Week 12: Down again

It’s ironic that my byline is “Ending my weight loss roller coaster for good” because I’m still riding it, even on the way down!   

A lot of ups and downs!

 

But at least I have a definite downward trend.  Which includes this week–I lost the weight I gained last week, plus .2 lbs, so I’m down 3.2 lbs for the week and am sitting at 164.8.  I have to say I’m surprised I lost any weight at all since I ate half a dozen cookies three days in a row (I know, I know!), but I’m happy to see the numbers getting closer and closer to the 150’s.   

Mostly the reason I lost any weight was I got sick Tuesday night with a fever and didn’t eat much for 24 hours.  You wouldn’t think that would be enough to lose any significant amount of weight but I’m telling you, Tuesday morning I weighed 169 (eeps!) and by bedtime I weighed 165.6.  I guess it was all water that I gained because I was peeing a lot!  Having a fever makes me really thirsty so I guess drinking all that water allowed my body to also release the extra water it was holding onto from the junky things I’d been eating.  

OK, confession time.  I know, you were thinking that eating half a dozen cookies three nights in a row was quite a confession all in itself but this one actually embarrasses me more.   

I bought diet pills and they might have been what made me sick.  What embarrasses me is to admit to buying the pills because I’ve bought into so many “miracle pills” without much results that I should know better.  Anyway.  

I found some all-natural herbal appetite suppressants with no added caffeine or other boosters and that appealed to me, especially now while I’m baking every day for the fair contests, because one of the main things that hurts my weight loss efforts is my tremendous appetite.  I’ve been on diet pills that had appetite suppressants in them and I remember not feeling hungry at all, to the point where I almost didn’t want to eat anything.  I wanted to have that again so that I wouldn’t be as tempted by my baked goods.  I’m pretty much always hungry when I’m counting calories and that makes it very hard to resist these yummy treats I make.  

Well, the pills came in the mail (they’re called Hunger Strike) and I took one.  Thirty minutes later I was sick as a dog.  Fever, chills, headache, backache, stiff/sore neck/, cold hands and feet.  Perhaps it’s just coincidence that I took the pill right before getting sick but it’s mighty suspicious to me.   

I Googled my symptoms to see if I could figure out what kind of illness I’d come down with and of course they all fit with septicemia, which kills half the people who get it.  Do you think I freaked out?  Oh yes I did!  I kept Dennis up, piping up in bed with things like, “If I die tonight, will you tell everyone on MySpace and Facebook so they won’t wonder what happened?  Will you post my BSI blog on Sunday if I die tonight?  And don’t be stupid and spend a lot on my funeral–have me cremated.” (I’m way too practical to wish for an extravagant funeral and I for sure don’t want my hubby spending good money on having my useless dead body preserved for everyone to gawk at and take up good space in the ground while leaking out embalming chemicals into our water supply!)  Obviously I had more important last words but you get the gist of my mindset.  I wasn’t eager to kick the bucket but I was preparing to meet my Maker.   

Dennis agreed to everything and I could hear a smile in his voice every time he said “OK.”  He knew I was ridiculous and would be fine and of course he was right because I’m fine and dandy now.  The funny thing is, I keep wanting to take another Hunger Strike pill but since I’m afraid of getting sick again, I am eating really well so that I don’t have to.  So funny!  I keep thinking…”as long as I can keep my eating under control, I won’t have to take the pill and get sick again.”  It’s almost like the pill has become a threat to me–“don’t eat bad or I’m gonna get you!”  

So that’s my drama for this week.  OH, update on the pipe and the sewer flies!  It’s fixed and there are only a few pathetic, starving flies remaining.  YES!  Our friend, Joe, from church came over at 10 am last Saturday and didn’t leave until 6:30 but by then, we had a new pipe that didn’t leak.  Here the boys are at work:  

They replaced this pvc pipe too, that led into the crawlspace, with one that met with the sink in a different location so that the pipe could slant and prevent back up and build up. So glad we had Joe to help us out!

 

You gotta love a man that can do dirty work with a smile on his face!

 

And here’s our new, beautiful pipe!  

  

  

So happy!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Life, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Week 12: Down again

  1. Penny says:

    Congrats girl your doing an awesome job……Be careful with those diet pills i just read an article in a magazine about those diet pills they are very very dangerous…..So whens the fair ? Which categories are you entering…Just post the answer on my page i don’t get notices that you have replied too this being on a cell phone and all….Keep up the good work you can do it….When your doubting yourself you can always talk with a friend just put it all in Gods hands…..

    CONGRATS !

  2. Dennis Miller says:

    So, it’s like we both ‘went down’ this week – you in weight and me in the deep dark crawl space.

    I actually was worried but really didn’t think you were to the point of death, otherwise I’d have rushed you to the the ER. I’m glad I was right. :)

  3. Erin from Long Island says:

    Oh, V! Did you even read the ingredients on that shit?! Here’s why that stuff isnt good:
    There is no published scientific evidence that hoodia works as an appetite suppressant in humans. Even more alarming, people with diabetes should be cautious about using hoodia. One of the theories about how hoodia works is that it tricks the brain into thinking that it has enough blood sugar. Without proper feedback regulation, it’s possible that a person’s blood sugar could drop dangerously low while taking hoodia. And with the regular hunger mechanism turned off, the normal warning signs may be suppressed, until it’s too late.

    As Hoodia gordonii is a species threatened with extinction if international trade is not monitored, it is listed under CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) and is illegal to export from Africa without a CITES certificate being issued by proper authorities.

    In the USA, the Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and United States Customs and Border Protection (part of the Department of Homeland Security) regulate the importation and re-exportation of species such as Hoodia gordonii. Current U.S. laws stipulate that not only must a CITES certificate accompany shipments of Hoodia gordonii but that the importers must possess a permit issued by the USDA to import Terrestrial Plants. a CITES re-export certificate is needed to re-export H. gordonii. In addition to looking for a copy of a CITES and USDA permit from a manufacturer of “Hoodia” products a consumer should also look for a report from an independent testing lab which has conducted scientific analysis on the product in question, testifying that they have been able to authenticate the presence of Hoodia gordonii. Otherwise, it might be fake!

    Blood sugar levels may drop in people taking garcinia cambogia. Therefore, patients who are diabetic or hypoglycemic, or people taking other drugs or supplements that are known to affect blood sugar, are urged to use caution when taking garcinia cambogia. I dont think it is what made you sick, but it sounds like something you should avoid!

    Although a fair number of people have experienced weight loss when using Cha de Bugre, it is certainly not suitable for long term use due to its potent stimulant qualities. It is also not suitable for those who have any kind of heart problem or who have high blood pressure. There is also a lack of controlled clinical trials regarding the safety and efficacy of Cha de Bugre as an ingredient in weight loss products. There is no clinical evidence that Cha de Bugre is completely safe or that it is superior to other weight loss ingredients on the market. A Japanese university however has discovered some new uses for chá de bugre. In 1990, they demonstrated that a leaf extract reduced herpes virus penetration by 99% when they pre-treated cells with the extract. In 1994, they demonstrated that the Herpes virus yield was reduced by 33% with as little as 0.25 mcg/ml and also discovered that it had toxic activity against cancer cells (demonstrating a 40% inhibition) utilizing an extract of the branches and leaves. Then in 1997, research with rabbits and guinea pigs validated the traditional use of the plant as a heart tonic when they reported cardiotonic and increased cardiovascular actions using a leaf extract. Again, not likely what caused your illness

  4. Girl, Don’t take diet pills like that! It’s bad for you! I am glad you are o.k. Do it all naturally. Thank goodness you are fine. I am glad you got your pipe fixed. The guys were awesome. I admire your dedication on what you do. I could just hear Dennis smurking when you were telling him about what to do if you had died. It’s funny you were serious and he knew everything would be just fine. He’s such a good guy! Great blog! :) P.S. Next time call on advice from friends before taking stuff like that! I have a funny feeling that if you had did that you would have decided against taking those pills, Because I would of been the first one to comment about “NOT” doing it!!! :) Glad you are fine :)

  5. Suzie says:

    It’s looking like you should throw those pills away from the above comments V! I really don’t know what’s in them but, you said they were all natural so I don’t know how harmful that could be. Anywho, good job on continuing to lose weight :) I’m happy for you. I’m also glad to hear your fly problem is gone and the pipe is fixed. Joe is an awesome friend! Your blurb about when you were sick and the things you were saying to Dennis had me rolling! I’m sure you were serious at the time but, seeing it in writing really is funny ;) Keep up the good work!

  6. Carla says:

    V!!! Glad your okay and glad your pipe is fixed and those nasty little critters are gone! Good grief, don’t take anymore of those pills…

  7. Veronica says:

    Thanks everyone for your concern. I now know for sure that the pills didn’t cause my illness–I’m taking them again with no bad effects. Sorry, Erin, all those warnings do not bother me in the least, but I do appreciate all those facts. I wouldn’t call these pills “bad” based off of your info. I knew that a lot of hoodia is fake and I’ve bought the certified stuff that Good Housekeeping approved of and even that didn’t have an effect on my appetite. I didn’t buy these pills for the hoodia but for the overall effect of the three herbs combined. I can very much feel when my blood sugar is low–that has not been affected at all. Plus I check it every two hours so the chance of it sending me too low is pretty small. I do not plan to buy another bottle of this stuff once its gone, but I’m going to take it for now b/c I paid for it. I’m not sure if it’s doing any good but darn it, I am not throwing it out. I paid money I shouldn’t have for it (made my bed) and I’m going to take them (and now I have to lay in it).

  8. Faith says:

    Congrats on your weight loss, you’re doing a phenomenal job! Please don’t take those pills anymore — that was really scary! If you want a natural appetite suppressant try taking 1 tsp of raw, organic apple cider vinegar diluted in 1 glass of water in the morning. (It also helps to regulate blood sugar!)

  9. Faith says:

    I forgot to say though — you may want to check with your doc before starting the apple cider vinegar just to make sure it’s ok for you.

  10. Pingback: Week 13 ain’t unlucky | Going Down

  11. Pingback: Randomishness « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

