Guilty Pleasures

Most of my guilty pleasures are food-based.  Chocolate eclairs.  Salty potato chips with cool sour cream and chive dip.  Cake.  Any kind of cake.  Or pie.  CHOCOLATE. CHIP. COOKIES. (!!!!!)

One of my non-food related guilty pleasures is the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich.  These books are basically cotton candy for the brain.  They are fluffy, nearly void of anything substantial, but they are so enjoyable!  Janet makes me laugh so hard every time another in the series comes out and although I can almost feel my brain rotting while I read, I still can’t help it.  I love them so much.  And I figure they are much better for me than cookies and just as indulgent.

One of my favorite characters in the series is Stephanie’s friend, Lula, who is a former hooker that works at the same bail bonds agency as Stephanie (Stephanie is a bounty hunter and is constantly getting herself into ridiculous situations because of it).  Lula is a large woman who doesn’t mince words, insists on stuffing herself into neon spandex clothing, and she never fails to cracks me up!  In the latest in the series, Sizzling Sixteen, Lula announces her new diet plan.

“I’m only getting one doughnut,” Lula said, getting out of the Firebird.  “I’m on a new diet where I only have one of anything.  Like I can have one pea.  And I can have one piece of asparagus.  And I can have one loaf of bread.”

After much deliberating at the doughnut shop, Lula finally got ONE of every single doughnut.  Although at dinner later, she only ate ONE piece of lettuce from her salad.  That’s Lula, and I love her even if she does eat horrifically.  She’s enough to make me feel virtuous on my worst eating day!

So what about you?  Do you have any guilty pleasures?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Funnies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guilty Pleasures

  1. Dennis Miller says:

    Yeah, I’ve got a guilty pleasure. Some times at night when no one else is around I’ll sneak into the office pick up my guitar, turn the amp down and set it on the clean channel and play Neil Diamond and Rod Stewart Songs!

  2. Karen says:

    I love her books too, although this one was not my favorite. And, I also wrote a blog post about Lulu’s diet of one:)

    • Veronica says:

      I haven’t been liking the series as much as I did initially, but I thought she rocked it with this one. I’ll have to find your post on Lula’s diet!

  3. Pop says:

    All of mine involve chocolate.

Leave a Reply

