Week 13 ain’t unlucky

I lost a pound this week.  And I really have no idea how it happened. 
Are you one of those people that wonders what other people eat on a day-to-day basis?  Oh, you mean I’m the only one that’s weird like that?  Well, since I take pics of most everything I eat I thought I’d share some of what I ate this week, which will explain my amazement that I managed to lose anything.  You might want to grab the Kleenex because it’s kind of sad.  Or if you’re on a diet, you might cry tears of jealousy.

Fiesta Chicken and Cornbread. This stuff is loaded with whipping cream, butter, bacon AND bacon grease. But it's got vegges and LEAN chicken breast. So it's healthy.

 

Tomato Cheese Pie. This is healthy. Look, the tomato layer is almost thicker than the cheese layer!

I know it looks orange, but this is lemon chicken. It's healthy. Brown sugar is healthy, right? I mean, there's molasses in it. That's natural.

Hamburger Salad. You know. A bunless burger in salad form. LOVE.

I made two loaves of this incredible banana bread and only ate half of one. My restraint is amazing, no?

Chocolate Sparkle Cookies. Only ate six. Hey, they are mostly ground almonds and chocolate, both of which are healthy. Maybe these cookies were the key to my 1-lb loss. You think?

Butterbeer. Yeah. I drank cream soda mixed with homemade butterscotch syrup. Topped with butterscotch whipped cream. Ummm....sooo not healthy. Yeah. There's some butter in there. Among other unmentionables.

Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies. With cream cheese icing. Need I say more?

What’s not pictured?  A banana chocolate chip cake, hot dogs (hey, they were LIGHT, thank you very much), and lots of chicken salad kits.  You know, the $1 kind that come with crackers and a tiny spoon?  I eat those almost every day for lunch.  At this rate, I’ll never age because of all the preservatives those salad kits are giving me.

I’m counting this week as a fluke and am going to buckle down and keep the sweets under control (and the whipping cream, butter and brown sugar in my main courses) so I have a good week next week too.  A lot of times when I lose weight when I was counting on gaining, I get lazy since it worked for me the week before and then end up gaining it back, plus more.  Not gonna happen this time! 

_________________________________________________

On a side note, I know many of you were worried about the “diet” pills (they are actually herbal appetite suppressants, no added stimulants like real diet pills) so I wanted to let you know that I have been taking them all week to no ill effect so obviously the sudden illness was unrelated.  They aren’t curbing my appetite as much as I wanted them to (LOL–maybe that’s the understatement of the century), but that’s probably for the best because I don’t want to have to rely on pills to lose weight and if they were the only thing keeping me from gaining, then I’d gain it all back when I went off them.  I know I was misguided for buying them (I will never lose this unwarranted eternal hope that there really is a magic pill that will do all the work for me) but I’ve got this big bottle and I’m not going to dump them so hopefully they’ll help me a little in my journey before I move on and go it on my own.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Week 13 ain’t unlucky

  1. Girl, how in the world did you accomplish that and eating all that food?? Lol, the banana bread looks good. It doesn’t look like it done any sinking to me, atleast not that I can tell in your photo. I am making the bread this weekend. I have heard so much about it, that I have to try it out! Great post!

    • Veronica M says:

      Like I said, I think it’s a fluke. You’ve probably experienced it too–eating willy nilly all week, expect to gain, and suprise! You lose. The banana bread only sunk the tiniest bit and my second loaf did too. I wish it would rise in the middle for presentation’s sake but all I really care about is the taste and it def delivers. Hope you like the bread–Kim said she did.

  2. Dina Vogel says:

    Wow, I didn’t know what could have happened because that all looks supper healthy to me girl! I’m not on a diet and I’m still jealous :-)

    • Veronica M says:

      Actually it’s not too bad. My main meals were mostly healthy, except maybe that casserole lol, and I kept to reasonable sized-portions. Still, I dug into the sweets so it’s weird that I lost. Sorry I made you jealous! If I posted what I usually eat while dieting, you’d probably be crying tears of sympathy. Ha!

  3. Fran says:

    Hey Sweetie , i have to say your blog is funny, loving ,truthful Blog … I enjoy reading your blogs they give me a jump start with a starting of a happy day Thanks ~

  4. Veronica M says:

    Thanks, Fran. Have a great weekend! TGIF

  5. Suzie says:

    Your blogs always make me smile too, you have a wonderful sense of humor! :) I’m glad you lost while eating all that amazing food. The casserole looks soooo good…well, actually it all looks good. The lemon chicken looks fantastic too. I’ve been eating pretty much straight from the garden. Bruschetta on toasted french bread. Sweet corn and pickles…yeah, that’s been my lunch and dinner…weird huh? ;)

  6. Pop says:

    Congrats on the 1lb! Woot! I’m down 2 in the past 7 days, and am almost at the 190 mark! Let’s keep going down (and eat good food while we’re at it!)

  7. biz319 says:

    okay, out of everything I saw, pretty sure the cinnamon rolls are insulin worthy!!! Yum!

    Congrats on -1 :D Happy Friday!

  8. You stink if you’re eating all that and down a pound!! Just kidding, I just wish I was on that diet! Good for you, keep it up!

  9. Faith says:

    Nice job on your loss! The tomato pie looks incredible! I’ve been thinking of making one but I don’t know if I’ll get around to it before the summer is out!

    • Veronica says:

      I’d recommend pre-baking the crust. The pie only needs to bake 30 minutes, so my crust wasn’t done when the pie was. Ew!

  10. Ken says:

    These foods makes me ask you to adopt me. Will you feed me rest of my life?

Leave a Reply

