Week 7 Weigh In Results

I have gotten into a habit of being late on my Thursday weigh-in postings!  Well, I have good news.  The 2 pound loss stuck!  Yes!  I’m excited that I only have to lose 2 more to make the 10 pound mark.  Seems like it’s taken forever!

Here’s the weird thing about my weight loss the last couple weeks.  I haven’t been counting calories.  I’ve just been trying to make good choices and not snack and it’s working.  I started doing that last week while working on the wedding cake because I didn’t have time to log on to Sparkpeople to track my calories and since it worked that week, I kept it up and it’s still working.  I might just do this unless it stops working.  I like to eat intuitively like this but in the past, I’ve never been able to trust myself enough.  It’s kinda nice to trust yourself, don’t you think? :)

Anyway, thought I’d mention the reason I was too busy to post yesterday.  I’m working on a baby shower cake.  After last week’s debacle, I’m more nervous than I’ve ever been about just a regular small cake but I know that once I pull it off (I can do all things through him who strengthens me), my confidence will be restored. 

I’m off early today–I volunteered since I’m sleep deprived and am in need of half a day’s rest, but I’m so anxious to finish the cake that I doubt I’ll be able to.  But I’m going to try.

It must be the food blogger in me, but I hate to leave you without any pics.  So here’s some of the baby shower cakes I did in the past.

My first baby shower cake and first "paid for" cake. It was a full sheet cake and weighed like 40 pounds!

And here’s a hilarious video of me making the middle cake:

Hope you had fun! Catch you back here next Thursday!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Videos, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Week 7 Weigh In Results

  1. Pop says:

    Congrats on the 2lbs staying off! Good luck with the cake. The other cakes look AMAZING! :-) Have a blessed weekend!

  2. Katerina says:

    Love the video! haha.. I laughed. You did such a great job on it! Pooh looks adorable. Dennis is so nice for helping out!

    Love you both, Katerina

  3. Heather says:

    Congrats! I think it’s awesome that you don’t have to be obsessed with counting calories to lose weight. It worked for me. Keep up the good work!!

    • Veronica M says:

      I’ve tried it before, and it always ended in weight gain. It’s different now. For some reason I’m not craving junk like I used to. I likes it! Thanks, Heather.

  4. cheryl says:

    Hi Veronica! I never count calories either….it’s just better that way for me to. Girl, I know i seen that video before…but after watching it a second time, I feel so sorry for poor Dennis…Lol….He looks like he catches pure heck with you sometimes when you are frustrated making cakes….Lol …I bet he says every time you commit yourself to making a cake ” Oh Gee, here we go again ” ….He looks like a good sport though….poor fella! :) Great post! :)

    • Veronica M says:

      You’re right, I need to take a chill pill and catch my tongue before it flies b/c Dennis doesn’t deserve the stress! I promise I wasn’t cursing at him in the vid, I said “I took off all the cake! Put it down, put it down!” referring to the cake he was holding. And then when I was ranting after that, it wasn’t to him, just about the whole mess. But he was there to hear it! You’re right, he is a good sport. I think most men would have started making sure they were out on the nights I had to make cake. Ha!

  5. Good for you on eating, glad the weight stuck and is still coming off. The cakes are cute! At least you had help!

  6. Penny says:

    Hey girl congrats ! I’m still loosing but something i’ve noticed is the older i’m getting the less cravings i have and theres times i don’t want anything.. Wierd huh I know you will continue with great succes and also i found when i’ve done logs of calories or what i’ve ate that day it just stresses me out and i eat more under stress….Keep up the good work and i love the cakes ! Oh did i mention i got a order for 100 of my cupcakes a month or so ago it was a great success and from there i have another for 50 for a baby shower i’m really excited about that..Ok i need too stop rattling on have a great weekend sweet friend * Hugs *

    • Veronica M says:

      Well, I’m glad to hear you have less cravings! That’s great. I’ve been experiencing that too but I hope that doesn’t mean I’m getting old! ;) I do the same thing, if I overeat, I usually eat a ton just because I’m mad at myself or just because “it’s too late so I may as well.” Good job on the cupcakes! That’s exciting!!! Thanks for stopping in, Penny, great to hear from you. XO

  7. How awesome are you?! Not counting calories is a much better way to go if you can, makes weightloss feel much less like a chore. I cant wait to see how the new cake turns out, I know it will be great!

    • Veronica M says:

      Yes, I like it much better! I am done with the cake now and I (kind of) like it. I have problems with making colors too bright and those that are supposed to be pastel usually turn bright neon. I will include pics on the next post.

  8. Suzie says:

    2 lbs. is excellent!! Congrats to you darlin’!!! I’m soooo happy for you :) I love the video at the end.,,, so fun and cute. I may be asking for some tips ;) Your cakes are adorable too, I knew you couldn’t stay away from them ;)

    • Veronica M says:

      Suzie. I have so much emotion I don’t know what to say. I just realize how kind you are to take time to leave me a happy comment when your mind has been so preoccupied with unhappy things. It means a lot to me. Thank you. As far as the cakes go, I never swore them off completely. Not sure if I could, though I’ve been tempted lately. For now, though, it’s just the wedding cakes I’m steering clear of. I finished the cake and am sorta happy with it. More the idea than the actual result b/c it’s not the colors I planned–too bright–but I’m still happy b/c it’s a square cake and I’ve been too scared to do a square cake until now. The sides are so hard to get straight on corners. It’s not perfect, but a lot better than I thought I could do. Go me! ;)

  9. Carla says:

    V,
    They are ALL beautiful cakes. As far as your diet, WAY TO GO. I could never count calories….I’ve just been cutting back on my intake and walking…A LOT! I’ve lost about 8 lbs., in 3 wks. Benny has lost almost 20 lbs….he’s mostly sweating his off at work this summer…ewwwwwwww! llol
    Oh yeah, almost forgot. When you fall off a bike what do you do? YOU GET BACK UP ON IT AND TRY IT AGAIN!!! Don’t let that one mishap stop you.
    Hugs

    • Veronica M says:

      Counting calories is a major drag and I hope that I can keep eating intuitively so I don’t have to start it up again. GREAT JOB on yours and Benny’s weight loss. That is incredible! You know I wouldn’t let the mishap stop me–I’m back making cakes just one week later! And I have two more this month. I did the cake and that helped, although I guess my confidence was shaken more than I realized b/c thinking of future cakes, I still have this doubt that I can do a good job. It’ll disappate eventually, though.

  10. sophia says:

    WONDERFUL, Veronica!!! That’s just so awesome that you’re already 80% there to your mark! You’ve got some great dedication! And looking at your previous shower cakes…I’m sure you’ll do a wonderful job. Forget that previous debacle…that will not happen this time! You rock it!

    • Veronica M says:

      Thank you Sophia! My goal is actually to lose 35 pounds so I’m quite a bit shy of 80% (lol) but I AM looking forward to getting the first ten off. I did pretty good with the cake. Not great colors, but OK overall.

  11. Faith says:

    Intuitive eating is the way to go! ;) Sounds like you’re doing great!

  12. biz319 says:

    Holy cow, I was laughing so hard watching this! The look on your face before flipping the cake is priceless! You are too cute!

    Thank you for telling me about Google Docs – love it!!

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Biz! And I’m glad that Google Docs will work for you. Melanie from My Kitchen Cafe is the one that told me–I love using it as well.

  13. This site is awesome. I just got some nice ideas for my sisters baby shower. Thanks Veronica!

  14. Ken says:

    I enjoyed watching your movie very much. It’s fun and made me feel like being there. Thank you for posting it!

    • Veronica says:

      Bet you are glad you weren’t here though–hahaha. I’m such a drama Queen–every mishap is like 9-11 to me. I’m ridonkulous. Glad you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

