First week down, a lifetime to go!

I woke up this morning, a little excited and a little downcast, knowing that this is my first official weigh-in after going out on a limb and deciding to let the world (world as in the few who actually read this) in on my goal of getting healthy and losing weight and trying to live up to it.  Downcast because like any OCD dieter, I’ve been weighing myself every morning, naked and after using the bathroom of course, and knew that the weight loss was not going to be as impressive as I wanted it to be.  But excited because despite the number I knew was coming, it was still a loss and I was hoping it might be just a little bit more after 24 hours since I last weighed myself.  OK, it was more like 8 hours.  And it was, by just enough to make me happy.

I started at 175 and today I weighed in at 171.8.  I usually lose 5 pounds the first week of a diet, but I’m still pretty happy with 3.2.  I’m not doing anything too drastic like I have in the past, which may be why I didn’t lose more, but I can live with that because I’m no longer changing the way I eat temporarily, “just until I look OK.”  That kind of thinking is what caused the yo-yo dieting in the first place and I want to go slower and steadier with normal foods so that I don’t go back into that all-or-nothing mentality that would eventually cause me to binge and blow back up.

Yes, I will eat bacon & cheese & cake, but I will also eat broccoli & beans & mangos.  I think it’s a bit faulty to think you have to eat fat-free, carb-free, sugar-free, meat-free, etc. in order to lose weight.  I’ve now come to the conclusion that it’s more about balance.  I know from experience that I’ll lose weight eating fat-free, carb-free, sugar-free, meat-free, etc. but I also know that at some point, I’m going to mentally revolt against the restrictions and I will purposefully eat as unhealthily as possible for a long time just to get myself back for the perceived punishment.

Oh, I have a confession to make.  Part of that weight loss is my hair because I got it cut (& colored) for the first time in six months, but I swear I didn’t do it to tip the scale in my favor!  It was long overdue.  I doubt several inches of my ultra-fine hair would weigh but a few ounces anyway so count me as having lost 3 pounds if you like.  I’m still happy.

My hair before. Dark roots, blonde ends and a lot of split ends.

Hair after. Evenly Colored, sleek & healthy.

This week’s successes:
Lost 3.2 lbs.
No diet pop!
Ate at least 3 servings of veggies a day (up from 0-1)
Didn’t have any dessert and didn’t want any after day three!
Tracked my calories daily on sparkpeople.com
Drank at least 8 glasses of water each day

Goals for next week:
Do an aerobic activity at least three times, at least 30 minutes each.
Do strength training at least twice.
Get at least 7 hours of sleep each night.
Make a yummy, naturally sweetened snack for emergencies (lows & breakfast on the go).

Thanks to:
God for being my rock and helping me make smart food choices.
You for reading, encouraging and supporting me.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Weekly Progress/Thursday Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to First week down, a lifetime to go!

  1. kim says:

    Congrats hun! I love your approach ” i will still eat bacon and cheese and cake” Hee hee… maybe someday i will get the willpower you have :))

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks Kim! Praise God, because without Him, and I know this from experience, I have no willpower at all.

  2. Carla says:

    You go girl! I’m proud of you V…and 3lbs. is a great accomplishment. Keep up the good work! I need to be on it with ya…I’m not there yet though…SOON THOUGH.

    BTW..Love the new “doo”

  3. cheryl says:

    Oh girl! You knew i would be the first to add my comment!!! Lol, Great job. I fell off the wagon for two weeks as well ate what i wanted and did not exercise at all…..weighed in today for the first time and i was shocked i didn’t gain anything back i weighed the same. You are 100 percent right about portion control…Oh and by the way i felt “AWFUL” when i ate junk! and did not exercise! So now like you i know how diet and exercise helps you feel better!!.. Congrads Girly!!!! Can’t wait to see your progress on next Thursdays weigh in!!! I will be on the same boat as you are…..”HINT” Child please weigh yourself once a week…..everyday weigh ins will only set you up to yo yo diet again…..trust me on this one..been there done that. Oh. yeah your hair looks great!!!! ~Hugs!

    • cheryl says:

      Ok ,so i wasn’t first but i was 3rd….a little humor never hurts anyone….. :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks Cheryl! I too have had issues with the scale. At one point I had to get rid of it b/c I was focusing too much on the number and I was turning to food for comfort when I didn’t like what I saw. I feel OK with it now and was just weighing every day out of excitement. So far it’s not messing with my head but it it does, I will def stick to once a week.

  4. dina says:

    You are doing great! I need to jump on the wagon with you, all my summer stuff is to tight! I hate it…

    • Veronica says:

      Tell me about it! One of the reasons I finally got to the point where I HAD to lose was that even the fat jeans that I’d gone out and bought less than a month before were really getting tight. The madness had to stop.

  5. Sandy says:

    As I seen the photo of you.You look like my sister BUT you are alot prettier than my sister.It’s an nice photo of you too.

  6. Dewey Benson says:

    You are doing just fine my dear. One needent do the “usuual thing” as the usual thing has gotten us nowhere…. now it is time to get somewhere.

    Good for You!

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you Dewey–it means a lot to me that you would take to time to read my blog when you don’t have a personal interest in the subject. Thank you for your support. :)

  7. Suzie says:

    That is awesome V! I’m so happy for you. And proud of you :) I love your hair too, it’s gorgeous. I’m due for a cut (a real one) since I’ve cut my own the last 2 years…lol! Keep up the good work!

    I look forward to these blogs. Ups or downs….we all have them…remember that!

    • Veronica says:

      I wish I could cut my own hair! I can’t afford to spend the money on a professional every six weeks so I might just go to a cheapie place to get it trimmed once in a while and use Henna for color at home. Thanks so much Suzie, you rock! Ever thought about becoming a professional cheerleader? :)

  8. Penny says:

    Hey Veronica, great job ! I’ve lost 14lbs in the past 2 months but i’ve got a long ways too go. I’ll be keeping up with your story maybe it will encourage me too do bbetter my biggest thing is my chronic pain and excersize is almost impossible for me. Good luck and i’ll be cheering you on i’ve always wanted to be a cheerleader lol… :) Keep up the work !

    • Veronica says:

      Wow, 14 pounds is really good! I’m impressed–I didn’t even know you were trying to lose. When you face things like chronic pain, the main thing to concentrate on to lose weight it what you’re eating. Good luck–I’ll be your cheerleader too! :)

  9. kim says:

    Are you still using the henna? Oh ok, i see you are.. i love your hair.
    Look at all the cheerleaders you have!

    • Veronica says:

      I know! Thank you for being one. :) Actually, I haven’t used henna since December. My hair was colored by the stylist this time but I’ll probably go back to henna to save money.

  10. Vennessa Esteb says:

    You go girl. You can do this. I’m training for a marathon in October and if I don’t lose at least 20 pounds running all the time
    I’m giving up on every being thin again.

    • Veronica says:

      Vennessa, that’s wonderful! I ran a halfer and that’s about my limit–I’m not a runner so I respect what you’re doing. Best wishes–you can do it!

  11. Heather says:

    Congrats on the first week successes! Your hair is super-cute too!

  12. Erin from Long Island says:

    Oh, hun…I am SO proud of you! Remember for a permanent change progress wont be super-fast. But before you know it, it will be 6 months and MANY pounds later! (At least, that’s how it felt with my new goal of fitness)

    Also, don’t get too hard on yourself for a minor setback here and there. It will only set you off into a a spiral of guilt and unhealthy habits that will leave you worse then when you started. There is NOTHING wrong then accepting an ewrror and moving on from it!

    • Erin from Long Island says:

      (even if the error is a speeling one ; P )

      • Veronica says:

        Erin, you are so cute! Thank you for your encouragement and good advice. I do know that from experience, of course, but it’s easier said than done (moving on instead of making it worse by eating myself into a numb coma). I will take it to heart and remember it when I mess up–which I surely will!

  13. Patty Ringer says:

    Hey Veronica,
    Way to go. I have been doing Nutra System 2 of the last 3 months. Lost 15 pounds so far. The biggest thing I have learned is portion size. I do drink tons of diet pop, but it is better than regular-bc of the calories. Way to go Girl, you will feel so much better even with 10 or so pounds lost. I will follow your blog:) Keep it up:)
    Oh and I hate exercising, but I am pushing myself to do it with my husband’s reminder to do so.
    Good luck!

    • Veronica says:

      You are an inspiration to me! 15 pounds is a lot–way to go, girl! I agree that diet pop is better b/c of the calories, but IMO it’s just as bad if not worse for your health than regular pop. Click here to read an article on the dangers of aspartame: http://www.sweetpoison.com/aspartame-information.html. I was addicted to diet pop for about five years and it’s hard to stop drinking it b/c it’s so nice to have something sweet & fizzy & calorie free when you don’t have a lot of wiggle room with your calories. But it was making me feel horrible and I feel so much better without it running through my system.

      Thanks for your encouragement–I hope you check back in with more updates on your own progress to inspire me!

  14. Faith says:

    You’re doing an amazing job, Veronica! You have a lot to be proud of this week. I love your new hair color!

    • Veronica says:

      Thank you! I had the stylist return the ends to their natural color and add highlights, so even though it’s colored, it still looks more natural than it did before!

  15. Great weight loss blog! I have a recipe blog and I just started a weight loss page but I think I am going to turn it into another blog like you have rather than just a page. I wish you well!

    • Veronica M says:

      Thank you, Debbie–I checked out your blog as well! I like having a separate blog for weight loss since I’ve made my food blog pretty impersonal and don’t feel like changing it after so long. It works for me but I can see it working either way for you since the focus of your food blog is healthy meals.

  16. Pop says:

    Way to go!!! :-)

  17. biz319 says:

    woot!! hey, I’ll take -3.2 any day! I think I decided for my personal 101 days is to only weigh in (and possibly) measure myself on the first of each month. We’ll see though!

    Need to drink more water – I have to keep reminding myself that!

    I worked out twice today – although my lunch workout stopped at about 40 minutes because my blood sugar was 42 – rats! I can’t remember if I talked to you about glucose tabs? They raise your blood sugar pretty quickly (I ate three and within 15 minutes my bs was back up to 86) and they are only 10 calories a piece. I get them at Walgreen’s, but ask any pharmacist and they’ll show you where they are.

    Great job!

    • Veronica says:

      You go girl! I just got in one good cardio session last week but I’m planning to kick it into gear this week.  I’ve used glucose tabs ever since I started on insulin–I love how convenient & discreet they are–I can eat them anywhere without making any noise b/c no wrappers and they don’t make crunching sounds when you eat them.  However, if at all possible, I will eat a snack instead b/c for some reason I really hate eating them, even though they taste like candy.  I guess I feel like I’m being jipped when I’m counting everything that’s going into my mouth and I’d rather spend 60 cals on real food.   You can complain because roses have thorns. Or you can rejoice that thorns have roses. Ziggy  

Leave a Reply

