If I were a dinosaur…

I’d be a “Veronica-sore-ass.”  I’ve only done two strength training sessions and one cardio and I’m so sore!  No pain, no gain, right?  I will be doing another cardio tomorrow, which will bring my total for both only up to two sessions each, which doesn’t make my goal of three, but I’m getting there.

For the cardio, Dennis and I took a power walk together (you know, the kind where you walk really fast and swing your arms all exageratedly? So embarrassing.) along the river and I am kicking myself for not bringing my camera because we came across a huge group of adult geese with their goslings.  There were probably ten adults and over twenty babies.  It was so precious!  They were all standing along the river bank, and the babies were pecking around in the grass while the adults watched over them.  It was a little scary passing by, though, because the geese were hissing at us and I just knew that they were about to come after me and clamp down on my bare leg.

For strength training, I’ve been using the exercises that Sparkpeople gives me on my “fitness” page. I love their site–it’s free and I use it to track my calories, calculate the calories in the recipes I make, and track my excercise.  There are also message boards and you have the option to set up your own page, just like on MySpace, and you can “friend” other people.  Kind of like MySpace for fat people–LOL!

Anyway, the strength training that I’m doing doesn’t require anything other than a towel (I use a resistance band instead) so it’s perfect for me since I don’t want to go to the gym and don’t have much equipment of my own.  And the soreness in my butt (and thighs and abs and arms and calves) proves that it works. 

So this week has been crap in the weight loss department, despite upping my activity. I haven’t shown any kind of loss all week, the opposite, in fact, but I’m hoping that will change.  I think I may be consuming too much salt and am bloated from that so I’m going to cut back on it and see what happens.  I’m usually not big on salt but for some reason I’ve had a lot of it in the dishes I’ve prepared recently.

I know I’m just rambling but I hope you’ll bear with me b/c I have a happy ending.  Dennis and I did take our picnic by the river, just like we did on our first anniversary.  But I didn’t cook this time–we just took some Popeye’s chicken dinners with us.  So romantic, right?  Well, it’s what he wanted and it sounded good to me too.  I had two spicy drumsticks, mashed potatoes with Cajun gravy & green beans, which comes to 390 calories which ain’t too bad for fast food. 

It was such a blessed day–it was the first cool one we’ve had in a while, with a perfect gentle breeze.  It was so relaxing to just lay on our backs and stare up at the sky through the trees.  When Dennis said grace before we ate, part of me was listening to the birds and the leaves rustling in the trees and thinking about all the wonderful years we’ve shared together and I felt more thankful and closer to God than ever before.  Do you ever just relish the beauty and sounds of nature?  I don’t take much time to smell the roses, but I did that day and it was glorious.

Wish me luck on the little time that remains before weigh-in!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Daily Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to If I were a dinosaur…

  1. Katy Richar says:

    I just loved the pics of you and Benny. I think it was a great way to celebrate your anniversary. I pray God Blesses you and Benny with many more…..

    • Veronica says:

      LOL, Katy! You’ve got me confused with Carla–she’s the one who has a Benny. I have a Dennis. :) Thank you for your well wishes.

  2. Katy Richar says:

    sorry I meant Dennis, I have Carla’s Hunny and your Hunny mixed up….LOL

  3. dina says:

    What a lovely day! Your hubby is sweet to power walk with you…Dave wouldn’t be caught dead power walking but I can get him to hike…so i guess that’s something. Love the pics btw.

    • Suzie says:

      I love your dinosaur name…lol! You always put a smile on my face, no matter what! :) Losing weight is NOT easy and if you haven’t lost this week, it could also be that your adding muscle and not losing weight (I like to think of it that way ;)). But, it is true too! I love the pictures of you and Dennis, you’re a great looking couple, and I’m glad I know you! :)

      • Veronica says:

        Well, I don’t think I’ve worked out hard enough to actually gain enough muscle to show on the scale, but I think I’ll use that excuse if I do gain! Ha–thanks for the help! :) I’m glad I know you too. Hang in there–I will be with you in thoughts and spirit tomorrow.

    • Veronica says:

      I am so blessed to have Dennis–he’s very supportive and really could care less about looking stupid. He doesn’t, however, swing his arms all crazy like I do. He tried and it just doesn’t look right. Yes, hiking is something–that’s an even better workout too!

  4. cheryl says:

    Happy Anniversary!! Great post Veronica. I love the pictures!!Don’t worry about your weigh in you will do just fine. Some weeks are better than others and that comes with the territory. The thing is that you had fun and enjoyed yourself! :) The pictures are wonderful! As far as your water retention I have a natural diuretic drink recipe and trust me it works! Use 1/2 gallon of water, 1 dandelion root tea bag, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice ( yes from a “REAL” lemon! ) 2 tablespoons of ” sugar free ” cranberry juice. bring part of the water to a boil add the tea bag and steep for 3 minutes. Discard tea bag and add the steeped tea to the rest of the water add the rest of the ingredients and “DRINK UP” . The only other thing you should be drinking the rest of the day is water! You will have to make several batches of this through out the week. Drink for 7 days. You soon will be rushing to the restroom after a few hours of doing this. Then you should see a difference in your weight. I personally lost 7 lbs. the first week i tried it! :) Then watch your salt in take after this…. Good Luck! Can’t wait to see your blog on Thursday! :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you for that recipe! Do you drink this all the time? I will have to go to the health food store to see if I can find that dandelion root tea–never seen it before but I’m not a big tea drinker either.

      • cheryl says:

        Yes, I do this quite often…. The only place i can get the dandelion root tea is online or at the health food store…This drink requires a taste but it works! Let me know when you try it and the end results. I got the recipe from Jillian Michaels ( The biggest loser trainer ) on her website.

  5. Suzie says:

    Oops, I left my comment in a reply….whoopsie!! ;) ;P

  6. Dennis Miller says:

    The day was perfect, made even better by the company.

    • Veronica says:

      I really want to say something snarky to this for the benefit of everyone else but I have to honestly agree. You are my everything and everything is better with you. Thank you for putting up with me. Thank you for loving me.

  7. Pop says:

    What a cute post! And what you said about stopping to smell the roses actually motivated me a bit b/c so often I’m focused on weigh-ins and goals that I don’t appreciate the lifelong journey I’m on and the little victories and joys.

  8. Dewey Benson says:

    Good luck my dear V..
    No worries on gain or loss just keep up the good work and keep your Sore ass a little sore..
    Power walking doesn’t actually require the exagerrated arm swing. Yes one needs to have the arms moving and take care not to clench ones fists as what is needed is a non-restricted blood flow. The pace should be kept steady and just fast enough to be a bit uncomfortable. Once you get a little comfortable with the routine you should seek out areas with nice elevation changes. Do be careful on downhills as this can be a bit hard on the knees.

    • Veronica says:

      Good news–the scale showed a loss this morning so unless I really mess up, I should be OK for tomorrow’s weigh in. I have to do the exaggerated arm swing or I’d feel weird. But I do feel more conspicuous when I’m swinging my arms. Usually I’m kind of innert so I guess any motion makes me feel conspicuous–lol! I’m good on the unclenched fists and pace. I don’t intend to keep power walking–it is only my baby step on the way to actual movement-lol. I’ll next be doing a dance workout DVD and I do have a gym membership so once I can fit back into my workout clothes (ahahahaha) I might return and use their machines.

  9. Carla says:

    Hey V…nice pics, love the one of you and Dennis..hahahha..Glad you enjoyed your trip and good luck on the weight loss, you can do it!

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you Carla! Did you see where your man got credit for being mine in the first comment? tee–hee, that gave me a giggle.

  10. Faith says:

    Salt could definitely be the culprit for the weight gain. When I feel bloated I like to up my water and sip on hot water with lemon.

    Happy Anniversary — you two are so cute!

    • Veronica says:

      I upped my water and cut back on the salt and this morning showed a slight loss so I’m hoping for even better results tomorrow morning! Thanks for the anniversary wishes–I can’t wait to go to the cabin by the lake for our vacation together–just a couple more weeks!

  11. biz319 says:

    Loved reading this post Veronica – love that you stopped to smell the roses! And popeyes spicy chicken is definitely worth it! :D

    You are doing great, even if the scale doesn’t show it . . .yet!

    • Veronica M says:

      Thanks, Biz! I was right about the water retention–I cut back on salt and upped the water and immediately showed a loss–I came in at a loss of 2 lbs for the week–woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

