Week 3 Weigh-In Results

Woo-hoo! I lost 2 lbs this week, baby!  Either this or the rare coffee I had this morning, probably both, has kept me so hyper & in such a good mood all day that I think my co-workers were starting to wish there was a mute button on me.  I’m laughing so loud and it’s like I’m vibrating on the inside!  I’m now in the 160’s–168.6 to be exact. So far, a total loss of 6.4 pounds.

This is the first week I’ve really noticed a difference in how I look.  My stomach is starting to get flatter and I’m looking forward to the day when I don’t have to stretch my jeans to button them.  Almost there!  Isn’t it sad that even my fat pants don’t fit, still, after 3 weeks of dieting?! You can imagine how tightly I had them stretched before I started.  It was actually kind of obscene (giggling uncontrollably–I tell you–I’m just giddy).  I’m also looking forward to my rings fitting again! My wedding ring was loose before I started gaining weight last fall but now it’s tight.  Less tight than it was three weeks ago, but still tight.

OK, successes this week:

~2 lbs lost (just in case you didn’t catch that in the first sentence!)
~1 1/2 hours of cardio (power-walking)
~2 strength training sessions
~Had a big piece of pie and managed to balance my next meal so that I didn’t go over my calorie limit for the day (woo-hoo for having pie on a diet!)
~Had a country fried steak with mashed potatoes & gravy with a biscuit, DID go over my calories for the day by several hundred but didn’t give myself a guilt trip and moved on. (woo-hoo for country fried steak on a diet–tee hee hee!)
~Average blood sugar 120!

Goals for next week:
~Count calories daily, keep to between 1200-1500
~3 cardio sessions (1 1/2-3 hours total)
~3 strength-training sessions
~Keep blood sugar under 150.

And I don’t know why I’ve failed to mention it so far, but I joined Biz’s 101 Days of Summer Challenge.

Biz’s blog is Biggest Diabetic Loser, and it’s a favorite because she’s a fellow insulin-dependent diabetic striving to lose weight while keeping her blood sugar normal. She decided to challenge herself to lose weight during the 101 days of summer (Memorial Day through Labor Day) since she’s been on a plateau and she decided to have her buds join her! I’m one of the 50 participating, and if you’re interested, you can keep up with everyone’s weekly progress here.

Thanks for reading and thanks for your support! Peace out! :D

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Week 3 Weigh-In Results

  1. junecutie says:

    Woohoo! You go girl! You’ve taken at least 6 giant steps toward where you want to be. And you didn’t starve yourself and wind up feeling deprived. I am really enjoying reading about your journey toward total wellness. Keep going. I know I’ve never met you, but I feel so proud of you, anyway. I’m sending you much love and many blessings.

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you for telling me we’d never met b/c I was really trying to remember who you are after your first comment on this blog! I thought surely you knew me to be that sweet and personable but I couldn’t ask! Thank you so much for your support and encouragement–it keeps me going. :)

  2. Kelly says:

    HEY GOOD FOR YOU SWEET PEA. KEEP IT UP BC ITS SOOOOOO WORTH IT!

  3. Dewey Benson says:

    Very good my dear V you are doing quite well… and now for a word on chicken fried steak… LOL! (not our sponser!)

    Generally the amount of sodium in a chicken fried steak meal is harder on you than the caloric intake.. Salt can cause one to retain water… But having said that: You already know that I am a proponent of eating all different styles of food. I think that portion control is as important as what you are eating. Eat all different things (including that Chickee fried) and not too much of any one thing…. You are going to be just fine and you are going to be able to enjoy all foods.
    Yours
    Dewey

    • Veronica says:

      Aha! I bet the sodium from that meal was one of the reasons I was showing a weight gain for several days. Once I cut back on the salt and upped the water intake, I immediately showed a loss the next day. But I was pretty suprised at the 2 pound loss the scale registered this morning! I’ll take it! And I agree, eating all different foods is a good idea–I think a lot of people on reduced calorie diets get stuck in a rut and don’t eat ANYTHING unhealthy but I think that is a little unhealthy in itself (unless they’re superhuman and don’t feel deprived at all). All that behavior warranted me in the past was a lot of binge eating and regaining the weight. I’m gonna be a little smarter this time. :)

  4. cheryl says:

    Hot Dog!!!! Great job Veronica! We are actually neck to neck this week 2 lbs! Wow!! I lost 2 as well, remember my weigh in is Thursdays as well. Good going on the power walking, it does wonders. That itself keeps the weight off. I am so excited for you! I like your mentality…. especially eating something your not suppose to then you get right back up and go again. Girlie, you are in the right mindset! Congrads!! Keep up the good work. Did you try the natural diuretic drink yet? That will possibly shed 4-5 more pounds for you. (water weight) Don’t you feel so much better? Congrads on the weight loss! Keep up the good work!!! And always remember we are watching!! :)

    • Veronica says:

      You don’t know HOW HAPPY IT MAKES ME THAT YOU LOST TWO POUNDS TOOO! I feel like I have a dieting sister or something. :) Your success inspires me to keep up my own efforts. I love it. No, I haven’t tried that drink–I do my grocery shopping on Saturday and plan to track down some of that dandelion root tea when I do. Thanks again for that recipe.

  5. Sarah says:

    Good work Veronica! I’m proud of you. I have been avoiding the scale recently…Maybe I need to take a hint from you!

    • Veronica M says:

      Girl, I know how hard it can be to actually get started on a healthier path but once you’re on it, you will feel so much better–I guarantee it! So jump on the wagon and be another of my “diet sisters!” :)

  6. Nice job! 2 lbs. rocks! Keep it up!

  7. Suzie says:

    Woohoo!! Good for you Veronica…2 lbs. way to go :) I was laughing about the “fat pants” because I know exactly what you mean…tee hee! ;) I love that you’re so excited and enthusiastic, keep up the good work my friend!

  8. Faith says:

    Congratulations!!! You’re doing amazing!

  9. Dennis Miller says:

    Good work!
    The more you do, the less of you there will be. :)

Leave a Reply

