Week 9 Weigh-In & Waking with a low

This morning I remember having strange & vivid dreams and suddenly Dennis was shaking me and asking questions I didn’t understand, then he stabbed my finger to check my blood sugar.  It has taken him a while to get used to it, since I’ve only been sleeping through low blood sugars for the past couple years (they used to wake me up and I could treat myself), but he now knows that I’m probably suffering from hypoglycemia when I have absolutely no response to the alarm and it’s nearly impossible to shake me awake.  This morning was the best he’s ever handled the situation and as always, I am grateful to and for him. 

He poked the heck out of my poor finger, which helped wake me up, and when he saw that my blood sugar was 43 (normal is about 100), he brought me a nectarine and made me eat it.  I was a good girl for once and ate it without argument.  In the past I have been completely incoherent to the point where I refused to eat or drink anything and once actually threw a cookie back at him and when he put it in my mouth, I spit it out!  I can be completely insane when my blood sugar is low.  (Yes, I’d say spitting out a perfectly good cookie equates to insanity!)  Though he’d probably tell you I’m always crazy. :)

So when I stepped on the scale this morning, my mind was a bit fuddled and I had to weigh myself like 6 times to make sure I was doing it right (we have an electronic scale and weighing on it is a bit more complicated than just stepping on).  I wasn’t surprised to see I’d gained .6 pounds since it’s that time of the month, but I actually was surprised to see I didn’t gain more.  Usually I gain 2-6 pounds of water weight (which works wonders for the cleavage–lol) the week before my cycle starts so I’m almost positive that the diminished gain means I actually did lose fat this week.  I wrote down everything I ate and kept to under 1,500 calories every day without cheating once, but if I did lose, it probably won’t show up until next week or the week after.  The key will be staying on track while I wait for the bloating to dissipate so that I can see a big loss once it’s gone. 

Next week will be my 10th week “going down” and I would love to report a 10-pound loss with an updated photo, so I’m going to do my best and even work out this week!  I haven’t exercised since we went on vacation–it’s ridonkulous.

Goals for this week:

*Plan each meal and each sweet I eat so that I don’t go overboard
*Write everything I eat in my food journal.
*Do 30 minutes of cardio (or more) on Saturday, Monday, and Wednesday and strength training on Friday, Sunday, and Tuesday.
*Keep blood sugars under 140.
*Lose 2.6 pounds (at least-and that includes water so don’t freak out that I set a goal over 2 lb) so that I can report ten pounds on my tenth weigh-in!
*Pray to God for help & thank Him for every success.

P.S. If you have no idea what that meter at the top is all about, here’s a video of me using it.  I’m actually talking to someone who I sent an extra blood sugar meter to, to teach her how to use it, so it’s kind of educational.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Diabetes Related, Goals, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Week 9 Weigh-In & Waking with a low

  1. Dennis Miller says:

    I finally figured out that when your low there is absolutely no reasoning with you (which is a little bit different when you are normal and there is very little reasoning with you). So now I just stick your finger and let the meter do the arguing.

  2. Faith says:

    That sounds really scary! I’m glad you’re ok (and I’m glad you ate the nectarine!) :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Faith. I’ve only been scared by a low once when I was completely paralyzed and couldn’t even speak. That was the worst but the others I can live with. I guess you kind of get used to things, even bad things, if you have to deal with them on a weekly basis.

  3. Wow, scary! Yay for Dennis taking control!

    Great goals for the week! You can do it!

  4. biz319 says:

    Hooray for Dennis! Yep, scary to be that low in the morning.

    Do you check you blood sugar at night before going to bed? Typically whatever my blood sugar at night is, is what it is in the morning. Last night before bed it was 121 – this morning it was 115.

    Also, do you take Lantus at night?

    I am the meanest person you’ll ever meet when my blood sugar is low!

    • Veronica says:

      I usually check b4 bed but I didn’t that night. I usually drop at least 50 points during the night so I try to have my blood sugar at least at 150 when I go to sleep. I take Lantus in the morning. I used to take it at night and had lows so often during the night that I switched and that seems to have helped but it could just be I finally realized how much it drops in the night and started keeping it higher or having a snack b4 bed. I know, I can be terrible when I’m low.

  5. Low blood sugar is so difficult. Dennis is a good husband to understand. You are so blessed to have each other!

    Hang in there. This is for the long haul and little bumps happen! You can do it.

    • Veronica says:

      I don’t know how many men would put up with me, honestly. He’s a good man and yes, a great blessing. I try to be to him as well, but I’m pretty sure I got the better deal when we married. :)

  6. What a great husband!! How scary that must be. I’ve never gone through that at all.

    Hope the 10 lbs. works for you!! I’ve been totally going the wrong direction!

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Debbi–I think he’s pretty great, too. Well, I kind of self-sabotaged during the first half of the week and would like to blame it on hormones but nonetheless, I made some poor choices and I’m not sure I’ll make it to the 10 pound mark but at least I’m showing a small loss so far.

Leave a Reply

