My last post

…while I’m still in my twenties!!  I turn thirty tomorrow!  Since I”m having a big party, the preparations have kept me busy and excited so I haven’t felt depressed in the slightest about leaving my twenties behind.  That is, until my Uncle sent me a message saying “enjoy the last few days of being 29!”  Whoa.  I hadn’t thought about it that way.  But I’m still doing OK!  I don’t have time to get all reflective and start thinking about my ever-increasing gray hairs or search for wrinkles.

 

Farewell to my youth! This is my youngest sister, Lacey, and I in 1995. I wore my Dad's plaid shirts every day at this age. I was obsessed with them.

OK, I’m in between decorating my own cake, making a special allergy-free cake for a few of my guests, and another cake for my nephew’s birthday so let’s get to the weekly weigh-in and update, shall we?

 

I weighed in at 151.4 pounds this morning, up two pounds since last week.  I have not been eating weight-gain portions so I’m hoping this is due to a combination of building muscle (I’ve started exercising!) and water retention since it’s nearly that time of the month again.

So, here’s how I did on my Hot 100 goals:

Get down to at least 145 pounds by the end of the challenge. I already told you I failed to lose any weight this week, but I wanted to share with you my daily calories to show what my week in eating was like.

Friday: 1,003
Saturday: 1,655 ~ I went a little overboard on snacks that day.
Sunday: 1,409
Monday: 1,357
Tuesday: 1,377
Wednesday: 1,345

Except for the first day, my calories came in higher than my goal (1,200), but still under the amount it would take for me to stay at the same weight, so logically, I should have lost something.  Still, my goal for next week is to  keep my calories closer to 1,200.  BTW, I am soooo happy to be eating normal foods again!  And I’m not eating junk, I’m eating healthy foods, like cauliflower, that I wasn’t allowed while on the HCG drops.  I’m loving the choices and variety!

If I get to my goal, or lower, before the end of the challenge, I want to WILL stay within two pounds of that weight until the end. This doesn’t apply since I’m not to my goal yet, but I did stay within two pounds of my last weigh-in.  Barely!

Bring my average blood sugar down to 140 by the end of the year. My average blood sugar this week was 148, which is two points higher than last week but I’m counting this as a win since I reintroduced carbs into my diet, making it harder to keep it stable.

Eat at least four servings of fruit and vegetables each day and take a daily multivitamin. I met the first goal but missed two days on the multi-vitamin.

Get physically active. This is the biggest win!!! I have been dreading starting exercising again but I worked out three times this week and did two strength-training sessions and I actually enjoyed it!  OK, maybe not WHILE I was doing it, but definitely the great healthy feeling that stays with me not only directly after but all the time!  I feel so much better and healthier–more than I have in a long time.  Dennis and I started out with power walking, then starting doing a little jogging along with it and the last time we increased the time we jogged during the walk.  After I ran a half-marathon in 2008, I swore my running days were over so I shocked myself when I asked Dennis if he wanted to try running.  And the strength-training leaves me with tired muscles that are ever-so-slightly sore the following day and I love that feeling!  I feel so…ALIVE!
So although I didn’t fully met but one of my goals this week, I’m feeling very good about how it went and optimistic about the next week.  I’m just excited about everything right now!  I’ll be posting soon with some pics from my party. You guys are going to LOVE my super tacky hot pink and black 80s costume!

Question of the day: when did you start getting gray hairs?  Or have you?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Hot 100, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to My last post

  1. Carol says:

    I think you are doing wonderfully Veronica, and have given me the motivation to get back on the weight loss/exercise train :) You are absolutely right on about feeling so good after working out – all day long!

    As for the gray hairs, I found my first one at 23 and am now 36, so…I have LOTS! I’m not a dyer though. I’m hoping to be like one of those older ladies you see on the commercials with a long flowing mane of beautiful silver hair! We’ll see…

    • Veronica says:

      I started getting gray hairs at 23 too! I thought I said that in my post but now see that I didn’t. I’m glad I’m motivating someone else–that’s so cool!

  2. Ugh, I’m nearly a decade older! I’m reaching the big 40 in spring. I don’t exactly FEEL older though. It’s just the body that gets older, not the mind. I still feel as goofy as I did when in my 20’s or earlier.

    My dad has always been “39” since I’ve known him. He called on my last birthday and told me that I finally caught up with him! :-)

    • Veronica says:

      I know what you mean! On facebook today, I said, ” It’s my last day of being in my twenties. I feel like after today, I’m going to have to dress and act like a grown up. I wonder if that is even possible.” Because it doesn’t feel possible! I think I’ll still be 18 when I die, even if my body is 90. :) LOL on your Dad!

  3. Pop says:

    Hooray for strength training! I’ve been in an on-again-off-again relationship with the gym the past few months, but I’m still seeing results from all the training I did before.

    Go Veronica!

  4. Faith says:

    Happy almost Birthday, Veronica! I hope you have a great day! Will you show us your birthday cake once it’s decorated? (I always love your cakes!) ;)

  5. Happy Birthday!! GoodBye Twenties Hello 40’s! That’s the way it usually goes. Seems like you breeze right through your 30’s and 20’s. Then you sit back wondering where your life went! Enjoy every minute of it Veronica. Before you know it you’ll be posting a blog titled “OH MY GOSH” I am 40! Lol

  6. Charlotte says:

    I know what you mean! I just turned (gulp!) 40 last spring, and I still always forget I’m not 23. I started seeing a stray gray every now and then around 30 years old, but I used to be blonde, so it was kind of hard to tell. Now that I’m back to my natural dark hair, I still don’t have many grays, but when I do get one, it’s obvious. Oh, and I would love to be one of those ladies with flowing silver hair, but mine instead always look like little white wires sticking straight up on top of my head. Turning 30 didn’t bother me at all. I felt excited about life, like you are right now. The possibilities are endless!

  7. biz319 says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY VERONICA!! Yep, I am into my 40’s – you are so young!

    I started getting gray hair around 35, but now that I am 42, there are more every day!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Veronica says:

      I think our perception of what “old” is changes as we get older. I used to think 30 was old. Now I think 80 is old. LOL!

  8. wannabeamy says:

    Happy Birthday! And great job on the strength training!
    (BTW… my mom was in the hospital staying with my sister who had a new baby last week. :-)

  9. Suzie says:

    Happy birthday Veronica!! I hope your party is a blast, I know how much you’ve been looking forward to it :) I was blonde until I was 39 (42 now), so I never could see gray hair. Now that I’m brunette I have a few in the front on occasion. A bit of dye every 6 months cures that ;) I think you did well on your goals. Good job on the exercising too. I have been working with Roxy lately and it includes a lot of running/walking. I always feel good afterwards too. Keep up the good work! :)

  10. Karen says:

    I can’t remember! And gray does not go well with red so I have been dying it for a long time. Happy birthday:)

  11. Tammy says:

    Great job with the exercising. I really enjoyed reading how the exercise makes you feel. I totally remember that feeling from days gone by. I let myself go (and go, and go and go) and am now up to 370 (down from 391). The only exercise I am doing right now is walking and I will continue that plan for awhile. I’ve been pretty consistent over the last two weeks and it is starting to feel real good. Keep it up and that scale will move for you.

    Happy Birthday!

    • Veronica says:

      Walking is a great place to start–it is easy on the joints but is enough to get your heart pumping, especially if it’s been a while since you’ve been active. I wish you much success!

  12. Dennis Miller says:

    Hmmm, I don’t know if I retain water around my cycle but I’ll look out for it :) ( I know that wasn’t question of the day but I thought I would answer it anyway)

    As for question of the day… I can’t even remember what age I was on my 30th birthday so I have no idea when I started getting gray hair.

    You are doing great on your weight loss, even if you have gained a bit. I leave w/ these words of wisdom…

    The journey of Weight loss is like the journey of Life. The difference is at the end of the journey of Life one is dies … but the journey of Weight loss one Diets.

    Ok, not wisdom just a bunch of words.

    • Veronica says:

      Since you were sitting right next to me when I read this, I guess you know how much I enjoyed your comment. You seriously are a laugh riot, honey. I’m so lucky to have you. <3

  13. Get a room you two! Oh, right…nevermind….

    V I am super excited for you! I was reluctant to start exercising again too! And while my progress has been very disappointing, at least I am doing something.

  14. teresa says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!! I hope you had a great time and that you feel the wonderful glow of being 30. Thirty is fantastic. You’re young, you’re beautiful and you’re taking care of your health.
    I didn’t start getting grey hairs until 42 or so.

  15. Shannon @ BetterNextTime says:

    Happy belated birthday! I think you’re doing great on all your goals!

    I haven’t found any gray hairs yet – but truthfully I don’t look that closely…sometimes ignorance is bliss. ;)

  16. polar's mom says:

    30 isn’t bad at all-I didn’t start noticing wrinkles until about 32. So if I could wish you anything for your birthday, I would wish upon you…BOTOX. Seriously. You’ll thank me when all your friends look 5 years older than you in two years.

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

