besides this hiccup of a fattening dinner, my focus this week will be on staying within my calorie limit (1,200-1,500) and making sure I bulk up my meals with healthy veggies.  And resisting all the cake I will be baking (for a friend’s wedding-sized birthday cake).  I can do it!

__________________________________

11/12/10 I’ve gotten some comments asking about what in the world I’m going to be feeding people that could possibly add up to 3,000 calories so I thought I should let everyone know that I’m a big exaggerator and depending on how full the plates are, the calories will be somewhere between 800-1,500, which is still quite a lot.  I’m serving crispy ranch chicken, fully loaded mashed potatoes, some fattening veggie sides that have butter and other evilness in them, sweet homemade dinner rolls, and salad with dressing.  But the cake itself is killer–we’re talking 800 calories a slice here, so I guess I really wasn’t exaggerating too much when I said it would be 3,000 calories a plate.  I’ve never had these people over before and I want to impress them, which would be harder to do with healthy stuff (for me), so I’m not going to bother.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly Weigh-In and Hot 100 Update #7

  1. Glad to hear you are sore! You know what I mean! The muscles will thank you as they get stronger! Nice to see the positive post!

  2. Julie says:

    We all have our ups and downs. It was just your turn. Now it’s time to enjoy our life style changes. Your exercise routine sounds excellent. Keep up the great work.
    Have a great Friday. God Bless!!

  3. yay for good things! I loved tae bo when I did it too! that guy always made my day =)

    wait…3000 cals a plate? what the hell are you making?! why not make something healthy instead?

  4. Faith says:

    Nice job on switching up your exercise routine, that always helps to target new areas and also keep it fun! And congrats on your blood sugar, that’s awesome news! Just out of curiousity, do we get to hear more about this dinner you’re making on Saturday? (I’m curious as to what you’re making!) :)

  5. Pop says:

    My most hated words some years ago? Double Time.

  6. Suzie says:

    I’m curious as to what you are making for dinner also. Are you just serving heaping bowls of frosting topped with toffee and then the actual cake?! ;) Glad to hear things looked up so much this week! Great job on the exercising and your blood sugar too. Keep your chin up girl! :)

  7. I am glad to see the upbeat change in attitude. Watch out world, Veronica is about to take you by storm!

  8. Charlotte says:

    Wow, that is a plate of evil! So are the other competitors in this weight-loss contest going to be your dinner guests? Because that would be a very clever little ploy. Actually, it sounds like you have a great plan for dealing with a big ol’ batch of food. I’m also curious about the menu. Do share!

    • Veronica says:

      Haha, I should do that but I don’t think I could. I’m really not that devious of a person! No, it’s a family from Church that I love dearly–they are such good, wonderful people. I updated my post to answer everyone’s question about the dinner.

  9. Wow, I wish I was coming to your house for dinner!!! YUM!!

    Sound like you had a great week, Veronica! LOL @ kicking Billy Blanks in the face! You reminded me that I have those videos, too! I think I’ll get them back out!

  10. ajh says:

    Congrats on such a good week. Getting close to that weight goal :-) and great when the medical signals like blood sugar follow along too!

  11. Karen says:

    You are going in the right direction again. That’s something to smile about:) But Billy Blanks outfit – yikes.

    • Veronica says:

      LOL, I know, right? I’m surprised you’re the first one who mentioned it. I think even for the late 90’s, this outfit was out of fashion.

  12. Jenna says:

    Awesome job getting all your veggies in! =) And your dinner plan sounds soooo delicious. BTW, that picture of Billy is totally freaky.

  13. Pingback: Cake Anxiety, Weekly Weigh-In, and Hot 100 Update #10 | Going Down

Leave a Reply

