The beginning of Phase II with HCG Drops

Even though I’ve only been on Phase II with the HCG drops for two days (nearly three since I’m posting so late in the evening), I decided to keep weighing & reporting on Thursdays.  So you won’t see a significant loss until next week.

So here’s what has happened since I started the HCG drops.  The first two days, I was loading.  I gained exactly 5 pounds during this phase (Phase I).  Tuesday I lost 4.1 pounds and Wednesday I lost 1.6 pounds, which gets me to .4 pounds beneath my pre-HCG weight.  (From 163 to 162.6.) Not too shabby for two days work!  And tomorrow I’ll find out how much I lost today.

It’s not all sunshine and roses, however.  The first day I was starving.  It didn’t help that I made three dozen chocolate chip cookies and two loaves of honey oatmeal bread and I could have none of it.  (I even wore latex gloves while baking, as touching fat or putting lotion on with fat in it can halt your weight loss when you’re using the HCG drops.)  The second day I wasn’t so hungry but I felt really weak.  I think my main problem that day was lack of sleep.  Today I’m feeling stronger and my energy is back, but I’m still feeling hunger pangs.  I’m hoping by the end of the week, my hunger pangs will be gone–as the diet has reassured me and as many people have reported this happening.  If they don’t reduce, I will have to take more doses of the HCG, which I don’t want to do because then it won’t last as long.  So I’m crossing my fingers that the hunger will eventually cease.

I’ve taken some pics of my meals (below) but didn’t include the pics of fruit I’ve been eating.  There are only three types of fruit allowed, and I’ve already been eating all three: strawberries, apples and grapefruit.  There is also a specific list of vegetables I can eat.  Although all fruits and vegetables are healthy, some can interrupt the HCG in your system and cause you to stop losing weight.  Artichokes, for instance.  A very low-calorie vegetable that most dieters love including in their meal plan (like me), but cause a stall in your weight loss when you’re taking HCG. Crazy, huh?

Anyway, besides two helpings of fruit a day, here’s the meals I’ve been eating:

It looks sad. And it was sad. The steak was dry and hard to chew and I put too much lemon & salt on the kale. But the tomato was heaven!

Now we’re talkin! This chicken was so juicy and I was amazed at how wonderful the plain mustard tasted with it! Since we’re not allowed sweets, I really noticed how naturally sweet the romaine lettuce was, especially in comparison with the spicy radishes. No dressing! I feel like a kid again (we weren’t allowed dressings growing up).

Looks like a plate of veggies, right?

Tricked you! I packed 4 oz of deli turkey inside the lettuce leaves, along with some mustard. This is my favorite thing to do so far, as I don’t like meat much but do love processed meats. I’m weird.

Another lean 4 oz steak, improved with my favorite salsa! I also poured some over the cucumber slices. It’s hard for me not to be able to use any dressings or sugar!

Looking at this picture makes me want to vomit, but it was really delicious! I made a lean roast in the crockpot with some onions and celery, poured beef broth over–it was so tender and flavorful!

If you want to know the ugly truth, I’m eating about 500 calories a day.  Scary, I know.  But take comfort in knowing that as long as I’m taking the HCG, my body won’t go into starvation mode.  It’s opening up the highway to the abnormal fat and releasing it into my system.  I guess some of it’s just going straight out without being used because there is 3,500 calories in a pound of fat and to lose a pound a day would mean I was burning 4,000 (including the 500 I’m eating) and I know that’s not happening.  I used a calculator once to find out how much calories I burn in a day and it’s about 1500 (only if I sleep all day–I burn more if I move).  It’s kinda weird how the HCG bypasses our normal body functions but I’m down with it as long as I can get this weight off for good.

These meals are small and simple and I think they would get boring if I had a lot of weight to lose and would have to repeat this process more than once, but since I only have about 30 pounds to lose, it is likely that I will not have to repeat it and that makes me glad.  Fat be gone!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in HCG Drops, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The beginning of Phase II with HCG Drops

  1. Woah, this sounds like a strict diet! I don’t think I could survive this at all. Your small dinners look good. Thats a good Idea with the lettuce wraps, I often do that to avoid the breads. Good Luck with your weight lose……

    • Veronica says:

      It’s very strict and hard. So although it’s a shortcut, it’s definitely not easy. It takes some major dedication! Thanks, Cheryl.

  2. Suzie says:

    I agree the turkey wraps look good. 500 calories a day does sound crazy!! I would be starving. I hope the hunger feelings go away for you, keep up the good work! :) Oh yeah, no dressing makes me wanna’ cry…hee hee ;)

    • Veronica says:

      It’s a lot better today but it’s only 10 AM so we’ll see. I know, it’s so hard not to use dressings when I’m eating all this veg!

  3. Carla says:

    “Fruit and stuff”, huh? Well, normally I don’t get all absolutist or anything, but unless you’re fasting (for reasons other than losing weight), that amount of calories over a long period of time WILL do bad things to your body. Aside from the metabolic equation (which is a serious one), that kind of pattern can lead to heart damage.

    It simply is not possible to give your body all the nutrients it needs on a daily basis to function on 500 cals/day. Where is your protein coming from? Calcium? Fiber? Potassium? I don’t care what fruit you’re eating, it does not supply enough of any given nutrient to be a healthy way of eating long term.

    HUGS!

    • Veronica says:

      Carla, I’m not only eating fruit. Maybe the pics didn’t show up for you? I am only eating 500 cals a day, yes, which would be dangerous if not in conjunction with the HCG. I’m eating 8 oz of lean protein a day with generous amounts of vegetables and two servings of fruit. I understand your concern. I would be concerned too if our places were switched. If you want, I could email you the “Pounds and Inches” book which explains how HCG works.

  4. Heather says:

    Ugh. I’m just going to say it once and then leave you alone. :P I really don’t like this hgc 500 calories business. Yes, I watched the videos you posted. I’m not convinced it is healthy or safe. I am interested to see if you can keep off the weight you lose on this hgc crazy diet, since you should be losing pounds so rapidly. I know there have been studies showing it is much harder to keep weight off that you lose quickly, rather than slowly over time. Anyway, I’ll be happy when you are eating more once again and will gladly cheer you on!

  5. I am with Carla and Heather. Sorry V, but anyone can make a convincing video, it doesnt make it true. Making your weight fluctuate like that puts a lot of stress on your heart and seems like a lot of suffering for a little net loss.

    I have a LOT of experience with restrictive eating. Your experience thusfar is a lot like a starvation experience. The hunger will go away once your body doesnt expect food anymore. Your hormones with change and you will probably get euphoric after a while. You might have trouble sleeping and nightmares.

    Can you use vinegar? I love natural rice vinegar or apple cider vinegar on my salad with fresh herbs for flavor. Since you only get those 3 fruits, get creative! Try grilling them or broiling them. (MY favs? Grilled strawberries dusted with cocoa, broiled grapefruit halves, grilled apples as part of meat kebab or for dessert)

    I eat meat/pickle/mustard/romaine wraps as a snack a lot! See if you can find a natural variety if meat, the regular is loaded with chemical nasties!

    • Veronica says:

      Hi, Erin! I posted the video about how HCG works just for info and not to prove it works. I posted the videos of the gals who had success with it to prove it. I think it is a lot of suffering, but if it helps me get to my goal weight in a month, it will be worth it to me because I have been working on this for almost ten years now. It will be a relief to have it off. The trick will be keeping it off.

      It’s interesting what you said about the symptoms of starvation because they also are stated symptoms of the HCG hormone–no hunger and requiring less sleep. Eek! I would be worried except when I was eating 200-600 cals a day for three months the hunger never diminished one iota and my sleep was not affected. If I hadn’t had that experience, I think I would be more worried. Never got euphoric either, but that would have been nice. ;)

      Yes, vinegar is allowed. And lemons/juice. Thanks for the ideas!

      • yeah, I think the euphoria and lack of appetite comes when you body starts eating muscle mass for energy. I would love to see you get to your goal tomorrow, as long as you can keep it there. I fear when the diet and drops are done your body will freak out. I really hope your metabolism works like a champ!!!

        • Veronica says:

          That is certainly a possibilty. After you’re done with your drops, for a month you’re supposed to eat normal calories, but no starches or sugar in order to keep your weight within 2 lbs of your finishing weight. They are very adamant about this, saying it’s important to stay at that weight so that your hypothalimus can reset to it and it will be easier to stay there afterwards. I can see how people would want to pig out on junk food after this diet, but I’m going to do my best b/c I want this to be THE END. Wow, then this blog will end too! But that’s a good thing. I’m looking forward to its death b/c that means I’m no longer “going down” but “staying down.”

  6. Dennis Miller says:

    Of all the diets, fads, books, ebooks, exercises, chanting Hindu swamis, and various other tricks of weight loss I think I’m most excited about this one.

    It might not be the easiest (but anything worth while is not going to be all that easy) but its results do come in a steady stream.

    I know this is a goal you’ve had for a long time and now it’s within your reach!

    • Veronica says:

      LOL–I think I’ve tried most everything but maybe the chanting Hindu swamis are next if this doesn’t work. Luckily it’s working great so far and you’re right–the results is what makes it worth it. Thanks hon.

  7. JENNA LUPERTINO says:

    HI MY NAME IS JENNA AND I HAVE BEEN ON THE DIET FOR 11 DAYS AND HAVE LOST 11 LBS I’M TRYING TO LOOSE 60 LB. AND YOUR RIGHT THE FIRST DAY WAS SOOOO HARD BUT AFTER THAT I FELT THIS AMAZING ENERGY. I DIDN’T KNOW YOU COULD HAVE TURKEY OR MUSTARD THAT LOOKS SOO GOOD! I THINK YOU HAVE THE UP DATED BOOK :( WISH I DID, I HAVE BEEN ALTERNATING BETWEEN STEAK AND CHICKEN, IM NOT A HUGE FISH PERSON. MY FAVORITE IS THE CHICKEN SOUP OR THE STIR FRY AND I ADD A LITTLE SWEET DROPS TO THE BRAGGS AMENOS AND THEN IT TASTE LIKE TARRIYAKI YUM ! I ALSO COOK MY CABBAGE IN THE BROTH I MADE TO BUMP IT A NOTCH. I LOVE YOUR PICTURES THANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO DO SO IM GONNA TRY THE ROAST AND TURKEY WRAPS !

Comments are closed.