Apple Day

If you look above, you’ll see I’ve added a page to my blog called “HCG Drops” which explains the story of how I got them, what they are, and how they work so that anyone new to my blog can just read it instead of going back to read all my old posts.and missed all that.  I figured that would be easier than having to go back and read all my posts since I got them in August.

OK, so what is an apple day, you ask?  My worst nightmare!  When you hit a plateau while taking the HCG drops, you are to eat six apples in a day and nothing else but water.  I actually did this once before, the second week of the diet, because I gained weight one morning and freaked out.  But I forgot that I’d partaken of the Lord’s supper the morning before and since unleavened bread and grape juice aren’t allowed on the diet, that was likely the cause.  Anything not allowed is for a good reason–it stops the HCG hormone from working up to its full potential.

(Taking communion is a lot more important to me than losing weight, so I am still eating the bread and juice every Sunday morning as Jesus said, “do this in remembrance of me.” 1 Corinthians 11:24)

So I probably didn’t need to do the apple day the first time, but for the last three days my weight loss has been .4, .2, and .4 pounds, and that is just not satisfactory.  Not considering that for the five days leading up to the dip I was losing 1 1/2 pounds a day.  Like I said in the last blog, I’m not working this hard for these results.  I’d rather be eating a normal healthy diet and losing a pound a week than working this hard for only a .2 pound loss in a day.

So, six apples today it is.  The suffering I experience during an apple day is not due to hunger, as with any other day on the diet I really don’t have an appetite, but because eating that many apples is so hard.  I was only able to eat five apples during my last apple day and I had to shove the last one down my throat, wanting to spit out every bite.  I just don’t like apples enough to eat that many in a day!  Today I have eaten two so far but thankfully it is MUCH easier because I went to the farmer’s market this morning and got some delicious local organic apples.  They are so much better than anything you can get at the grocery store.

So that’s what I’m doing today.  Eating apples.  And cleaning the kitchen.  The hubster had to work today (poor Dennis) so I’m making him a massive dinner tonight because I haven’t cooked for him almost since I started this diet (he’s been feeding himself grilled steak and chicken at every meal since I hardly ever do this–I hate big hunks of meat!).  I’ve got his favorite rolls rising right now and I’m also going to make some crispy ranch chicken, mashed potatoes and some sort of veggie.  I’m so excited to be cooking again!  Does cooking for someone make you happy the way it does me?  It brings me such joy.  Boiling shrimp and microwaving cabbage for myself just isn’t as much fun as making a real meal that’s got white flour and butter in it! :)

Which reminds me.  Add a third post to those I have coming up this week: HCG Diet-friendly recipes.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Challenges, HCG Drops and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Apple Day

  1. Charlotte says:

    Found you via the Hot 100 Challenge, which I’m also participating in. I can really tell a difference in your progress photos. I don’t know how you can make all those amazing-looking yummies and still lose weight. Then again, I’m not much of a cook so I’m kind of in luck that way. Looking forward to watching your progress through your blog!
    -Charlotte at http://www.fathairday.blogspot.com

  2. Goodness!! 6 apples a day??? Gee, couldn’t you just cut them up and food process them? It may be better for you that way. Good luck on your diet ;)

  3. If it wont leave you feeling less full, try cooking them down to more of an apple sauce or apple butter (depending how long you go). Add some spices and they will be gone before you know it!

  4. Veronica says:

    I should have posted this one after the FIRST apple day so I would have gotten these wonderful ideas before I had to do another one! I hope I don’t have to, but if I do this will make it so much easier. At least there will be some variety and the spices would make it really yummy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

