When your period is a blessing

Come on, ladies, don’t raise those eyebrows at me.  Don’t pretend you don’t love using your period as an excuse to miss work, skip a work-out, eat a chocolate bar the size of your head and PMS salads that consist of potato chips drizzled with full-fat ranch.  What?  I’m the only one who does that?  Well, you get my point.

Well, I’ve discovered a new way that it is a blessing.  It is a blessing when you are on HCG drops and a very strict diet because you are not only allowed, but actually advised, to go back to your normal eating habits until your cycle is over.  (They say you will feel like death is coming for you if you try to stay on the 500-cal diet during your cycle but I seriously felt fine the first half a day I did it, forgetting that I was supposed to eat more.)  I may have taken the eat “normal/healthy” thing a bit outside the guidelines the makers of the diet had in mind, but I’m enjoying it.  Trying not to enjoy it too much, but I have partaken of a few chips.  And ranch dressing.  *evil grin*

So I’m not sure how the weigh-in on Thursday will go since I’m not only retaining water but probably gaining a bit of non-water weight, but yesterday I was down another 2 lbs., making my total loss TWENTY FREAKIN’ POUNDS.  Just imagine what twenty packages of butter (or 80 sticks) would look like and that’s how much fat I’ve gotten off this old bod since I started the blog in May.  Woo-hoo!

Just wanted to give you a heads up on what’s going on so you’re not expecting a ten pound loss and I report a two-pound gain.  These days don’t count as days on the diet, even though I’m still taking the drops, so right now I’ve got 16 days (8 pounds) under my belt with the drops and I’ll start counting them again once Aunt Flo bids me adieu.  Usually I’m glad to see her go but I’m feeling a fondness for her that I haven’t in…never.  lol.  She lets me eat potato chip salad and cookies.  She’s a pretty cool Aunt.

Anyway, this HCG drops protocol should be done a minimum of 21 days and a maximum of 45 so I’m looking at completing it somewhere around October 15th unless I lose more than expected and I can end it sooner.  Whether I’m done with it or not on my birthday, I have tentatively decided I will eat the same food as my friends and family at the party and have a small piece of cake.  Because it’s my birthday and I’ll eat cake if I want to.  So there!

Oh, oh oh!  I forgot to say!  I entered a bunch of breads, cakes & cookies into the fair this year and I won ten ribbons (I plan to post recipes for those without links in the future):

1st: Sugar cookies
1st: Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies (class: refrigerated cookies)
1st: Chocolate Sparkle Cookies (class: gluten-free cookies–thank you to Marina for that recipe!)

2nd: Loaded Oatmeal Cookies with Brown Butter Glaze (class: oatmeal raisin cookies)
2nd: Carrot Cake Cookies (class: filled cookies–thanks for that recipe too, M!)
2nd: Carrot Cake
2nd: Hamburger buns (thank you to Laura for that recipe!)

3rd: Apple Cake
3rd: Pound Cake
3rd: Pumpkin Bread
3rd: Kansas Wheat Bread Basket

I didn’t take pics of all my winning entries but here are some:

Carrot Cake Cookies

Sugar cookies (I decorated them like the sheep from the “Sheep Thrills” logo for the fair this year.  After snapping this, I added black to the feet for hooves which was cute but the edible marker ran once I wrapped them in plastic which made them look pretty awful.

Apple cake

Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies

Chocolate Sparkle Cookies

Hamburger bun

Kansas Wheat Bread Basket (includes french, whole wheat, honey oatmeal, garlic parm breadsticks, cinnamon rolls, a sesame seed bun, and some really ugly but tasty pretzels):

Governor’s Cookie Jar–it didn’t place but I wanted to show you the logo that I used to make my sugar cookies–it’s on the jar:

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When your period is a blessing

  1. Congrads on the weight loss!! Congrads on all the ribbons as well. Your baked goods look so good. The carrot cake cookies is calling my name ;)

  2. So, while you are eating only 500 calories a day, are you weak or HUNGRY? That’s what I’m curious about. I don’t blame you for doing a happy dance this month while having your period! Let’s hope it’s a long one!

    • Veronica says:

      Sorry, Debs, I thought I already replied to this. No weakness or hunger, except the first three days. After that, easy breezy. Honestly I could have kept on the diet during my period but figured I should probably do what they said (plus I wanted some chips–ha!).

  3. biz319 says:

    Congrats on twenty fricken pounds! And my word, all of your baked goods should have taken 1st place they look so amazing . . . and insulin worthy! :D

  4. Suzie says:

    Yes, at first I thought you went a little crazy from dieting when I read the title of this one…lol!! Alas, I kept reading b/c I was pretty sure you weren’t crazy, just near crazy! ;) I’m sure you are enjoying some chips…and good for you! I like chips with a slice of cheese, so I don’t find your ranch weird…lol! Congrats on the 20 lbs., you go girl! Again, congrats on all your ribbons too, I knew you would do well. I love the governor’s batch too and the label is adorable :)

  5. Faith says:

    Congrats on your ribbons, that’s really awesome! Your baked goods are phenomenal, you totally deserve them. That logo is adorable!

  6. Pop says:

    Go, Veronica, Go! :-P Congrats!

Leave a Reply

