Week 4 Weigh-in and 1st Month Wrap-up

2 pounds.  Not lost.  Gained. 

When I ballooned up to more than my starting weight mid-week (went from 168 to 176!), I was prepared for a gain, but that doesn’t mean I’m not disappointed.  Well, I am relieved that at least it’s not a 9 pound gain.  Sheesh!  Since I can tell by the way my boobs are still popping out of my bra (which last week was getting too big) that I’m still bloated, I’m going to blame it partially on water retention but assume that some of it may be fat because I didn’t keep a close eye on my calories like I had in weeks prior.  I’m pretty sure I stuck to 1500 a day, except for Tuesday when I went berserk & probably ate closer to 2000, so hopefully I didn’t gain much actual fat and my weight will plummet next week once I pee out all this water and journal the food I eat so I don’t overdo it.

One thing I dropped out is prayer.  Not that I’ve stopped praying, but I did stop asking God for help with my food choices.  So I will have to put myself on my own prayer list so I don’t forget.  I am so much weaker without His help!

This week will be interesting because I’ll be really distracted with getting ready to go on vacation and then for 4 days of it I actually will be on vacation (M-Th).  However, since we are staying in a cabin with its own kitchen, I can plan what we are going to eat and we won’t be able to eat anything I don’t bring so it will be quite easy to stay on track while away.  Not that I don’t fully intend to have a s’more while we’re there.  It just wouldn’t be prudent to leave out the s’mores and hot dogs (light hot dogs, that is–tee hee) when we’ll be cooking nearly all meals on a grill.  And I’m gonna bring my scale so I can weigh-in Thursday morning.  We will be back Thurs night so I’ll try to post the results that night but might be delayed by a day, depending on how late we get back.

So all in all, I’m ending the first month of my “Going Down” with a 4.4 pound loss, going from 175 to 170.6.  I hope to do better next month.  Scratch that, I will do better next month!

Successes this week:
Um……..I guess you can kind of count the 1 hour of cardio and single strength training session a success.  Nevermind.  I don’t have any.  Wow, I need to get on the ball!

Successes this month:
I went from a BMI of  30.1 to 29.2, so now I’m no longer obese, just at the high-end of overweight. Still, that’s something!

I am exactly on track for getting to my goal of 140 pounds by January. This chart from sparkpeople shows where I should be each week to make that goal and even though I gained this week, I lost more than I had to in previous weeks so I’m right on track.

Goals for next week:
Drink tons of water!
Journal meals & keep calories between 1200-1500.
Plan our vacation meals so I can stay on track while we’re gone.
Swim & hike my butt off.
Pray for guidance & strength.
Have fun!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Monthly Progress, Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Week 4 Weigh-in and 1st Month Wrap-up

  1. cheryl says:

    Veronica, you are doing great. I am sure you will stay on track this week coming up. Just get out there and enjoy your vacation, throw in some physical activity and watch what you eat, you will see a difference in the scale thursday. Have fun girl. Looking forward to next weeks post! :)

    • Veronica M says:

      That’s my plan, girl! Congrats on your loss this week, even if it isn’t as much as you hoped. I think next week you’ll drop more than usual b/c I noticed sometimes that happens–you’ll stay on track and the scale doens’t move much but really moves the next week if you keep up your efforts. We will rock the weight loss next week, girl!

  2. Faith says:

    I think you’re doing an amazing job. You’re working so hard…you should be very proud of yourself! (And yay — have fun on vacation!)

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you Faith, you’re right. I should be proud of how much I’ve accomplished this month and now that I think about it, I guess I am!

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks Debbi! You are doing good too and now that you’re back from vacation it will be easier for you to keep track of what you’re eating. We will rock the weigh-in this week!

  3. Carla says:

    Enjoy your vacation V. I’m sure with all the swimming and hiking your going to drop a few lbs. Can’t wait to see the pics.

  4. Suzie says:

    You’re right on track! I’m sure some weeks will be more difficult than others and like you said, it could have been worse. You are still doing great in my book! :) Have a very enjoyable vacation, with the swimming and hiking you will probably by pleasantly surprised on Thursday :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you, Suzi. Your support is uplifting. I really hope for a big loss this week too, to make up for gaining this week. We’ll see! I’m going to do everything I can to make it happen.

  5. Dennis Miller says:

    So, even though your weight didn’t go down as much as you wanted, your attitude kept in an upward trend. That, and God’s help, will go a long way to help you meet your ultimate goal.

  6. biz319 says:

    Hope you are enjoying your vacation!! Get lots of walking in and you’ll do fine this week! :D

Leave a Reply

