Weekly Weigh-In and Birthday Party Pics

I had a great week!  First, the weekly weigh-in results and update on my Hot 100 goals.

Weight: 149.4–down 2 pounds from last week.  This is crazy b/c I gained weight while eating less last week and lost weight while eating more this week.  I think maybe the HCG drops have sped up my metabolism even while not taking them and I need more calories now!  Last week I averaged 1,300 calories a day and this week I averaged 1,800.

Hot 100 Goals:

1. Get down to (at least) 145 pounds.  I lost 2 pounds this week so I’m headed in the right direction.  Only 4.6 pounds to go!

2. Bring my blood sugar down to 140.  This was my biggest trouble area this week–it jumped up from last week’s 148 to 160!  I really struggle to take the right amount of insulin for the food I’m eating and also I notice I need more insulin the week before my period and a lot less during my period–so my insulin sensitivity seems to change with my hormones, making it difficult to keep my blood sugar stable.  Any other women on insulin notice this?

3. Eat at least four servings of fruits and vegetables a day and take a daily multivitamin.  I missed two days on the multivitamin but I’m doing well with the fruits and vegetables.  I definitely have to make an effort to get them in, but I’m doing it!

4. Get physically active.  YES!  I’m doing great with this.  I’m starting to get a little addicted to exercise, which is such a relief from the dread that just thinking about it used to cause.  Dennis and I walked/ran three days last week and did strength training in the form of full body isometric exercises from Sparkpeople.com.  (BTW, Sparkpeople.com is also where I record my daily calories and calculate the calories in my recipes–I highly recommend the site!  If you are already on there, please friend me so we can encourage each other: http://www.sparkpeople.com/mypage.asp?id=vraklis)

All right, I promised some of you photos from the party.  I had it in the enclosed shelter at Minisa park:

First, the cake (yes, I made and decorated it–no way was I going to pay for a cake this big!):

I normally would not have chosen hot pink, lime green, Caribbean blue, and black for any cake of mine, but I wanted to incorporate the colors from the party and I like the way it turned out.

Me and the hubs, rockin’ it out 80s style!  And yes, that actually is roadkill on Dennis head. ;)  I know you’re curious about his guitar–here is a close up:

Our friend, Tara, from church, painted Medusa on it for him.  Dennis let her enter the guitar at the State Fair and it won 2nd place in the miscellaneous arts division!  Here is Tara and her sisters–she is Michael Jackson and her sisters are zombies from the Thriller video.  Very creative for a 1980s party, no?  They won first place for best costume.

I want you to see what they look like (gorgeous!) out of costume so here I am with them last October:

Left to right: Amelia, me, Tara, and Cameo.

Here is a pic with my sisters Lacey (middle) and Danielle (right):

Dani didn’t come in costume but we helped her out with her hair–love it!

Here I am with cousins Katerina (left) and Tessa (right):

I love that so many came in costume!!!

There are so many more pictures which you can view here if you like.  I’ll leave you with a picture of my favorite gifts I received:

The Roush family (remember the cute Thriller girls?) gave me the “Heart of God” bracelet.  You can see the letters that spell “GOD” if you look closely.  I love this because not only is it beautiful, but it reminds me where my priorities should lie (I often forget!) and whom I owe every success and happiness to.  To God be the glory!

The ring is real gold and sapphire from my Aunt Ruby’s own personal collection.  I will treasure it forever!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Goals, Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weekly Weigh-In and Birthday Party Pics

  1. ajh says:

    Congrats on being so close to your goal weight, nearly there! I’m in maintenance mode now for 5 years, which is easier, but a word of warning still needs a lot of dedication and will. I love your comment about becoming addicted to exercise, because that is definitely where I am, and makes things sommuch easier!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog, it mass my day. I am, sadly, 52, but after losing all my weight in my mid 40s, definitely feel fitter than I did in my 30s. I so wish that I had made the weight loss journey when I was younger, congrats to you for doing so.

    • Veronica says:

      My actual goal weight is 130-135 but for the Hot 100 challenge, it is 145. I’m so glad it’s within sight! Thanks, Andrew.

  2. ajh says:

    Oh, and love the party pics too! Does your hubby actually play the guitar, that’s something I’d love to be able to do, but sadly the only guitar I play is the air guitar, and even that is badly :-)

  3. Charlotte says:

    Happy Birthday to you! Those “milestone” birthdays are always fun. And how nice that you are celebrating your day in a healthier body. And your cake is amazing! My 9-year-old daughter peeked over my shoulder and saw the photo of it and is still talking about that cake, thirty minutes later. (She’s been really into watching those cake shows on TV, and now thinks you’re a superstar.) I’m so impressed! Yes, you saved a bundle making it yourself, I’m sure.

    The ’80s theme is cool too. Being 10 years older than you (ouch), I can tell you that your outfit is legit! Ah, takes me back.

    Congrats on getting so close to your weight goals. That’s a nice birthday present too, isn’t it? The bracelet is very nice. I’ve seen those before and thought they were cool.

    Again, happy birthday. 30 is fun, so enjoy it!

  4. Faith says:

    What a great birthday party! Such a fun theme and your cake is STUNNING! Of course it is, you made it! (Love all your cakes!) :)

  5. Karen says:

    That cake is beautiful!! I think sometimes weight loss slows if we eat too little. Like our body is reacting thinking we are starving it. Whatever happened, congrats on the scale going down:)

  6. Dennis Miller says:

    For most of the time I knew you, you hated anything “80’s.” Now you had your 30th birthday as 80’s theme :)

    I never did get to perform my song, maybe I’ll put it up on Youtube.

    • Veronica says:

      I still can’t dig the fashion enough to put it into my permanent wardrobe rotation but I’m learning to appreciate the horrid tackiness. It’s your own fault you didn’t perform–you had the opportunity and requests! Yeah, put it on youtube. :)

  7. Suzie says:

    Your party looks like it was a lot of fun. The cake is great, as usual :) Glad you lost a little more weight this week, it makes it that much easier to stay motivated. Exercise can be addicting can’t it? :)

  8. What a great update, Veronica!! The birthday party pics are great too – looks like a lot of fun!

  9. Pingback: 21 weeks: busy week | Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

