Tuesday Thanksgivings #25

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday: The opportunity to improve myself through teaching.  I am probably the world’s worst teacher (another reason it might be best we don’t have children) but I’m now working on my skillz with the poor guinea pigs in the toddler Bible class on Wednesday nights.  They are so cute!

Thursday: that my husband is stronger than I thought.  He competed in the King of the Blues contest tonight and I was so stressed out because, while he’s a pretty good guitarist, he’s just not a “king” at it, and I was soooo worried that this competition would rob him of his confidence and kill his motivation and joy.  Thank God I was wrong!  He’s so cute, he had to go first and he messed his solo up pretty bad but it didn’t get him down at all.  He wasn’t dispirited after the only other guy competing totally whipped his butt with his solo.  Didn’t bother him in the slightest!  What I usually take for an incredible ego in him is actually just confidence and an indifference to comparing himself with others.  He doesn’t care that he’s not the best, he just wanted to try and it doesn’t matter to him that he sucked in comparison to the other dude.  Especially since there are two finalists from each night so he won by default!  He made his goal.  If Dennis had a theme song, I think it would be that little ditty at the end of The Life of Brian, “Always Look On The Bright Side of Life.”

Friday: Actors. Thank you for entertaining us!

Saturday: Sliders.  I love those mini burgers! How can you beat two for the price (calories) of one? :)

Sunday: Family.  You can’t pick them, so I’m glad I got stuck with mine. Most of the time. :)  And that includes my mothers, of course.  There are always exceptions to every rule, but in general I see mothers as one of the most amazing things on Earth.  If I ever feel overwhelmed, all I have to do is think of mothers and all they do every day to remind myself that I have it pretty easy.  You guys are incredible.

Monday: Checkmarks.  I was able to put a lot of them on my to-do list, which doesn’t happen often!

Tuesday: Henna.  Chemical-free, plant derived hair dye that conditions your hair and adds natural shine? Love.

Before henna. Ew to the grays, ew to the face.

After light brown Rocky Mountain Naturals henna. Much better--but I'm needing another haircut!

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #25

  1. Nice on the henna! So nice on your husband playing too! Hope we hear more of him rocking it out!

  2. QuynhAnh says:

    You can add a amazingly naturally beautiful face to your list of thanksgivings! I wish mine was as radiant and blemish-free like yours! Btw, that haircolor really looks good! Just wondering, is is permanent or washes out with each shampoo?

    • Veronica says:

      Aw, thanks QuynhAnh! You must be seeing imperfections that I can’t b/c your face looks more blemish free to me than mine does! I have sun spots and have to use Proactiv every day to keep from breaking out. Henna washes out over about 3 months. Or maybe less. But 3 months is when I notice it’s time to do it again. Then a year later, I do it. :)

Leave a Reply

