Tuesday Thanksgivings #26

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday:  Thank you God, for helping me do a much better job teaching my toddler Bible class!  Still much room for improvement, but compared to the first week it was 100% better.  Now if you would please guide me in working with an adorable but increasingly stubborn toddler newly embarking on the terrible two’s without much pain on either end, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Thursday: non-dairy milk substitutes. I’m not allergic to dairy, but I like the substitutes a lot more than the real stuff, plus I feel better about my impact on the cows and the earth when I drink it.  My favorite right now is Silk’s original coconut milk beverage, and any brand of almond milk is my second pick.

Friday: That my hubby and I work close enough to one another that we can drive to a restaurant nearby to have dinner together if we so choose.  We prefer to meet at home and drive together, but N & J Cafe is so close to our work places that we like to meet there on Friday night once in a while.

Saturday: This strange new thing going on with me that is making me not want to overeat.  (Usually when I eat I have to try really hard not to–I have a weird compulsion to always eat too much.)  I’ve never had this feeling before but I hope it’s here to stay!  This is the first year I can ever recall the approaching summer having any effect on my appetite, but it’s diminished a lot.  When it’s been warmer, I feel like it’s too hot to eat and I don’t get very hungry.  Even on these cooler days we’ve been having, the longer brighter days seem to keep me from wanting to plow through pies and candy.  It’s strange for me, but I like it!

Sunday: Fellowship with Christian brethren. A gospel meeting started at our church today and Joe and Marissa hosted a potluck lunch at their house after the morning service.  It was a joyful day!

Monday: As I grow older, I become increasingly convinced that I would be happiest living in the country, but one thing that I’m thankful for while living in a moderately-sized city is the convenience of everything.  We didn’t have time to get our grocery shopping done on the weekend, but there is a grocery store just a minute’s drive away from our home, allowing us to pick up a few things after the gospel meeting tonight. I’m also thankful for those water refill stations where you can fill up your jugs on the cheap.  I’m so spoiled to purified water and I feel better buying it this way since we just reuse and reuse our 5-gallon jugs (still have the original two we bought 5 years ago!) instead of buying plastic gallons or small bottles that we throw away.

Tuesday: For NOT getting stuck in traffic due to an accident. Or being in an accident.  LOL, is it weird to be thankful that something didn’t happen to you?  Well, I had to take a detour on my way home because the ramp to Kellogg was closed due to an accident and as I passed it, I saw a long line of cars stuck because they were behind the accident.  I bet they were there for at least an hour!  I think I would have got out of my car and walked home–I have no patience for waiting in traffic, let alone being completely stuck!

I took these pics after I passed under the ramp and turned around to get back on from the other direction, so you can’t see how many cars were backed up.  Maybe not so wise to take pics while driving?  Perhaps that’s why there was an accident on the ramp! Doh!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Thanksgivings #26

  1. Love the part about taking pictures in traffic! Too funny! Love these thankful posts, they are good to really make you THINK.

Leave a Reply

