The Hot 100: 1st week results

As promised, I’m off the HCG drops as of yesterday.  I was worried that it would be hard to stay on the low-calorie diet the last two days without them (it is recommended to stay on it two days after discontinuing use since the HCG is still in your system) but yesterday was just about as easy as all the days with them.  I’m feeling just a little bit hungrier today and ate a snack of a few ounces of turkey between breakfast (Honeycrisp apple) and lunch (a bunless bison burger).

I was hoping to report that while on the HCG drops, my total weight loss was 15 pounds because I weighed in at 148.6 yesterday and thought for sure I’d be 148 by this morning.  No such luck.  Today I weighed in at 149.4-my exact weight from Tuesday (which means a total loss of 13.6 while on the drops).  I didn’t even have my allowed two pieces of fruit yesterday because I forgot them, which means I somehow managed to gain a pound while under-eating! The body works in mysterious ways sometimes.  But I’m going to stay positive and work hard, including exercise, to not only stay where I am but lose more.

So here’s my results during the first week of The Hot 100 challenge (there are now 94 participants–if you haven’t joined, do so now–Friday is the cut off and it would be so cool to have 100 participants!):

*2.8 pounds lost
*Increased the time on our dog walks from 30 minutes to 1 hour.  Admittedly, this is solely due to Jessie, our dog’s, increased energy now that the weather is cooler.  The real exercise starts tomorrow and I’m actually kind of getting excited about it!
*I took a multivitamin every day!
*My average blood sugar for the week was 146.  That’s up from the 7 day average two days ago because I forgot to take my Lantus on Wednesday (it took me all day to figure out why I couldn’t get my blood sugar under 180!), but it is down from the usual 155.  Win!
*I definitely got in my fruits and veggies since they are a staple on my strict diet.  This will be more of a challenge once my food choices are up to myself, but I do not foresee having any problem with it since I like vegetables and can tolerate fruit.  (Anyone else weird like me that likes veggies more than fruit?)

The main goal for this next week is DO NOT GAIN WEIGHT!  To do this I will:

*Track my calories on paper or on sparkpeople.com, journaling everything I eat, and keeping them at 1,200.
*Steer clear of major sources of refined sugar and flour.  No dessert or white bread/rice/pasta.
*Exercise (I’m talking aerobic and strength training) at least four days this week.  I want to say every day, but since I haven’t been on a workout regimen in so long, it will probably take some time to get back into good enough shape that I can do that.

And of course I will continue taking my multivitamin and eating at least four servings of fruit and vegetables every day.

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!!!!!

I didn’t realize it until I was calculating my total loss while on the HCG drops, but my total loss since the beginning of this blog is now 25.6 pounds! I just went past my 25-pound milestone! Woo hoo! Let’s celebrate with some comparison pictures (I will take photos wearing the black and white exercise outfit soon for better comparison but this is all I’ve got for now, which were taken in a hurry before we left for a Bible study):

5/20/10 175 pounds vs. 8/28/10 149.4 pounds

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Goals, HCG Drops, Hot 100, Milestones, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Hot 100: 1st week results

  1. Suzie says:

    You look awesome!! You can tell the weight came off from all over :) I know you can keep up the good work…it will just take work! Frisbee with the dog or even throwing a ball are good exercise too. I get my exercise with Haley everyday, that girl has energy!! I’m weird too, I like veggies more than fruit too. We have a lot of weird coincidences…lol!

    • Veronica says:

      I end up running almost as much as Jessie when we play fetch b/c I chase her for fun when she won’t give me the ball/stick/toy. I need to do it with her more often b/c the girl is so lazy and fat! Guess she was following my example–lol! Glad I’m not the only one who likes veggies better. It seems most everyone likes fruit but not as many like veggies. You’d think I like fruit since I have a sweet tooth but I really could do without it and wouldn’t miss it. Except for the occassional mango.

  2. Andrea Zachary says:

    Congratulations Veronica! You’re doing great! Keep up the great work!!

  3. “AWESOME” You look wonderful!!!!!

  4. Karen says:

    You look amazing:)

  5. Pop says:

    You look great, Veronica! Way to go! I guess those athletes who were using HCG drops knew what they were doing :-P

    • Veronica says:

      Tee hee, except they were using HCG to bring their testosterone back to a normal level in between steroids. Ick. BTW, according to the book by the guy who discovered HCG, it is safe for men and will not make them feminine or mess with their testosterone. So I guess the reason they take it in between steroid useage is because it regulates hormones, not automatically decreases them. Cool.

  6. Veronica says:

    You did (and look) great! I was excited about the drops when you got them I figured this would be a real catalysis to your overall wight loss. Now onwards to a more health worthy lifestyle for both of us. I’ve been “off the wagon” health wise for a long time it will be cool getting back on.

    • Veronica says:

      LOL–I can’t stop laughing! Dennis, you commented on my blog while I was signed in on your computer and now it looks like I left a comment for myself. Thanks for leaving a comment–I appreciate it when you take the time to stop in on my blog. <3 you!

  7. Look at you!!! I can really tell a difference in you all over!

    On a different note, I absolutely love fruit. While I love veggies too, fruit is by far my favorite, and you mentioned one of my favorites of the favorites – Honeycrisp apples! Mmm!

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks Steve! I love Honeycrisp too–it’s my favorite apple, but my all-time favorite fruit is mangos. If it weren’t for mangos, I could probably give up fruit for life.

  8. Faith says:

    You must be so proud of yourself! A huge congrats for reaching the 25 lb mark!!!

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you, Faith! I’m still trying to get used to not being obese and catch myself thinking of my body as it used to be instead of how it is. I’m continually shocked by the old clothes I can fit into again. <3 it!

  9. ajh says:

    Wow, amazing difference in those before and afters! Congrats on a great start to the Hot100 challenge too!

Leave a Reply

