Angry Hot 100 Update

*Note: I used to be a Scientologist.  I bear no grudges but I am no longer, for many reasons.  I am open to discussion on the topic from curious readers.

In Scientology, there is something called the “tone scale” which is basically a scale of moods from lowest (total failure) to highest (serenity of beingness).  Here’s what the chart looks like (I just love these little furry guys demonstrating all the levels for us!):

If you want to look at larger pictures of it, you can click here and here.

Last week I was apathetic (which is .5 on the tone scale) and now I’ve moved up to anger (1.5).  So I’m making progress, at least in Scientology terms.  LOL!

Yep, I’m angry.  Angry with myself for eating junk, which makes me feel like crap and gain weight.  Angry that I became apathetic and allowed myself to regain 3.8 pounds this week.  When I did the math and realized that I overate by 13,300 calories in order to gain those pounds, I was amazed.  What kind of person eats over their calorie limit by that much in just one week?!

Well, I did.  And I’m angry about it.  My lowest point came when I scooped some leftover mocha frosting into an ice cream bowl, sprinkled it with toffee bits, and dug in with a spoon like it was real food.  Sure, it was creamy, mousse-like, and delicious, but a bowl of frosting does not a meal make!  And it sure doesn’t make you feel good.

Anyway, I’m done with the yucky eating and the yucky feeling.  I gave you the impression I wasn’t going to let this happen when I went on a rant about how I refused to regain my jeans-destroying thunder crotch, but I’m really getting off the junk-food kick starting now.  OK, truth be told, I probably won’t be getting off of it until Sunday.  But I’m getting off of it.

Time for an update!

Weight: as mentioned, I gained 3.8 pounds. This puts me at 154.8, which is 9.8 lbs from my goal of 145 by the end of this challenge.  I’ve got about 2 months to get there, so it’s still attainable but I gotta get on it.

Exercise: Despite feeling like poo, I continued exercising and got in three runs and three strength training sessions.  Yay!

Veggies & vitamins: I’ve been eating veggies, but not getting in the 4 servings I set as my goal.  I did take my vitamin every day.

Blood sugar: good news!  My average for the week is 146, which is 15 points down from last week and only 6 points above my goal for the challenge.

So mainly it’s my food choices that I need to change and this is the week.  I’m going to make it a great one! :)

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Angry Hot 100 Update

  1. I don’t know anything about scientology but that is an interesting scale! You’re right, anger IS better than apathetic. I was stuck in apathetic for a long time, then angry but not caring enough to actually do something. I SO get where you are at! Why can’t this just be SIMPLE! The frosting thing, why on earth do we do it? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat there and at 1000 calories worth of something incredibly stupid. I applaud you for actually keeping track of how many extra calories you took in. I’m famous for just going into complete denial and then wondering how and why the scale says I’ve gained 3 lbs.

    Keep that anger ablaze and DO something about it! You can do it, I KNOW you can!!

    • Veronica says:

      I actually didn’t keep track. I just multiplied 3,500 (the amount of calories in a pound of fat) by 3.8 (the number of pounds I gained) to see how much I over-ate in order to gain that much. Shocking! If I had been tracking, I really doubt I would have let it get that out of control. Thanks, Debbi, you’re such a great cheerleader!

  2. Dennis Miller says:

    Yeah, time for me to get my diet under control as well.
    It will be a lot easier with you by my side doing it as well.

  3. Carla says:

    Hmmmm..sounds like you are rebeling against yourself! ???? I agree w/Dennis..if your both doing it, seems like it would be a lot easier.

    • Veronica says:

      Yeah, probably, and also I went overboard eating everything I wasn’t going to allow myself once I start this weight loss competition. Yes, it will be easier with us both on the same page.

  4. Julie says:

    This is a pretty cool chart. I range all over it each week. Never a dull moment. Sometimes I can even hit them all in a day.
    You’ll get things under control and get your life style change back on line. I know you will.
    Take care and God Bless!!

    • Veronica says:

      You made me LOL about being all over the chart! I’ve been known to do that too, especially during that time of the month. Thanks, Julie!

  5. Despite feeling like poo, there are still a lot of positives for the week! Namely your exercise! Way to go on that. As far as the eating, you know sometimes we all get in that junk food funk. It will pass and you will get back in the action come this Sunday!

    Okay, I’m curious about Scientology! I never quite knew exactly what it was about and honestly thought it was cult-ish??? Sorry if that is ignorant thinking!

    • Veronica says:

      It is very cultish–you are right about that. I literally went into hiding to break free and couldn’t even tell my husband where I was for fear they’d find me. There are good points to the actual teachings but as far as the organization is run, I no likey. It’s basically about self-improvement and there are classes you take and counseling you can get and both are beneficial but it gets weirder and weirder the longer you’re in and the more you learn.

  6. Twix says:

    Before you put it in your mouth scream, “Stop! Stop! Stop!” No matter where you’re at, no matter how embarrassing. And then put it down.
    Excellent on all the running!! :D The mood scale is cute! I think I would be yo-yo-ing between grouchy and manic to flat and back.

  7. So what does it mean if I am more then one point on the chart at the same time? = P

    It sux when you feel like poop and you need to work out…but…realizing that the actual workout is shorter then the time spent dreading it makes me more willing to do it and get it over with

    • Veronica says:

      It means you are…complex. :P Yeah, working out when you feel like poo is the worst but I always feel better for it.

  8. Veronica, I am sorry to read of your rough week. I have a sneaking suspicion that you may not have overeaten by 13,300 calories, but instead there is probably some water retention involved. Either way, quick gains can be taken care of fairly quickly too.

    You know what to do Veronica. You CAN do this. Make this your best week yet!

  9. Michele says:

    Found you through the Hottie Challenge. I agree with the comments above: put the anger to work and attain your goals. You can do it!

  10. Karen says:

    I agree with Steve. I know the math, but for me, it never really works that way. Not too long ago I had a bad week and gained back 5 pounds! I don’t think there is anyway I ate enough calories to have done that… crazy math just does not add up. BUT, the great part is you kept exercising and you are still thinking ahead positively, even if in the moment you are not so positive. BTW, I was very, very angry with myself last week. And, I am one who has always found Scientology just a bit fascinating. Actually, I find most religions fascinating.

  11. Jenna says:

    Great job exercising so much–that’s awesome. And losing 10 lbs in 2 months–totally doable! You’re absolutely going to get there!

  12. What a chart! I agree with the people who say they’ve been all of this and more in one week. Moving from apathetic to angry is a good thing, right? Hope this week goes well for you.

  13. biz319 says:

    Hang in there Veronica!! And congrats on putting in the exercise even though you felt like poo! :D

Leave a Reply

