Week 2 Weigh-In

I was really nervous about stepping on the scale this morning. All through the week I was just showing a 6 ounce loss, all they way up until yesterday. So I made sure to exhale completely when I stepped on the scale this morning (you know, b/c air weighs so darn much–lol) and was happy to see a 1.2 lb loss. Nothing to get too worked up about, but still a loss and still moving in the right direction. :)

This week was challenging b/c I was in the kitchen making up all sorts of sweet treats and in the past I’ve found it almost impossible to resist the siren call of freshly baked goodies. They are my biggest weakness. But I didn’t do too bad. I had two cake orders to fill (I have a day job but make cakes on the side b/c I enjoy it & the extra income helps), which means when I cut the tops off the cakes to level them, I had extra cake that I turned into cake balls (which I still need to coat with chocolate), and I also made cupcakes with some extra cake batter and a strawberry cream cheese pie for a co-worker’s birthday. And since I had a lot of extra filling, I made 9 miniature pies. 4 of them are still setting in the fridge. Wonder where they went? What? Why are you smiling?

OK, I did have two of the miniature strawberry pies, but boy, that is nothing compared to what I would have been inhaling in baking episodes past. I’m not quite still in the zone where I don’t crave sweets. I discovered I still want them if they’re staring me in the face, but otherwise I’m totally fine. I guess that banana bread I spit out last week was just a fluke or something. Or more likely, I just don’t find banana bread as appealing as adorable miniature pink pies with whipped cream and graham cracker crumbs on top. Awww, aren’t they sweet?

Thought I’d share a pic from Memorial Day b/c I want to show y’all the shirt I had made on customizedgirl.com.

No need to click on it to enlarge, here’s the close-up:

I love it! Thanks to Suzie for telling me about the website! 

Dennis and I will celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary tomorrow. But we aren’t actually celebrating! Not on the actual day, anyway. Since we went on a picnic by the river for our first anniversary, we thought we’d get nostalgic and do it again, especially since it’s so simple and cheap. See, romance can be practical. :) However, we have bigger things planned later in the month when we’re taking a vacation and renting a cabin on Lake Kanopolis up north around Salina and Lindsborg. I’m super excited as I love that area for camping but I’ve never rented a cabin before. And it’s only like $55 a night if I remember correctly (we paid for it a couple months ago) and it’s got a kitchen and air conditioning and everything! I’m stoked.

OK, I’ve kind of gotten off-topic.  So here are my successes this week:

~Did a 1-hour power walk that made me feel like I’d run a mile–I’m so out of shape!
~Did a really pathetic strength training session while watching a movie.
~Got at least 7 hours of sleep every night this week–big accomplishment!
~Blood sugars are more stabilized–usually between 100-150 except for two days where I couldn’t keep it under 200 (my monthly cycle always upsets my usual insulin regimen b/c the changes in hormones means I need more or less insulin & it’s never the same.  By the time I figure it out, the hormones are back at the level they were and I gotta change the dosage again!)

Goals for next week:
~THREE aerobic sessions
~THREE strength training sessions
~Daily multi-vitamin
~Track calories every day.
~Blood sugar readings under 150
~Pray daily for guidance with my food choices.

Today I’m thankful for…
~My husband, who always supports my every endeavor and whom I love with all my heart & soul.
~My friends & readers who have uplifted me and kept me motivated.
~God, to whom all the glory of my successes belongs. Thank you, Lord, for loving me.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Week 2 Weigh-In

  1. Dennis Miller says:

    Looks like you have a good regiment planed for this week.
    Also very well done on the weight loss already reported and I like that you included “God, to whom all the glory of my successes belongs.” To, often we (or at least I know I do) forget were all triumphs come.

  2. dina says:

    You are doing so much better that me, I gained 3 pounds this week! Thats what I get for being lazy and eating whatever I wanted over the Holiday. Love the shirt, I’ll have to check out that site. Oh, a cabin…what fun. I think that we are having a staycation this year…

    • Veronica says:

      I did indulge a little over the holiday too (made huge burgers on huge buns) but not too bad. I’m kind of astonished at myself for not going over the edge, then again, I do believe that God is helping me through. Ours is kind of a staycation too b/c we’re only traveling about an hour and a half to our destination. They can be just as fun�as “real” vacations, IMO.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Way to go, Veronica – keep it up! Nathan and I were just discussing a possible “competition” to get back into a regular exercise routine – except we can’t decide on a “fair” competition! And hey, cute shirt!

    • Veronica says:

      That would be cool! Maybe you could base it on percentage of total weight lost. But you know men always lose faster so you’ll have to be super dedicated if you’re going to beat him. I’ll be rooting for you! :)

  4. Penny says:

    Hey V ! congrats your doing great. I went to the Dr. today but i didnt loose but i didnt gain so thats a plus iguess. Keeping your blood sugar under 150 is great i struggle with mine a lot the other day i did just a little too much insulin. You keep up the good work and i’m cheering you on go girl go hehe

    • Veronica says:

      Hey, I’ll take staying the same over gaining any day! You’re doing great, Penny–keep it up and keep on working on it.

  5. cheryl says:

    Hi Veronica! First off i can really see you standing on that scale holding your breath ( Too funny) I know what you mean though. Girl, you are doing awesome keep up the good work! You have me here to cheer you on!!! Nice shirt you have there as well. Have fun on your vacation. Girl, the sweets look good to, but i don’t know how you do it and not indulge in them…Lol….you have some awesome “WILL POWER”. Great post and can’t wait till next Thursday!!! Keep on going strong….Remember “We are watching”! Just to give you the courage to keep it up! Nice going!! :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you Cheryl, you’ve been here with me on this from before the beginning–back when I was just talking about starting! You are such an encouragement to me and it helps me so much to hear that you’re doing good on your own goals. When is your weigh in day so I can bug you when it comes up like you do me? LOL–you know I love it b/c it lets me know you care! And thank you for reminding me that you’re watching–it really does keep me going–it’s a very strong motivator!

      • cheryl says:

        Thanks Veronica! I decided on “Thursdays” One of the reasons is this is the same day you weigh in….So it encourages me as well. That’s what i am here for to keep you going!!! So, with that said get to work girly! Don’t cheat this week…Lol…And I will be waiting for next Thursdays post!! Good Luck…… ~Hugs……P.S. If you ever feel weak or need encouragement i am only an email away!!!! :) Let’s get it done!

        • Veronica says:

          Wheeee! I love that you’re weighing in on the same day. I feel like I have a partner in weight loss (which is better than crime-lol!)!! Same to you girl–email me if you need any help and I’ll do the same. HUGS!

  6. Great that you lost!! Anything is good! I always blow my nose before I weigh in too. :-)

    I so want to get that shirt for my friend. She LOVES cake in the worst way. I like it but not in the way she does.

    Awesome how you are sticking to your goals and getting some exercise. You’re doing awesome, keep it up! It seriously is motivating to me to cheer someone else on and see their results so please know that you are helping. A lot. Thank you!

    • Veronica says:

      Blow your nose–LOL! You know, I used to go to Weight Watchers and I once got on the scale then told the lady to wait while I removed my glasses. She got a kick out of that and after weighing me she had me put my glasses back on to see if it made a difference. Not a lick! Haha–the things we do to “trick” the scale when all that really matters is what effort we made in the week leading up to stepping on it.

      Thank you SO MUCH for your encouragement. It is so nice to know that I’m not the only one benefitting from this blog. How are you doing on your own goals?

  7. Dewey Benson says:

    Good for youV!.. Now about that powerwalk. If an hour made your knees weak and you feel kind of oof puky… do three half hour sessions during the week. the following week go to 45 minutes for three sessions. Skip a day between at first and then go to 2 consecutive days and a skip before the 3rd. You will feel gradually better and better.
    Dewey

    • Veronica says:

      No, I did OK–I just didn’t expect a WALK to feel like a work out. I think it’s a good starting point but I’m not looking forward to doing more and more. oh well, that’s what it takes!

  8. Joan says:

    HI Veronica,
    HAPPY~HAPPY 10th Anniversary! I mailed your card yesterday! Keep up the good work :)
    Love you both,Joan

    • Veronica says:

      I didn’t know you read this blog! Did I tell you about it? I can’t even remember? In any case, thank you for the card–we got it today and THANK YOU for the gift!!! That was very sweet. We also got your thank you cards a few days ago–thanks for the pics of the boys as well.

  9. Suzie says:

    You’re doing great Veronica! No matter how much, a loss is a loss :) I don’t know how you do it being around all those sweets though. The little pink mini’s are adorable and look oh so good! You’re shirt is awesome, I love it :) Once you order from there, occasionally they will send an email or a postcard giving you a discount on a future order too. I love that website! I think you and I did the same lettering style too :) Happy Anniversary!! Going away to the cabin soon, sounds like a wonderful time. I myself like close, little mini-vacations too :) I don’t have to go far to be happy. Your goals for the upcoming week look good, keep up the good work! {{{Hugs}}}

    • Veronica says:

      Yeah, I get offers from them and I already bought another shirt that says the same thing but it was cheaper and isn’t as cool–but I think I paid like $13 including shipping so I had to do it! Pretty soon I’ll have a different color shirt with the same saying on it for every day of the week!

  10. Pop says:

    Of course I had to notice you grilling burgers! :-) Congrats on 10 years! And good luck next week!

  11. Faith says:

    I love that cute shirt! Any loss is a success — and just remember, the slower you lose weight the more likely you are to keep it off. I think the real HUGE success is how much will power you showed around your yummy baked goods! And I think it’s good that you didn’t completely deprive yourself — as soon I start to do that I want to eat everything in sight, lol!

    • Veronica M says:

      Thanks Faith, I agree! Losing weight slower is better, but I’m impatient. :) I’m still doing pretty good on resisting and I have to b/c there’s hardly a week that goes by that I’m not whipping up goodies for others. Today I made a blueberry pie for Dennis (his fave) and only had two bites. (!)

  12. Yay!!! 1.2 pounds is great!

  13. biz319 says:

    You are doing awesome Veronica! Keep up the great work! My husband and I will be celebrating our 10th anniversary in December – where did the time go?!

    Hugs!
    Biz

  14. Pingback: Tuesday Thanksgivings #20 | Going Down

Leave a Reply

