Resisting Sugar & Banana Peanut Butter Bites

I have to say that this dieting thing has gotten a million times easier since I last posted! Thank you, Lord! I still feel a bit absurd praying for God’s help to guide my food decisions for the better after asking for the healing of sick or dying friends & family (seems so unimportant in comparison, you know?) but apparently He doesn’t think I’m being ridiculous because He’s answering my prayers! I went from craving petit fours every moment I was home to not even wanting to take a single bite of the banana bread I baked on Sunday because it had sugar in it. I forced myself to take a bite, however, b/c I needed to know whether the recipe was a keeper.  (It was good but not as good as others I’ve made). I spit it out and only swallowed a tiny bit. It’s so weird–I simply didn’t want it.

No, you don’t get it. I’m the girl who has trouble stopping at a dozen cookies or half a loaf of banana bread. I have a huge sweet tooth and will keep cramming in desserts until I’m about to explode.  Usually swallowing something like that would have made me dig into and devour an absurd amount of it but there was no craving or internal reaction to the sugary banana goodness. I was totally fine without it. This is huge for me!

The power of prayer, people.  It makes me want to sing “That’s the power of prayer,” to the tune of  “The power of love,” by Huey Louis and the News.

You don’t need money, don’t take fame
Don’t need no credit card to ride this train
It’s strong and it’s sudden and it’s cruel sometimes
But it might just save your life
That’s the power of prayer

LOVE IT! :)

After making the banana bread, I had one extra-ripe banana left so I just threw some things together and came up with a naturally sweetened treat that is really good even by non-diet standards.  I actually liked them better than the regular banana bread.  It’s a great recipe to use when you just have one banana about to go bad–don’t throw it out! Make these:

Banana Peanut Butter Bites
Printable recipe

1/3 c mashed overripe banana (about 1 medium)
¼ c chunky peanut butter
1 1/2 T honey
¼ c buttermilk
½ c flour
½ t baking soda

Preheat oven to 350. Grease 12 mini muffin cups.

Mix the banana, peanut butter, honey and buttermilk together in a medium bowl. Stir in the remaining ingredients just until moistened. Divide between muffin cups, filling about 3/4 full. Bake for 15 minutes (or until done) and remove to cooling rack. Leave in tin for five minutes, then remove to cool completely.

Makes 12 mini muffins.

Nutrition Info (per muffin): 66 calories; 3 g fat; 84 mg sodium; 77 mg potassium; 9 carb; 1 g fiber; 2 g protein

I’m getting antsy about my first weigh-in on Thursday morning.  See you then! :)

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Daily Progress, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Resisting Sugar & Banana Peanut Butter Bites

  1. Dewey Benson says:

    Whatever means you use to concentrate is fine. Since you are obviously devout just keep in mind that old adage “The lord Helps Those Who Help Themselves”.

    It is up to you V… and you are doing just fine.

    Kudos

    • Veronica says:

      Totally. I know that ultimately it’s up to me and I praise God because I know he is helping me. Thanks for your encouragement, Dewey.

  2. cheryl says:

    Hi Veronica! Girl your doing good so far….Great choice you made. Your mind is in full mode! You know what you have to do to keep this attitude towards the foods you eat. Once your mind is in this mode you tend to lose weight…..I finally got back into full mode although it took me almost 2 weeks to accomplish….I think the first week starting is the hardest ( for me anyway) and of course prayer helps a lot! Girl, keep losin and praying! I am losin right along with you! Keep up the good work! Anytime you feel weak at your diet choices go to your blog and read your inspiring comments! Trust me it helps! So, get going and keep up the good work and you will do just fine……Oh, and by the way…i did watch what i ate yesterday…( ok and here comes the “BUT” ) Lol….I could not walk like i had promised…..it rained!! Thats ok i substituted for the house cleaning……Have a good day my friend!!

    • Veronica says:

      *THUD!*
      You just got another butt-kickin. Hey, you asked for it (literally)! ;) You know I’m just teasing. I think it’s great that you’re back on track with what you’re eating and you made an effort to excercise, despite the weather so it sounds like you’re doing great to me! I know that house chores can get your heart pumping (esp if it’s as messy as mine–LOL!). You should get a dog–Jessie forces us to walk, even when it’s raining! She’s a little walk-Nazi! :) I’m thankful for her because if it wasn’t for her, I would be getting hardly any excercise at all. I’ve put it on the back burner but plan to start working out again after I’m comfortable with keeping track of what I’m eating.

  3. cheryl says:

    Oh yeah, See i got so involved in the diet chat….I forgot to leave comment about the banana bites! :) They look wonderful! I wonder how they would taste with organic whole wheat flour? What do you think?

    • Veronica says:

      I think they would be a little more healthy tasting and heartier but still really good! With whole wheat flour, you usually need to add more liquid than with white but these were so moist that I wouldn’t change anything except the type of flour. Let me know how it works for you if you ever try it!

  4. Suzie says:

    You are doing excellent V!! I love your version of the Huey Lewis song :) The banana bites look yummy, my son loves banana “stuff”. I’m glad you don’t crave the sweets like you did, that’s a major step to get over. Good for you!!

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks Suzie! I’ve always been a desserts-lover so this lack of craving for them has got me kind of out of sorts! Now I just want good food! I’m turning to your side which in some ways makes me sad since I love baking and probably will never do as much of it again, but it also makes me happy b/c it’s so much easier to lose/maintain weight without those extra calories and also helps keep my blood sugar stable.

  5. Faith says:

    Veronica, that is amazing! Prayer definitely has that kind of power. :) Complete elimination of cravings is a huge success.

    Your banana mini muffins look delicious — I love sweetening with honey!

  6. Erin from Long Island says:

    Isn’t it amazing how addictive healthy eating can be? I am so proud of you and your efforts! If you need any help or advice, you know where to find me!

    • Veronica says:

      I don’t find healthy eating addictive yet but I’m so glad to have the addiction to sugar at bay. I really enjoy eating healthy foods but I don’t think I will ever crave them like I have craved junk but that’s OK with me–I think addiction is probably a bad thing in any case! Anyway, thank you Erin! You’re the best.

      • Erin from Long Island says:

        hahaha, yeah…I guess addiction is a strong word and not the right one. In time you will probably get cravings for non-junk-foods. I find for me it is also seasonal. For example, in the fall, I crave pumpkin. Not pie or bread, not even the canned. I crave the flavor and texture of chopped up, lightly cooked pumpkin. Maybe I am just weird?

        • Veronica says:

          I think I will too–a healthy body probably can identify the food sources that will supply the nutrition it wants/needs so that you crave it, but always eating junk totally messes with you. It makes you want to eat more and more junk b/c you’re getting no nutrition from it! You’re not weird–that makes total sense to me. I have seasonal cravings too, like before spring hit I was craving fresh in season fruits like strawberries & mangos.

  7. biz319 says:

    Those look absolute delicious!! I love all things banana – yet I hardly eat a raw banana by itself!

    I just added this blog to my blog roll – thanks! The reason I ask is because one time I stumbled upon a blog I liked and added it to my blog roll – only to be “yelled” at for not asking in advance – I guess she wanted to stay more anonymous, but since that episode, I always ask!

    • Veronica says:

      I’m the same way–I love banana in anything but don’t really want it by itself. Sometimes in cereal but then it’s not really by itself even then! Well, I added you to my blogroll without asking so I hope you’re OK with that! It never ocurred to me that anyone would mind. I understand making sure first now!

  8. kim says:

    I am so proud of you!!!

  9. Pingback: Double Chocolate Banana Muffins « Recipe Rhapsody

Leave a Reply

