Week 8 Weigh-In and Month 2 Wrap-Up

I didn’t lose or gain anything this week–I stayed right at 167.  So today I started planning & tracking what I eat, which is kind of a drag but it’s the one thing that has always worked for me (and is also reportedly what works for most people trying to lose weight).  Also, after being a diabetic for 9 years, I finally attended the diabetes education classes this week and found out that I’ve been doing it wrong all these years.  It’s important for a diabetic to plan and track their meals so they know what they need to change when the blood sugars go wonky (too high or low).  All this time I’ve eaten what I’ve wanted and guessed at how much insulin to take and have dealt with many highs and lows as a result.  I want to keep them as normal as possible, and this method of always eating the same amount of calories for each meal, making the meal half carbs, and taking the same amount of insulin seems a perfect (and kinda obvious) solution.  

So an old diabetic can learn new tricks! ;) 

I'm using a points system that is unique to Kansas and not to be confused with Weight Watchers. Basically every 75 cals is a point.

So do you know what five pounds of fat looks like?  Our teacher, or perhaps it was the nutritionist, held up a model that surprised me.  I captured this image off of a youtube video–check it out:

She’s holding the same model our teacher held up. I couldn’t believe how much space 5 pounds of fat takes up! So that made me feel good about losing 8 pounds. No wonder my jeans are fitting better. Of course, we lose fat evenly from all over our body, not in one spot at a time, which is why 5 pounds doesn’t seem to make a huge difference. But it is a pretty big deal, huh!  And it’s a good thing we don’t lose weight in one spot at a time, otherwise we’d see people with one tiny deflated butt cheek and one huge one!

OK, so here’s my current progress charts:

I'm just a tiny bit above my goal line, so I need to kick it into gear.

My BMI has gone down 1.4 points total.

I’m still feeling good about my progress, and excited to finally have a permanent handle on my blood sugars.  I have to tell you, today was the first day of this meal plan thing and my blood sugar hasn’t been over 100 all day!  When I’ve checked, it’s been 90, 92, and 100.  I likes!!!  That’s like crazy normal.  I know that’s usually an oxymoron, but in my world, crazy is normal. ;)

And I’ll leave you with some pics of the baby shower cake I made, courtesy of Becky Boyd, Stamp of Life Photography, who was in attendance and gracious enough to share the photos with me.  (Don’t judge her by the first photo, that one is obviously mine.)  It was my first square cake, which made me nervous because I’ve never been good at icing cakes with corners and this one had to be pretty precise to look like a gift, but I’m satisfied with the way it turned out, even if the colors were a bit brighter than I intended.  I’m so happy I didn’t drop it or put my foot through it!  I have redeemed myself somewhat.


White chocolate cake with raspberry filling and white chocolate cream cheese buttercream. I basically followed this recipe and used homemade marshmallow fondant (this fondant actually tastes good, unlike the Wilton stuff you get at the store) for the bow & polka dots.


The gorgeous Mama-to-be, Liz, with her cake.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Diabetes Related, Monthly Progress, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Week 8 Weigh-In and Month 2 Wrap-Up

  1. I am glad you are getting more responsible with your eating. I am certain this will at least keep you from suffering highs and lows like you did.

    The cake looks fantastic! I love how the fondant looks on it, you have such a talent!

    • Veronica says:

      Erin, wordpress must hate you b/c every comment you leave goes to spam! I just now found this one, thus the delay in replying. Thank you so much for the encouragement. :)

  2. Pop says:

    Tracking is a drag, but it does work. And ugh! Can’t believe how much space 5lbs takes up.

    And your cake looks AMAZING! Good job!

    • Veronica says:

      I’ve done it before, and if I really am honest and track everything, that has been what’s worked the best in the past so I’m looking forward to not only seeing my blood sugars even out but some more weight falling off too! Thanks, Pop.

  3. Suzie says:

    I’m glad you went to that class and learned how to better control your insulin. Good for you! That must be huge relief. Yikes! That 5 pounds of fat is crazy. I would have never guessed it to look like that…;P The cake is gorgeous, I’m glad you are still doing them :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Suzie. I’m excited about having a plan to keep them under control. Yeah, still doing cakes…for now.

  4. cheryl says:

    Wow, I had no idea about how much fat is 5 pounds!! Gee, I should really pat myself on the back i dropped 30 pounds!! ( so i lost 6 of those jokers ) But, I still have a long way to go before i hit my goal weight! Veronica, don’t worry one time i went almost 1 month and didn’t lose or gain. I think it is like your body is taking a break from dieting…Lol…you will soon pick up the pace again really soon. The cake looks awesome like always. Nice post! :)

    • Veronica says:

      You go girl! I bet you’ve lost several sizes and are feeling so much better! How much more do you have to lose to reach your goal? Do you have any before/after pics? I will be posting a progress photo as soon as I lose 10 lb–I think I’ll put a new photo for every 10.

  5. cheryl says:

    Oh yeah, congrads on controlling your insulin….

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks! I’m excited to get my blood sugars completely stable b/c I want to prevent complications later on. Don’t wanna get my legs amputated like great-grandma!

  6. Wow, that’s a lot of fat. I’ll think about that next time I lose 5 lbs.

    The cake is adorable!! You did a great job!

  7. Dennis Miller says:

    Yes, living is a little harder than most people want to admit. There is an old truth, if you don’t handle your life, your life will handle you.

    As long as you just go on through life, eating – sleeping – working – being entertained – etc. then one will probably end up in a bad situation (kind of like being in a car without your hands on the wheel).

    Most people learn what it really takes to get their life to behave when they try to lose weight or have a disease like Diabetes —- then it’s like “crap this living stuff is kind of hard.” But those are the people who make to most out of their lives. I believe you to be one of those rate beings.

    • Veronica M says:

      I LOVE YOU! You are wonderful and I love the wisdom here in these few short sentences. And I think the main factor in working through life & getting our lives to “behave” (love that you worded it like that–LOL) is not doing it alone. I mean walking with God, first and foremost, and secondly, having a best friend that you can count on to support you and whip you into shape when you need it. Thanks for being there for me.

  8. sophia says:

    Oh Veronica! The cake is GORGEOUS!!!! I knew you’d do a wonderful job!

    Ah, but what took you so long to attend a diabetics education class? And aw, what your husband (Dennis, right?) said to you was ultra sweet.

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you Miss Sophia! Well, our insurance didn’t cover the diabetes education classes and we just recently got good insurance and at first I wasn’t going to take them since I’ve been a diabetic so long but since I’ve never been as in control as I’ve wanted to be and am now sleeping through my low blood sugars that occur during the night(which can be very dangerous), I figured it couldn’t hurt. I’m glad I went–it’s helped a lot. And yes, Dennis is a sweetie. He has to be to put up with me–lol.

Leave a Reply

