Tuesday Thanksgivings #24

I made a thanksgiving resolution to find something to be thankful for every day until next Thanksgiving.  Here’s what I am thankful for this week!

Wednesday: That I feel so much better!  My fever broke in the night and my sore throat disappeared as well.  AND we gained ANOTHER member in our church!

Thursday: I overcame the square cake! Oh, I hate frosting square cakes.  Whoever invented the idea of a square cake should be shot!  But I managed to get the corners pretty straight and the tops pretty flat after hours of hard frosting labor.  Take that, evil square cake!

That heart topper is a sparkler!

Friday:  that my cousin found himself a good woman.  I seriously feel closer to Racine than most of my blood relatives!  I’m so thankful that my cousin has her, and that she has him, and I happily celebrated their 5th anniversary with them today.  I was also thankful to have the chance to see some of my family at the party and just chit chat.  I don’t do that enough.

Since their anniversary was the same day as the royal wedding, we were supposed to wear tiaras. All I had was a Little Mermaid one! lol

Saturday: I met a friend for lunch, despite nearly talking myself into canceling many times.  I’m so glad I overcame my hermit tendencies to spend time with her, because we had a wonderful time and feel my love for Stacey renewed and our bond deepened.  Funny how a little face time does that. LOL!

Sunday: Rotisserie chicken, hot from the supermarket.  Easiest meal ever!

Monday: 5 words: “I’m on my way home.” I love getting that call every evening! :)

Tuesday: an easier way to make cake pops! I started making cupcake bites (54 tonight, more over the weekend), which is just cake balls made in Reese’s candy molds (pour chocolate in mold, drop in balls, pop out and dip tops–that easy!).  Cake pops are yumtastic, but cupcake bites are the best because not only are they cute, they are easier to make!

Aren't these just adorable??

I always use whatever frosting I have on hand to make the cake balls, this time it was ganache. The centers are a perfect combination of cake and truffle!

I made the above cupcake bites with the extra cake (I cut the tops off my cakes to level them) from the anniversary cake and served them at the party–they went like lightning.  The ones I made tonight are for Mother’s Day.  We’re going to Salina for the annual backyard potluck with Den’s extended family and then we’re going to have a barbecue with my family later in the day when we return.  I’m going to give baggies of the cupcake bites to the mothers.  Do you have any Mother’s Day plans?

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.
This entry was posted in Thanksgivings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday Thanksgivings #24

  1. Love your version of the cake bites!

    I have hermit ways and often have to talk myself out of cancelling things! Glad you had fun!

  2. Oh I wish I had you to do my baking for my son’s graduation party!

    • Veronica says:

      If I hadn’t given it up baking for anything other than close family & friends, I would totally help! I’m sure you’ll do great, Miss Karen.

  3. Joan says:

    Great Cake! I am sure that made their day even better. Glad you had a nice lunch-that is always a bonus!
    Love,joan

Leave a Reply

