ICT 3 for 3

Group Picture

I’ve mentioned a weight loss competition that I was going to be starting with some co-workers and friends.  Well, it began on Saturday!  Six of us met at my house where we weighed and measured and wrote down three goals that we had to achieve by the end of the competition in order to win.

We’re calling our group ICT 3 for 3.  ICT is Wichita’s airport code so it defines our location, and 3 for 3 is for the three months we have to meet our three goals.  It runs from November 6-February 5 so it will get us through the holidays and beyond.  Very exciting!!

Here’s the team (left to right): Lanora, me, Tina, Kriss, Erika, and Dennis.  Dennis and Lanora were late so I had to paste them on the best I could without use of a cool photo editing program.  (I actually used Microsoft Word and Paint to do it–lol!)

We each put $20 in a jar and I guess my co-workers and friend trust me because they didn’t make a peep about me keeping it in my home for three months.  I’m already dreaming up the ways I could spend it if I win.  (Haircut & color, new clothes, mani/pedi……..)

My goals for this competition are:

1. Lose 15 pounds
2.  Keep a daily food journal.
3.  Exercise a minimum of 4x a week, at least 30 minutes per session.

So far, so good!  I’m eating really healthy now and consequently feel fantastic!  I’m keeping my food & exercise journals on Sparkpeople (find me here if you’re a fellow Sparker!) and am documenting every bite eaten and recording each workout, which this week so far has been only 2 cardio and 2 strength training since I skipped three days in a row before the challenge started.

I’m looking forward to claiming this:

Mama needs a new haircut!

But even if I don’t win, I know I will feel like a winner because this challenge is motivating me in a way I’ve never been before.  It’s not totally the money, but also the combination of competition & camaraderie, and being a part of a group who all are focused on the same goal.  I think when this is over, each one of us will feel like winners.

Let the games begin!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Goals, ICT 3 for 3. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to ICT 3 for 3

  1. Good idea!!!! I do hope you win that jar full o’ money!! :)

  2. What a great contest and a great motivator! I wish you the best Veronica!

  3. Dennis Miller says:

    If all of us hit our goals we shall all be winners even if we don’t win the money.

  4. Sandy says:

    Lanora, looks like she’s out of place behind you.Keep up the good work.

    • Veronica says:

      Yeah, I had to kind of cut and paste her there since she wasn’t actually there with us. I had to take a separate picture of her and Dennis since they came later.

  5. Excellent! It’s so nice to have the motivation!! I so hope it helps! Just picture that money jar everytime you want to eat something more than planned!

  6. Shannon @ BetterNextTime says:

    What a great motivator! And lucky you, you get to have that jar to look at whenever you need a little boost! Good luck!

  7. Faith says:

    What a great competition! I bet having friends participate will make it a lot more fun…and motivating! Good luck, Veronica!

  8. Carla says:

    LOL..I think you did a good job w/the cut and paste! Good Luck V…can’t wait to see your new “doo” :)

  9. You can do this!!! In fact, you look like you already are. Yay!

  10. Suzie says:

    It sounds like a fun competition!! I agree with others…having the jar to look at is great motivation. Plus, having Dennis in the contest makes for a friendly competition b/t you two!! :) Have fun Vand I hope you win!

  11. biz319 says:

    I think its great that you are starting now instead of waiting until the end of the year – great motivation to pass up the cookies during the holidays!!

    You can do it! :D

  12. Charlotte says:

    This looks like so much fun! Looks like a cool group of people too.

  13. Pingback: Make it StickK! | Going Down

  14. Pingback: Weekly Weigh-In #35 | Going Down

  15. Pingback: What happened to my weekly weigh-ins? | Going Down

  16. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgiving #18 | Going Down

  17. jaci hutter says:

    go girl! Where do you get your hair done? May I suggest you go see my gal Shana at New Directions on Seneca? I started going to her when I was 14. She works miracles on thick haired ppl! She also does AMAZING mani/pedi. While your at it you could book an appt to see Susan–the massage therapist that works there. They have really reasonable prices too! (16 bux for a hair cut…30 each for mani/pedi and 50 for an hour long massage) I hope you win! (I almost typed sin…lmbo!)

    • Veronica says:

      I used to go to Planet Hair, now I go to a friend’s friend who does great work. She is more $$ though so I might have to try Shana out! She’s closer too. LOL–I hope I win but pray I keep away from sin. haha!

  18. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #19 | Going Down

Leave a Reply

