The Beginning

I’m starting this blog as a diary of my weight loss efforts and achievements, mainly to motivate myself but if I end up motivating others, that’s even better! 

My struggle with weight began when I was 21 years old.  At that time I took a radio-active iodine pill to destroy my over-active thyroid (I was diagnosed with Graves Disease at 19) and was also diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes.  (I had untreated Graves Disease for so long that it shut down my pancreas, thus causing the diabetes.)  During the months following, I struggled with taking a correct amount of insulin with my meals and my thyroid hormone plummeted as my thyroid died.  I constantly took too much insulin, which resulted in low blood sugar and subsequent panicked eating when I tried to bring it back up to a normal level.  I ate too much, so I’d have to take more insulin to bring my blood sugar back down, but would again take too much and when it dropped too low again, I started shaking and sweating (symptoms of low blood sugar), and ate a huge amount again to fix it.  It was a vicious cycle.  As a result of these crazy eating cycles and my thyroid hormone dropping off, I gained 60 pounds in three months–50 of them coming on in the first two months.  Hello stretch marks! 

Me at about 180 lbs, Thanksgiving 2001

 

I kept the weight on for several years and finally started dieting in 2004.  I lost 30 pounds with the Atkins diet, lost another 15 with the Idiot’s Diet, then another 5 by starving myself for three months.  Obviously starving myself was stupid, not only because it resulted in very slow weight loss, but because it caused me to start bingeing once I tried to eat normally again.  I was frenzied when I ate b/c I was SO HUNGRY, ALWAYS HUNGRY, when I wasn’t eating that it was like I was trying to bury that feeling beneath another even worse feeling of being painfully full. 

My husband and I in 2005; I was running at this time and about 140 pounds.

 

Me at 145 pounds in Denver's Botanic Gardens

 

I have been gaining and losing weight, on a constant weight loss roller coaster since 2004.  My lowest weight has been 140 and my highest 190.  I am currently 175.  Besides the three diets mentioned, I have also been on the Cabbage Soup Diet, the Alabama 3-Day Diet, I’ve used e-Diets, done Weight Watchers and most recently started using sparkpeople.com (I recommend the last–it’s free and so helpful!).  

I’m ready to stop the roller coaster.  Stop the madness.  I want to eat healthy, but not obsessively so.  I want to eat treats once in a while, but rarely until I get closer to my weight loss goal (currently 140).  My current plan is to eat lean protein, veggies & fruits, whole grains, but not too many starches.   

And I’m going to enlist God’s help this time, which I’ve never done before.  When I feel weak, I will call on Him to help me.  It seems so petty to ask God for help losing weight, so I never have, but losing weight will not only help me look better but feel better and I think that being healthy and feeling good is a pretty big deal.  

Right now I feel disgusting.  Today I ate 4 pieces of cake.  And I feel like it.  I feel huge and bloated and just…ew.  God help me, I’m ready to go down.  In a good way.      

May 2010; 175 lbs.

 

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Back Story, Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Beginning

  1. Suzie says:

    Girl, You should know me by now, I will be here with you 100% of the way!! I just must say, I personally think you are beautiful no matter what you weigh. That is probably because I know you on the inside and out. And I love your sense of humor. I could stand to lose some weight myself, so I will join you in this feat!! xoxo Suzie :)

    • Veronica says:

      Thanks, Suzie! I just want to be healthy–I hate feeling like crap all the time. Plus it’s easier to smile when I don’t have all these cheeks to get in the way. :)

  2. junecutie says:

    Veronica,
    You are my hero! Personally, I think you are beautiful just as you are, but I want you to feel beautiful, too. You are so brave and strong, and I know you will be blessed by good health and well being. I will be sending you prayers and good energy every single day, and I’m going to visualize you taking a giant step toward where you want to be each and every day. Bless you.

  3. Faith says:

    It takes so much courage to go public about this, Veronica. We will be here to support and encourage you. I absolutely agree with the other commenters — you are beautiful!

    • Veronica says:

      I know–I still am kind of regretting it. I wanted to keep this blog to myself when I started typing but I thought it would be more beneficial to have some accountability to readers and I hope I don’t let you down. Thank you for your support. :)

  4. Melanie says:

    You are so brave, Veronica and I am very proud of you for doing this! Your ambition is inspiring and I know you’ll be successful. Good luck!!

  5. Sarah says:

    Go you Veronica!
    This was such an honest and real post. I’m glad you mentioned feeling petty for asking God to help you with losing weight. I feel that way too!It is encouraging to know that I’m not alone. I know that God will be glorified by your efforts to be healthy and take care of you “temple.” I look forward to reading your blog as you go on this journey! I’m proud of you and will be praying for you.

    • Veronica says:

      And I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who feels that way either! You’re right, it is a way to glorify God but for some reason I never saw it that way. I guess I didn’t see past the “I want to look good,” aspect but there’s more to my decision to lose weight this time. Although looking good is fun, too. :) Thank you for your prayers–you are in mine as well. XOXO, V

  6. Heather says:

    Losing weight is a pain in the rump! Best of luck! I’m looking forward to the stunning “after” pic that I know will come. :)

    • Veronica says:

      haha–you should know–you nearly lost the entire thing! ;) I’m looking forward to that pic as well. And hey, I already did something you’d be proud of–cut out diet pop three weeks ago! Woo-hoo!

  7. Melaniesd says:

    Veronica, I’m so proud of you for starting this blog. Stick with it!
    You’ve done it before. You can do even better this time, but remember – one day at a time. Pray daily for guidance to make the right decisions when it comes to food and exercise. I’m right there with you.
    I have gained back all that I lost. I’m going to forget about that and focus on making me healthier and stronger. That girl from last year is done with. Today’s Melanie is ready to be strong and leaner.

    **HUGS**

    • Veronica says:

      I love your looking to the future attitude! Thanks, TurboMel! :) And good luck to you as well–let’s rock this weight loss thing together!

  8. cheryl says:

    Hi Veronica! Great blog. I definitely subscribed! This hits home. Except for one thing you my friend are brave enough to go public with it! And with photos! You encourage me to keep up with my diet as well. I was doing well for weeks…then “BAM” I fell off the wagon again and ate something i wasn’t suppose to eat! Plus i haven’t walked in almost 2 weeks….Hurry kick me and make me get up and go again!!! :) But really after reading this you have inspired me to get up and get moving once again. I am going again tomorrow for the first time in almost 2 weeks….I have felt awful since i stopped walking and eating things that weren’t suppose to be in my diet! Girl, i even stop food blogging for a little while anyway to help me get motivated with “MYSELF”. I will get back to blogging soon but, only when i am ready. Looking at me for now. Love the post! Good luck girl i am right along with you!! ~~Hugs Cheryl

    • Veronica says:

      I wasn’t too thrilled about letting everyone see me in my current state but I’m keeping it real. Girl, I def know about falling off the wagon! I’ve almost made a career out of yo-yo dieting and I think that journaling my progress this time in a blog will help keep me on track. That and prayer is really helping so much. I respect you for putting the blog on hold so that you could concentrate on yourself and your health & well-being. Right on. Oh yeah, and…
      THUD!
      That was me kicking you in the butt! Get it moving out the door tomorrow or I’ll give you another one! :)

      • cheryl says:

        Ouch, Veronica! Ok, so you kicked me! I am going today i promise…Lol…I have this blog book marked…often when you see others progressions you tend to stay on track yourself. I really need to sit down and figure out that website you introduced me to “Spark people” I need to get signed up….You know when you look at it we don’t have much weight to lose compared to some people …my goodness i seen where some of those people have to lose 100’s of pounds on that website….goodness…..girl we shouldn’t complain to much we are just called “Pleasantly Plump” Lol…….But we still have to lose the plumpness!! I had to put my blog on the back burner for a while….One day i will come back when i get focused and concentrate on all healthy recipes and blog them all!! It’s just to hard for now to blog food when you are on a learning curve yourself. I really think you are a very strong person to do what you are doing and posting this blog….I could of never done it…you should be very proud of your self!!!! Lets get going with this adventure and just get it done my friend!!! Maybe one day we will be a size 6! No!! 7?? Maybe……Lol Have a good day! Keep your head up high!!!!!! ~Hugs Cheryl

  9. Pia says:

    Okay, took me a while to really sit down and read. My hats off to you my dear. I can totally empathize with the yo-yo diet. I’ve been there, tried different kinds of diet regimen from the 7 days diet, cabbage soup diet, tea diet (the worst, i’ve ever tried), frequent trip to the bathroom was not fun at all! Then lastly i did the weight watchers w/c was really good. I loved it coz you’re not deprived from food you like. If i’d say something negative w/ WW…the counting, it drove me crazy!! I lost 20 lbs. so i stopped, too confident that i will maintain my weight….so WRONG!!!! See, w/ my kind of job….cooking and diet is kind of an oxymoron=;). Actually, i don’t have the determination. Unlike you, so determined to achieve the goal. So you go girl!!!! GOOD LUCK!!!

    • Veronica says:

      I did Weight Watchers too, twice, and it was also my favorite of all those I’ve tried. I’m just doing my own thing this time & counting calories and I think it will work. Thank you for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

